Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Bread Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Bread Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2003

      Delicious, A very good change from regular oatmeal with raisins. DH & I really enjoyed the flavor served it with fat free cream. So easy to make plus satisfying. Thank you Kree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      This is delicious! The only change I made was using walnuts instead of pecans (I didn't toast them either just to save a few minutes, but I'll try them toasted next time).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      This is delicious! I made it this morning for my college-age daughter and myself. She said it was like licking the batter for my banana nut muffins. We both loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Kree, this is SUPER DELICIOUS! I had this for breakfast this morning and loved every spoonful of it. I did not have nutmeg on hand, so I used cinnamon instead(2 tsps. in total). I substituted the brown sugar with white granulated sugar. I did not top it with anything, because it was GREAT all by itself. Thanks so much for such a good oatmeal banana breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      Breakfast treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

    • on February 21, 2012

      It was delicious!!! I made it pretty much as written, I even added the nutmeg despite not liking it. I just also added a little vanilla extract to the milk as well. It tasted like warm banana pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

    • on August 17, 2010

      This is wonderful! My only eats instant oatmeal husband had a bowl of this today and asked that I make it on a regular basis... High praise. Followed the recipe, using rolled oats, except for candying the pecans in a skillet with a little butter and Splenda before adding them to the mix. Husband added a handful of milk chocolate chips to his, I added a spoonful of natural peanut butter, and the picky 4 year old added both to his, but then ate the whole bowl, so it's all good. Will definitely make this again. 8/17/10 Made this with quinoa instead of oats, and it's equally wonderful. Cooked the grains in water with some butter, added the spices while cooking, then stirred in the banana and some plain yogurt for creaminess. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      This is very good oatmeal. It was a little too strong in cinnamon flavor for me, but other than that it was very good and filling. I only made one serving, so I will have to try it on my kids to see what they think. They are not big fans of oatmeal, but I think they will like this. I will have to update later. I did not use the nutmeg and pecans, nor did I use any extras for the topping. Next time I will use the pecans. UPDATE: I made this for my family and only one child did not like it, but she ate it anyway. Maybe it'll "grow" on her. I did cut back the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp and did not use the nutmeg. The pecans really add a very nice touch to this so do not skip it like I did the first time I made it. I do not add any toppings to this either. This was not enough for my family of 7 so I will make 1 1/2 x this recipe for now on. Love it! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I made this a few days ago, omitting the nutmeg, pecans, and yogurt (because I didn't have them on hand). This is really good even without them. And I think it really does taste like banana bread. It was VERY filling and, if I had known, I probably wouldn't have eaten quite a whole serving. It would probably work really well for days that you know you're probably goin to miss lunch. Thanks for the tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      The flavors are great in this oatmeal. After reading another review, I used half water half milk and added the brown sugar after cooking to prevent burning. I also added the optional banana to increase that flavor. Served 4 as a main breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

    • on December 01, 2008

      There isn't anything not to love about this oatmeal. I have had it in my cookbook for over a year now, but in the early mornings I couldn't bring myself to go through all the steps I thought a new oatmeal recipe would take. Especially when my usually morning oatmeal just consists of whatever I have on hand, which is usually just some raisins and brown sugar. Well, this didn't take anytime at all and I felt like I had gone out for a gourmet breakfast. I will be making this again and again, thanks Kree!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      This is some very awesome oatmeal! Blows the pre-packaged kind from the store out of the water. No comparison. Very strong fresh banana taste and the spices are just right. We stirred in a little more brown sugar after it was done and topped with sliced bananas. I'm simply amazed at how good this oatmeal is- I will definitely be making this again. (My non-oatmeal eating son even gave it a thumbs up!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      oh wow. that's good. I used steel cut oats, added a little wheat bran, flax seed, and a touch of vanilla. Bet it would be great with little hint of maple syrup, too! Thanks for making my mornings something to look forward to =) One of my favorite oatmeal recipes, for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I pared this down to a single serving, and made it in the microvave-- it was AWESOME! Healthy, and delicious- really takes the 'blah' out of oatmeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was soooo good! I cut it down to 1 serving as I'm the only one in the house who likes oatmeal. The toasted pecans really make this special. I chopped them very fine because of my IBS, but this recipe was very gentle on my stomach and I will make this again and again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Very yummy! I usually don't care for oatmeal, but I like to have a hot healthy breakfast when it's cold out and this hit the spot! I used soy milk and old fashioned oats and walnuts instead of pecans. I topped it with plain yogurt and a sprinkle of dried cranberries. I'm going to make this into a quick mix so I can bring it to work. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      This was really yummy, even my DH loved this. But this recipe is a keeper if for no other reason that the microwaved nuts tip! Thank you for not making me turn on my oven. :) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Bread Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.1
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    19%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 2.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 54.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes