13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I like this cake much more than my husband. He said it was a cake he would eat it put in front of him but nothing he would request. To say the least, that shocked me coming from him!!! I would like to offer a piece of advice on the frosting. zbe VERY careful with your heat while cooking the milk mixture, or it may scorch and that would be disasterous for the frosting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. September 20, 2009

The cake was very tasty and moist. However, I would have preferred a different frosting. Maybe just buttercream frosting. My 11 year-old daughter made this all by herself for Chemistry Class. This was a very easy recipe for her to make.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tami.brinkman April 13, 2009

Good cake. I did not make the icing so I can not rate it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yourcakery April 27, 2009

Delicious! I love this frosting. I added just a little bit of ground cloves to the frosting and it gave it a nice hint of flavor. The cake is moist and tasty, but it's the frosting that really makes this excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food snob mom October 15, 2008

Great breakfast cake! The texture is more like a fluffy bread than a moist cake, but that's not a bad thing. The icing is lovely. Thanks Monica! Made for PAC Fall 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz October 13, 2008

This came out really great. I also used cinnamon anf nutmeg for the cake. As for the pudding icing, I kind of mixed the pudding with the margerine while it was still warm and it melted the margerine (I didn't have any shortening). This made for a rather wet butterscotch topping, which was actually quite good with the cake. I must admit that my little mistake turned out tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef April 28, 2008

i did use the 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 nutmeg wonderful! the topping is such a lite tasting compliment to the cake it went over very well in my home and i will be making this again!thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
body_soul_n_stuff March 13, 2008

Great banana cake! I made without the icing this time to put in b/f's lunch. I added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg to the batter. Also, in the instructions for the cake (step 2), it says to mash the bananas and add the milk, but milk is not listed in ingredients for the cake. I used 1 cup, and it turned out well. Will make again, and I'll add to review when I try with the icing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KlynnPadilla October 01, 2007

Great cake!! My 7-year-old made this mostly on her own, and the family loved it. We added the nutmeg and cinnamon to the icing - that was a good tip, though I'm sure it would have been good without it. This just has a pleasant not-too-sweet taste to it. Icing and all.
We did double the bananas and the cake had a similar texture to banana bread. It was just really good. Thanks for posting this recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennPoyer October 21, 2012

This cake is full of flavor. The icing is a nice touch. Simple to make. Will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M July 18, 2012
Banana Cake With Homemade Pudding Icing