11 Reviews

Fabulous! Rave reviews at my dinner party. Served with praline bourbon sauce. Delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahamil February 12, 2010

This was delicious. I made some mini-loaves of banana bread, but didn't have enough banana, so they turned out a little dry. I wanted to use them some other way, so I found this recipe. The only thing I did different was using a 9x13 pan (I don't own an 8x8). Served with vanilla ice cream...yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leslieswabb July 02, 2014

this was delicious i served it with ice cream and caramel sauce and my guests loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. September 16, 2013

This recipe was EXCELLENT!!!! I made no alterations. It came out moist, perfectly baked and sooooo tastey. I've been trying to make a good banana bread pudding using banana bread for years but it's always a disappointment, this one was WONDERFUL. I think what makes this one so good and not at all dry is adding the bananas, I used 2 small ones. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. kary May 05, 2013

I figured someone on RecipeZaar would know what to do with left over slightly dried out banana nut bread. Didn't have any bananas ripe enough so I added some chopped dates and it was wonderful. Will increase the liquid and egg if I need to use this recipe again since the banana nut bread I make is dense. I think I will cut it in cubes before browning the sliced bread in the oven. But it certainly delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Cat January 28, 2010

I thought it was very good. Not as creamy as I like, so next time will add more pudding. I also used a current bread we had received as a Christmas Gift so that added some raisin-y taste. I would make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SVSOUZA December 27, 2008

I had about 9 banana muffins that I made forgetting to put in egg, so they collapsed and were a little blah tasting. I cubed them and dried in the preheating oven. I didn't have any half-and half, just a splash of whipping cream. I also had no more bananas! I made a half recipe of the custard (2 eggs, 1 1/2 c. milk, etc.) Despite all these changes it was great...I ate it warm...half the pan by myself!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tdej December 01, 2007

This is so good. Served it at a dinner party lastnight and everyone who had it absolutely loved it. Will maybe add toasted pecans next time. This was easily doubled, but I need to better watch it, as the top got a little too brown. Thanks for the recipe !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitaholic April 29, 2007

Fresh from the oven and on my second bowl with cream it is a yummy and outstanding recipe which deserves 5 stars! I was delighted with how it turned out a beautiful presentation golden brown on top just slightly crisp on the edges and absolutely done to perfection in exactly 60 minutes. This goes into my Brunch cookbook and means I can freeze my banana bread and not give it away, although a friend came over today to visit and left with half! Thanks ciao for such a great recipe! Oilpatchjo

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oilpatchjo February 22, 2007

I don't what went wrong but my pudding turned out to be a big brick of rubber. The bread did not absorb the liquid adequately so it turned out like a custard, gelatin-like concoction with floating bread croutons. The flavor was okay - just tasted like banana bread. I had guests over and all eight of us ended up pushing our plates away. Sorry. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2bizzy September 03, 2006
Banana Bread-Bread Pudding