24 Reviews

I have to revise my review of this. I gave a jar to my FIL and he loves it!!! He finished off the 1/2 pint jar in a week by himself!!He said it was the best jelly he's had!!This is very sweet. More like a jelly than a butter.I only needed 6 bananas-I guess my bananas were bigger.I didn't add the cherries.It was very easy to make. It made 8 1/2 pints jars.Use a big pot b/c it foamed up quite a bit. I had to take it off of the heat a couple of times to let it bubble down.You might want to puree the bananas-I just mashed them. It has more of a chunkier texture just mashing them.Very popular here. My FIL raves about it all of the time!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Z* July 13, 2006

absolutely wonderful!! my dad and brother loved it, as well as the rest of us!(i did leave the cherries out).it is a "keeper" recipe for sure!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soonerchick December 16, 2003

This is great! I love bananas, and it's so hard to find a recipe like this. If you like bananas try this one! I had some on a peanut butter sandwich, and it was sooo good! Looks kind of like baby food when it is done. I was afraid the cherries would be too much, but it it just enough. I wouldn't change a thing. Very easy preperation as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melslack September 13, 2003

Absolutely LOVE this! Will be adding to my yearly canning list! THANK YOU!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sconnie September 12, 2010

I make this recipe all the time. It's the only jam my grandson will eat on his PB & J sandwiches. Spread it on crepes with a little nutella...yummm! Fancy that up with some chopped nuts and top with whipped cream and its dessert!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSass2u February 22, 2010

I made this recipe without the cherry and in my crockpot. I have to say this is amazing. I canned several jars and need to make more. My family enjoys it most over toasted banana bread slices..excellent:>

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Suppenbach February 10, 2010

Only 4 for now, but sure that will change the next time I do this. I tried to pressure can it. DON'T, it turns it red, which means it ruins the enzymes in it. The flavor is amazing! We have put it on peanut butter and banana butter sandwiches; ice cream; into cottage cheese; topped pancakes with it. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz October 01, 2009

The kids LOVE this. A little to sweet for me, but fine on P.B....the kids decided it was a great dip for apples. I got 5 quarts, and about 1/2 cup that we can use now. I will keep this on hand. I did use 1/4 cup of strawberries, instead of the cherries so I hope it cans well. And I used 1 cup brown sugar instead of white, and used 1 tsp. of vanilla. Next time I might add some cinnamon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farmchick #2 September 18, 2009

Exactly like the banana butter from the farm market we trek 2 hours to buy. I left out the cherries, added a little vanilla, and used an immersion blender to make it smooth. Thank you so much for the recipe! My kids love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loralieva July 30, 2009

I made this for the first time last summer. I had to make mine without the cherries because I didn't have any. My kids went gagga for it. We ran out very quickly as we not only discovered that this is fantastic for pbj, but we also add it to our pancakes, serve over ice cream, and I have caught the kids eating it strait from the jar. Would give this ten stars if I could. Wonderful flavor, easy to make, and very inexpensive too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ibecutest April 28, 2009
Banana Butter-Canning Recipe