28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This may well have been the best banana bread I have ever eaten. This recipe definitely deserves five stars. My only suggestion would be to perhaps add some chopped walnuts.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cousy September 02, 2002

This is a great recipe. I went online looking for a banana bread recipe that didn't require buttermilk, and I came across this! It is GREAT! I baked mine in a bundt pan and it turned out perfect. The only changes I made were adding a tsp. of cinn. and a tsp. of nutmeg. I baked it at 340 degrees for 40 minutes. Wonderful...thanks for posting! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
milleramyee April 14, 2011

This is fantastic! I used a silicone loaf pan, so I dropped the temperature to about 325 degrees and left it in for 50-55 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
harmony758b January 06, 2014

This was a pretty solid recipe. The best thing about it is that it calls for different ingredients and is perfect when you don't have milk, buttermilk, butter our sourcream which most recipes use. There's nothing super WOW about it and it's a good one to have in your recipe box but I would not call it super memorable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunnybono January 11, 2010

Great recipe! This loaf stays nice and moist. After reading the comments by others, I have a few suggestions to make this recipe even better: I added approximately 1/2 cup oats to the recipe to absorb some of the moisture and prevent the long cooking times mentioned by others. Additionally, I baked the loaf at 300-325 degrees for 1 hour and 20 minutes, occasionally turning the heat up to 350 depending on how it was cooking. The lower temperature helped avoid burning the edges, and allowed the middle to cook through properly. Otherwise, this recipe is perfect!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megan_bozman August 18, 2009

Very good. This is the best banana bread I've ever made. To make it healthier I substituted raw cane sugar (demara) for the brown sugar and whole wheat flour for the all-purpose. Oh, and I never bother with letting it sit overnight. (It's delicious anyway.) When I'm short on time I make muffins. I get 21-24, and bake for 17 min at 375". Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Essie Jane April 26, 2009

This banana bread is awesome, my only issue was the same as the other reviews I read, the inside took quite a bit longer to cook and the outside almost burned. I used a loaf pan but next time I might use a more shallow pan so that it will cook more evenly. Otherwise the taste and texture are GREAT :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacquelinesimas April 02, 2009

The banana bread was great and easy. But you are right it's hard to stay away tilled cooled. :]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sudsnvic February 14, 2009
Banana Bread