Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana-Buttermilk Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana-Buttermilk Muffins

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2007

      Healthy for sure! Can't wait to share this recipe with our cardiac patients!! This used about 2 medium-sized bananas. Instead of oil, I used two large tablespoons of unsweetened applesauce. On the top, I used a mixture of 1/4 c. chopped pecans, 1 tsp. cinnamon/sugar and 1/4 c. oats. Next time (there will be a next time!) I will add 1/2-1 tsp. cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice to the batter and will consider 1/2 tsp. of salt. Thank you for a recipe that makes me feel great to serve to my family!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      These are excellent! Very moist and full of flavor. I felt the whole wheat really added to them. It gave them a little more substance and flavor then a traditional banana muffin. My kids loved them, and they thought the nuts sprinkled on top were neat. This one is a keeper, Paula! Thanks so much for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      Great muffins! Not too sweet, these were perfect and were still nice and moist the next day. I used soured soy milk. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      Great Muffins. I made a triple batch, only cooking a dozen and freezing the rest of the batter. When I used the thawed batter, the muffins turned out better than ever and I was able to bring them to an early morning meeting. Everybody loved them. I decorated each with a few chocolate chips. I most certainly prefer a muffin made with buttermilk over oil. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      Very moist! I put the pecans IN the batter instead of on top. I also used brown sugar and Splenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

      AMAZING! Easy, fluffy.. I didn't do the topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      Really good! I used whole wheat pastry flour in place of the white flour & added 1/2 cup brown sugar. I used 1/2 cup Splenda & added 1 tsp cinn. I also used applesauce for the oil. Moist & a little dense; a definate keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      I tried honey in place of the sugar then added nuts & raisens...oh boy they disappeared!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2005

      I've made these muffins twice, and both batches were delicious. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and they were great; but the second time I decided to make them as Chunky Monkey Muffins. I cut the bananas in small chunks, added some chunks of 70% chocolate chopped from a bar, and increased the walnuts to one cup (coarsly broken). Both versions were delicious. Thanks Paula for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      I have to make corrections on my review. The muffins weren't so good at all. No banana flavor, it just look good. I guess that's what you get if you don't have butter in the recipe. The flavor of the banana wasn't enhanced. For someone who's a health nut. This is for you if you want to have a taste of banana muffin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      This is one of the few healthy muffin recipes I plan on making again. They're just sweet enough, yet very nutritious. Overripe bananas are a must. My sister made them with ready-to-eat bananas, and found the muffins lacking. When I made these, I added 1/8 cup each ground flax seed and wheat germ. I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of the buttermilk (no dairy) and used olive oil for the oil. They were awesome! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      My son says AWSOME! He is a diabetic and I used splenda. Thank you for a great muffin recipe. I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      A banana muffin that saves on fat grams but not on flavor is to be appreciated. I enjoyed making this recipe with my seven-year old; we both thought the result tasted great. We used 1 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour with a 1/2 cup whole wheat. These muffins are moist with a nice banana flavor. Thank you, PaulaG, for sharing a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      This really deserved 5 stars, but when I started making this recipe, I underestimated the amount of banana that I had on had and did not any buttermilk so I had to make some modifications. I combined 2tsp of vinegar with 1 cup of milk to sub for the buttermilk and I mashed the banana that I had and added thawed, frozen strawberries to make 1 cup. The muffins turned out wonderfully. I can't wait to try it with just banana. Thank you for such a versatile recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      I have had this muffin recipe in my hopper for awhile and finally got round to making them today. The result is great, lovely moist banana muffin, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      Great recipe. Made exactly like written. Thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      Wonderful, I skipped the oil because I had too much bannana and they were VERY ripe. I also had added some apple chunks (also aging in the fridge), some raisans (cause by this time a more fruit sounded more yummy) and the suggested peacans. I'm softening the lowfat cream cheese now:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      A wonderful banana muffin, tender, light and a little sweet that just happens to be pretty healthy with whole wheat flour and just a bit of oil. Skipped the nuts, but I do like the idea of sprinkling them on top. Very tasty and sure to be a regular at our house. Thanks PaulaG, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      Yum! I used all splenda (making them for some diabetic friends) and all whole wheat pastry flour. I also used Oklahoma pecans (of which I, luckily, have a ton right now!) and these turned out great. I gave most away and the people who received them were thrilled. I did save enough for us to enjoy, though. Thanks for another healthy one Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      These are awesome! Everyone loved them. I used the 1/4 splenda and 1/4 sugar, they turned out great. Next time I'll double! Thank you! Kellie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana-Buttermilk Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.8
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    33%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 16.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 193.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes