21 Reviews

I made this recipe two days ago. Didn't want to open a jar of applesauce, so instead I used 1/2 cup of vegetable oil. Was deliscious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Sean #2 September 06, 2007

Followed the recipe exactly. Taste is good, but I found the texture a bit too chewey and the crumb is a bit finer than banana bread should be. Will probably make again and add about an eighth cup of oil, which will raise the fat to only 4g per slice per 8-slice loaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soleilbb August 11, 2007

This is a really quick to put together and really enjoyed it. I replaced half the white flour for whole wheat flour, and reduced the sugar by almost half. If you put butter on it you wouldn't even know it was a low fat/low sugar recipe, but that kind of defeats the purpose, so I just put a tiny bit of margarine on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PurpleJade June 01, 2007

very tasty! i was skeptical about this recipe at first because of the lack of bad-for-you ingredients haha but it turned out great! i used natural no-sugar-added applesauce. my family and boyfriend gobbled it up and had no idea it was low fat

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie3763 May 07, 2007

This was very good. I loved the applesauce addition. I made this with everything I had on hand. The kids really enjoyed this, and it wasn't like I was giving them junk for a snack. I can't wait to finish this off for breakfeast. Thanks for a great recipe! I will be making this again soon. As soon as we buy too many bananas..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ron Davis August 05, 2006

My husband and I have been on the search for a banana bread recipe that doesn't come out gooey on the top, and this recipe is what we have been looking for! I love how low fat it is. To cut down on the sugar, I put in 1/2 cup of a sugar/splenda mix instead of the 1 cup sugar. Also, I used 1/2 cup egg whites from a carton instead of separating three eggs and wasting the yolk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMC May 25, 2006

Thought this was an excellent banana bread, very moist. I used chunky applesause as that is what I had, just added to the goodness. Will be making this a regular. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podapo February 19, 2006

Awesome! Now a family favorite and no one knows its a low-fat version. I've cut the sugar amount to 1/2 cup and find this sweet enough. Also, I've used whole wheat flour instead for the added fiber. Overall a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenBean #2 February 15, 2005

This is a excellent banana bread. I had 6 large bananas that needed to be used since they were getting overripe. I went ahead and used them and added an extra 1/4 cup of flour to compensate. I thought that other than baking in 2 stoneware pans that I hadn't made any other changes...then discoved before reviewing that I had forgotten the vanilla. I never missed it at all. I felt that the applesauce really blended the flavors nicely. Since dinner I've already eaten 3 pieces with butter on top...and am having to force myself to leave it alone. Absolutely will be making this again. Very good recipe.(By the way I suspect that the person who created this recipe was trying to cut down on fats and cholesterol...but you can use whole eggs if you wish, I did only because I didn't want to have leftover yolks.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ September 02, 2004

Just one word... Delicious! I alway's add a crumbled topping to my Loaves. I use brown sugar mixed with crushed pecans and cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Luckadoo July 12, 2004
Banana Bread II