11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! I used a 1/2 cup of rolled wheat flakes, omitted the maple syrup, and used 1 packet of Truvia to sweeten. Pretty yummy, I'll make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smadie3 June 02, 2011

This was amazing! I combined the oats, banana and water then cooked for 3.5 minutes in the microwave. I added the pumpkin pie spice, sugar-free syrup, and some cinnamon and stevia afterwards. It smelled great and tasted so good! I'll definitely make this again, thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haven't the slightest August 11, 2010

Wow. One of the best oatmeal recipes ever. No changes, just reduced oatmeal to 1/2 cup like other reviewers. No comparision to any of the prepacked flavors. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen September 28, 2008

Delicious way to have oatmeal. It does taste reminiscent of banana bread. I left out the Splenda and the sweetness was just right for me with the maple syrup. I also used less salt and did a 2/3 portion, as others did. Had to top it with nuts, since my banana bread would always have that too - it went beautifully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito September 23, 2008

I gave this recipe 3 stars. I made this for my breakfast. I used Log Cabin sugar free syrup as that's all I could find on the lines of maple syrup. I will next time not used salt. This was to salty for me. Overall this was good and easy to make. Thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut September 22, 2008

Great stuff! Cheap, plentiful, and good for you with a great taste! The banana really adds some body while the maple syrup give you the sweet! I did change the recipe a bit, I used pure Quebec Maple Syrup and added some dried strawberries from last year's crop. Good stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eastern Ontario Horse Dude May 10, 2008

My son and I really enjoyed this for breakfast. We love oatmeal in the morning and this will definately be more again. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the salt. Really good. Thanks A.Lynne.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol January 09, 2008

Yum, I made this for my toddler daughter & I to share, we both really enjoyed it. Cooked for about 2 mins in the microwave. The only changes I made was to leave out the Splenda & I used milk instead of water for cooking to give a creamier consistency. This was a really nice brekky which will be on regular rotation in our house from now on. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** August 30, 2007

Yummy! I often add sliced bananas on top of my oatmeal but never thought to actually mash them and cook that into the oats. The banana flavor along with the spices permeate every delicious bite. Like PaigeParkerMomme, I do the WW Core program but decided to count points for the maple syrup, but I could see trying this with a dot of maple extract as well. The maple along with the pie spice really make this a little different. Also, I scaled this recipe down to 2/3s since I generally eat a 1/2 cup of oats in the morning. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni April 08, 2007

I am eating this right now. I will definitely be making this again. I love the pumpkin pie spice. However, the serving is huge! I reduced it to 2/3 of the recipe (still using a whole banana) and it made a huge a bowl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay January 18, 2007
Banana Bread Oatmeal