Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2002

      This was an awesome recipe! First of all, I love cake mix recipes because they lend themselves to experimentation so well. I had two whole batches of bananas going bad at one time, so made two versions. The one printed here was sooo good! I recommend microwaving the peanut butter and the frosting together in a bowl and then stirring. Also, it goes on the cake more easily if the cake itself is still warm. The second version I tried was with a spice cake mix--all else the same, although I think a butterscotch pudding would be interesting, too. I used a pecan coconut frostingl (the popular one for German chocolate cakes), and wow!! Next time (probably Thanksgiving) I'll do the spice version with caramel frosting and see which one I like better. Happy baking! Kari

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      Peanut butter and bananas, one of my favorite flavor combinations. The only thing missing to make this cake heavenly is chocolate, and I managed to remedy to situation for me by using a dark chocolate cake mix instead of a yellow cake mix. Still used the vanilla pudding, and this came out great! You do need to nuke the frosting to make it a little runny, the top of the cake is a bit moist and I don't think frosting would spread very well, especially when thickend by peanut butter. Shae, thanks, this one is going to become a family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I love this recipe... It is a great way to use up the lonely bananas. I use a banana cake mix, a banana pudding and add mini-chocolate chips!!! Sometimes I even add a little bit of mexican vanilla! Yum! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This was very good. It smelled great while baking. It is not a light and fluffy cake-more heavy. If I try it again I will fix in a 9x13 pan instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      I made this cake for a work function, and I kid you not, I got "Best Cake Ever" from several different coworkers. I followed the receipe exactly, and it was absolutely perfect. I'll be making this one again very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      YUMMY!! This cake was really delicious. It was super easy to make. I modified the recipe to fit what I had in the pantry. I used a 3 oz. box of cook and serve banana cream pudding. I was a bit nervous as the recipe said to use instant pudding, but the results were absolutely wonderful. I did not use this peanut butter frosting however. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Yummy cake. Instead of canned frosting, I used #87058. The cake was good and moist. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This was a wonderful cake. I had no yellow cake mix around the house so I used a Funfetti mix--that gave it an interesting look, for certain. I also used banana cream pudding instead of vanilla. When making the icing, I heated the frosting for a few seconds in the microwave and then added the room temperature peanut butter. This helped it to blend well (it also helped that I was using the ultra-fluffy variety of frosting). All of my substitutions seemed to work out well, and I even added a couple drops of yellow food coloring to give it the correct color. The second time I made this cake (it's now a favorite for cleaning up the last of the bananas) I only had one banana, but the recipe still worked out just fine. I assume this was because the recipe is really just a prepared cake mix with banana and pudding added for the flavor and gluey bundt cake texture. Anyhow, it tasted great all around! I'd suggest adding walnuts or mini chocolate chips, though I haven't tried it myself. Easily five stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      I made this for my Dad's birthday and it was fantastic! I did make some changes though...used vanilla cake instead of yellow, reduced sugar icing (no one noticed!), added pecans and chocolate-peanut butter chips to the outside. I also made it as 2 rounds instead of a bundt and that requires an entire can of icing plus PB. And when you use the whole can, if you just *slightly* warm the PB before mixing, it will still have that definate PB taste but is spreadable...even cold and on a cooled cake. SO YUMMO. Will definately be making this one again!! Thanks Shae for a wonderful cake!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      This was a very good cake. A little on the rich side but my whole family loved it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (1116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4001.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1636
    40%
    Total Fat 181.8 g
    279%
    Saturated Fat 30.3 g
    151%
    Cholesterol 644.9 mg
    214%
    Sodium 5338.6 mg
    222%
    Total Carbohydrate 546.7 g
    182%
    Dietary Fiber 13.5 g
    54%
    Sugars 341.9 g
    1367%
    Protein 59.7 g
    119%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla frosting

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites