Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Butter-Canning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Butter-Canning Recipe

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2006

      I have to revise my review of this. I gave a jar to my FIL and he loves it!!! He finished off the 1/2 pint jar in a week by himself!!He said it was the best jelly he's had!!This is very sweet. More like a jelly than a butter.I only needed 6 bananas-I guess my bananas were bigger.I didn't add the cherries.It was very easy to make. It made 8 1/2 pints jars.Use a big pot b/c it foamed up quite a bit. I had to take it off of the heat a couple of times to let it bubble down.You might want to puree the bananas-I just mashed them. It has more of a chunkier texture just mashing them.Very popular here. My FIL raves about it all of the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      absolutely wonderful!! my dad and brother loved it, as well as the rest of us!(i did leave the cherries out).it is a "keeper" recipe for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      This is great! I love bananas, and it's so hard to find a recipe like this. If you like bananas try this one! I had some on a peanut butter sandwich, and it was sooo good! Looks kind of like baby food when it is done. I was afraid the cherries would be too much, but it it just enough. I wouldn't change a thing. Very easy preperation as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Absolutely LOVE this! Will be adding to my yearly canning list! THANK YOU!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I make this recipe all the time. It's the only jam my grandson will eat on his PB & J sandwiches. Spread it on crepes with a little nutella...yummm! Fancy that up with some chopped nuts and top with whipped cream and its dessert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I made this recipe without the cherry and in my crockpot. I have to say this is amazing. I canned several jars and need to make more. My family enjoys it most over toasted banana bread slices..excellent:>

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Only 4 for now, but sure that will change the next time I do this. I tried to pressure can it. DON'T, it turns it red, which means it ruins the enzymes in it. The flavor is amazing! We have put it on peanut butter and banana butter sandwiches; ice cream; into cottage cheese; topped pancakes with it. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      The kids LOVE this. A little to sweet for me, but fine on P.B....the kids decided it was a great dip for apples. I got 5 quarts, and about 1/2 cup that we can use now. I will keep this on hand. I did use 1/4 cup of strawberries, instead of the cherries so I hope it cans well. And I used 1 cup brown sugar instead of white, and used 1 tsp. of vanilla. Next time I might add some cinnamon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Exactly like the banana butter from the farm market we trek 2 hours to buy. I left out the cherries, added a little vanilla, and used an immersion blender to make it smooth. Thank you so much for the recipe! My kids love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I made this for the first time last summer. I had to make mine without the cherries because I didn't have any. My kids went gagga for it. We ran out very quickly as we not only discovered that this is fantastic for pbj, but we also add it to our pancakes, serve over ice cream, and I have caught the kids eating it strait from the jar. Would give this ten stars if I could. Wonderful flavor, easy to make, and very inexpensive too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      This is a recipe from Jean Pare's Preserves cookbook. Makes nice little jars for church bazaars and friends. Excellent in that can be made anytime. It does require skimming foam.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      This is so yummy! I didn't add the cherries either, the colour of Maraschino cherries creeps me out. I made this for gifts and filled 4 500mL jars and had about 250mL left for us, which I am so happy about! I'll post a pic in a couple days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2004

      It was good- a little too sweet for my taste. I used the cherries in it, it turned an orange color but that was ok. It was really foamy and I had to let it sit before I could skim. It only made 7 half pint jars, not the 6-8 pints like it states. Overall was good though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      This is one of the best things I've ever made. I love it! I have been eating it every day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2014

      I just finished with this and think my kiddos and hubby are going to love it on PB Sandwiches. We did leave out the cherries. I just wanted to check if others are actually getting 6-8 PINTS from this, I only got 3 1/2 which would be the same as 6-8 1/2 pints. Just wondering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      And not one person has mentioned that canning banana products is not USDA recommended. That being said I have not tried this recipe so can not rate the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

    • on September 21, 2008

      very very good-whole family loves it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      I love this stuff!! I love bananas anyway, but this is soooooooo good. I bet it'll be great on pancakes and on ice cream. 'Course right out of the jar suits me just fine too. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Oh yum. This is so good. I love it on everything. The addition of the cherries is quite nice, for both flavor and looks. I will be making this every year from now on....thank you for the yummy butter recipe....STephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Butter-Canning Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (2206 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 943.9
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    81%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 243.6 g
    81%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 230.2 g
    921%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    maraschino cherries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites