26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy to assemble. Kids were trying to eat it before I could put icing on, it smelled so good. Didn't use banana flavorings and it still turned out good. Definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelCook February 26, 2007

I made this today...it was pretty good but not what I expected.I doubled the icing(WOW that was good)and I didn't use the liquor.Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydesigirl January 30, 2006

I made this cake last night and it was delicious. I omitted the liqueur. I used 4 ripe bananas, medium size. Also, next time I make it, I will double the frosting, because I like a lot of frosting. It is a great recipe and thanks, barb, for posting. Bjtaillights@cs.Com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taillights@insightbb.com January 24, 2006

Very moist and lighter than you expect a banana cake to be...didn't use the liquer because I didn't have it, and doubled the frosting - can't imagine that the frosting recipe amounts as written would have satisfied out sweet tooth(s)! Did use the flavoring in the frosting, and the whole thing is just delicious - a hit at out house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou January 21, 2006

This was the easiest cake to make. I made it for a co worker that did something nice for me to say thank you. she shared with the office and I had several request for the recipe. When it was cut you could see how moist it was. (I didn't try any, being good these days). I didn't add the flavoring to the cake, but I did at the banana flavoring to the icing. I always put my ripe bananas in the freezer for later use and I had everything else on hand. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right October 16, 2005

This cake is moist and absolutely delicious! I used 3 bananas and I didn't use the creme de banana. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anni August 13, 2004

This cake is soo yummy!! I had some black bananas that needed to get used but I am tired of banana bread so I thought I'd make this. I made it just as directed except I used applesauce instead of the oil. I baked it in a 9x13 aluminum pan and it was prefect after 40 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe. I will be using this again when I have some black bananas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluvmythomas May 10, 2004

Yummy!!!! Instead of a cake, I made them into cupcakes and they turned out great. I am always looking for unexpected cupcake flavors and this was perfect. I baked them for about 17-19 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelcakes February 05, 2004

This is an excellent recipe. This cake had a wonderful flavor and texture. It was very rich and moist. You really don't need a very big piece. I took it into work and everyone raved about how good it was. There aren't many non-chocolate desserts that I rave about, but this is certainly one of them. The only changes I made were that I did not add the creme de banane to the cake mix and I did not use the banana flavoring in the icing, I used vanilla instead. It took about 35 minutes to bake in an insulated 9x13 pan. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krich September 04, 2003

Tried your cake tonight. I thought it was very good. I did use a glass pan and it was okay, just along the bottom it acted like it wasn't quite done, but I did give it extra time. Even with that, I have to rate it 5 stars. It really was good and so was the icing. I didn't have banana flavoring so added a little less than 1/2 tsp. of essence of orange. It was great. Thank you for a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamamain August 29, 2003
Banana Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting