Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana-Brownies, Low Cal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana-Brownies, Low Cal

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2008

      I used Splenda and egg beaters. These were really good and I like these more than applesauce brownies (better texture) but I think they could be a little more chocolaty as the banana flavor really came alive after baking so I will add more cocoa next time and less cooking time to make them fudgey and a little less cake like. But I will be making theses often, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      These were good, but they tasted nothing like one would expect anything with "brownie" in the title to taste. That being said, the infusion of banana tastes was delicious; this is a wonderful idea. The consistency is more that of a cake than a brownie, as others have noted. I really enjoyed this treat. Thank you! (PS: I used Splenda instead of sugar and it came out delightful.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      For fat free, this makes an excellent brownie. I love the banana flavor. I also just used skim milk and a little vinegar, it came out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      While this is not the best brownie recipe I have ever made, it is by far the best fat free baked good I have ever made. My husband had already eaten one before I told him they were fat free and he was shocked; it didn't have the texture that most fat free baked goods do. I used skim milk with lemon juice added instead of the buttermilk, and 2/3 cup of sugar and 1/3 cup of splenda. By making those changes I was able to get the calorie count down enough that each serving (at 16 servings) is 1 WW point. I did have to cook for about 4 minutes longer then stated, but I think that might be because my pan was 8x8 and therefore they were thicker. Yummy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2001

      There was absolutely nothing wrong with this recipe. I just wasn't, personally, that fond of it. A little bit of icing may have perked it up a bit. I would still encourage others to try it though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Very good. I used splenda instead of sugar and the 2% milk with a tsp vinegar sub for the butter milk. We thought it was very good and we will make it again. Thanks for posting. Ward

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      WOW GOOD ONE I baked it an hour ago and it is 1/2 gone. I am gluten intolerant, so I had to substitute 1 c. GF flour mixture & 2 1/2 t. xanthan gum. I also used 2 bananas. I toped it with a mixture of chocolate chips(Ghirardelli's)and broken walnuts. My husband and I love em.I'll send a photo too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      I made several changes to this to make it even more low cal! Maybe I overdid it a little... I used reduced fat cocoa, splenda instead of sugar and only 2/3 cup and replaced buttermilk with low fat plain yoghurt. The texture is a bit springy/spongy but the taste is just right, not too sweet. Maybe could do with a bit more banana as DH asked when I was going to use up the ripe banana after tasting it... Will make it again for sure! Simple and tasty! Thanks for the recipe Mysterygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

    • on April 12, 2009

      I was soo disappointed in these brownies. They were extremely dry and no one in the house touched them, and eventually they were thrown away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      For me, these came out more like a cake than brownies, which was kind of disappointing to me. I used half whole wheat flour, a heaping 1/3 C cocoa, half white/half brown sugar, one whole egg instead of two whites, and plain nonfat yogurt for the buttermilk. I also threw in some chocolate chips, as I always do in brownies (and a lot of other baked goods...I like my chocolate, what can I say? ;)). Right out of the oven, they seem to have less flavor than I expected, but that could be partly due to my impatience, as I burned my tongue on one within minutes of coming out of the oven. I'm planning on taking most of them to work tomorrow, so we'll see if the boys like 'em! Thanks for a way to use up ripe bananas other than in bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      These are moist and dense. I used a Dutch process cocoa and they were oh so rich. I used plain yogurt for the buttermilk and 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 sugar. This was baked in an 8 inch square pan for more height. As I was pouring this into the pan, I thought that banana flavoring would be a nice addition and something I will try in the future. There is absolutely no way that I can cut these into 16 servings. Mine were cut into 9 squares which were quickly devoured.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      A great low cal treat - thank you Mysterygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      Easy, good, you vcan really taste the banana, nice consistency. Like the others have said, more of a snack cake, but good for what it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      Wow! I'm definitely keeping this recipe to make again! It doesn't taste as healthy as it is. I would, however, call this a snack cake rather than a brownie. I did replace the buttermilk with fat-free plain yogurt. I used half whole wheat pastry flour and half white flour. I used a scant half cup of brown sugar and a scant half cup of white sugar. The next time I try this, I might try cutting down the sugar just a bit more to make it more healthy. Oh, and it tastes best warm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      Very good low fat, low calorie brownies! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and only 1/2 cup sugar. With these alterations, it was more like a cake than brownie. Next time I will add another banana for more flavour and moisture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2005

      A bit drier than I'd prefer, but good when topped with ice cream. Banana flavor came thru a little to strong also. I used Splenda and soy flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      DH and I both enjoyed these. It is an added bonus that they are low fat too. Sometimes I crave the sweet stuff such as brownies but do not want all the fat. So this one I will KEEP !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2004

      As a "Weight Watcher," I love low cal recipes. :) This one is good. I used 1/4 cup low fat plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk. With that modification for 12 servings (instead of the 16 listed here), it is 2 points each. Gotta love that! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana-Brownies, Low Cal

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 99.7
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    70%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 77.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes