31 Reviews

This was a great recipe, very tasty! My family really enjoyed it for dessert and then again the next day for breakfast. There was no "bisquick" after taste, either. Very easy. I doubled the topping as suggested and am glad that I did. There would not have been enough otherwise!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PuzzledOne April 29, 2011

This is so good! My husband said it's even better than my banana bread recipe! I did as others suggested and doubled the topping and it was so good! I used walnuts as I think walnuts go with bananas. I also used the Splenda Brown Sugar blend for the sugar in the topping just to cut down on the sugar a bit and you couldn't even tell! YUM! I could eat the whole pan!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamara25ca May 03, 2011

Got Bananas? Make this cake. I whipped this out with little effort after a 10 hour work day. Next time I will double the topping as other reviews suggested. Who doesn't love a little extra streusel? I didn't have enough nuts or butter to do it this time. Thanks SweetsLady!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newmsy March 30, 2011

I made this with whole wheat Bisquick mix & rice milk & it turned out fabulous. Super moist & I love the topping. I think I'll make extra topping next time, as advised here.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shmenner72 January 02, 2009

A very nice banana cake for breakfast or dessert with some whipped cream on top. I will double the topping next time as we loved the wonderful nuts flavored with brown sugar and butter. I used walnuts. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando July 09, 2008

I wanted to try this recipe so much so that I had to make my own bisquick since I never use it. The recipes on this site were for huge amounts so I found one on the internet which made exactly 3 1/2 cups of bisquick substitute. After mixing it up, I followed this recipe to the letter except that I used melted 1/4 cup butter instead of the oil. I used light brown sugar in the cake recipe and my bananas were small so I used 4 to make the cup and a half called for. In the topping, I used dark brown sugar with the melted butter and chopped pecans. I was a bit worried about it not rising since some reviewers complained about that, but mine rose almost to the top of the pan and turned a beautiful golden brown on top. I did bake this cake about 10 extra minutes because it did not seem done at 30 minutes. Both my husband and I were pleasantly surprised at the outcome of this wonderful brunch cake. It is sweet and full of banana flavor and the topping is what puts it over the top delicious! Thanks for posting this recipe. It is a very nice change from my regular banana nut bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas February 22, 2016

Oh, my word! This is one of the best banana recipes I've made. I was hesitate making it with Bisquick, but it was delish! Even my 6 year old gave it a thumbs up and she can be picky with foods that have pecans. This is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rth2067 January 25, 2012

This is a snap to put together and so delicious! A great use of ripe bananas and a very moist cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grits (Girl Raised In The South) January 06, 2012

This is fabulous and easy to make. It's soooooooooooo good, and the bananas keep the cake moist for days. I didn't just add the nut mixture to the top, but took a knife and cut it through the batter, like a coffee cake. Once it cools for about 15 minutes, eat your first piece while it's still warm....it's heaven. Thanks for the recipe, I never knew that Bisquick could make such a great cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethInTN May 10, 2011

I had to bake this a bit longer than stated. Came out extremely moist and tasty. Made for Everyday Holiday Tag. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama September 29, 2010
Banana Brunch Cake