Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2002

      This may well have been the best banana bread I have ever eaten. This recipe definitely deserves five stars. My only suggestion would be to perhaps add some chopped walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      This is a great recipe. I went online looking for a banana bread recipe that didn't require buttermilk, and I came across this! It is GREAT! I baked mine in a bundt pan and it turned out perfect. The only changes I made were adding a tsp. of cinn. and a tsp. of nutmeg. I baked it at 340 degrees for 40 minutes. Wonderful...thanks for posting! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      This is fantastic! I used a silicone loaf pan, so I dropped the temperature to about 325 degrees and left it in for 50-55 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      This was a pretty solid recipe. The best thing about it is that it calls for different ingredients and is perfect when you don't have milk, buttermilk, butter our sourcream which most recipes use. There's nothing super WOW about it and it's a good one to have in your recipe box but I would not call it super memorable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

    • on August 19, 2009

    • on August 18, 2009

      Great recipe! This loaf stays nice and moist. After reading the comments by others, I have a few suggestions to make this recipe even better: I added approximately 1/2 cup oats to the recipe to absorb some of the moisture and prevent the long cooking times mentioned by others. Additionally, I baked the loaf at 300-325 degrees for 1 hour and 20 minutes, occasionally turning the heat up to 350 depending on how it was cooking. The lower temperature helped avoid burning the edges, and allowed the middle to cook through properly. Otherwise, this recipe is perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Very good. This is the best banana bread I've ever made. To make it healthier I substituted raw cane sugar (demara) for the brown sugar and whole wheat flour for the all-purpose. Oh, and I never bother with letting it sit overnight. (It's delicious anyway.) When I'm short on time I make muffins. I get 21-24, and bake for 17 min at 375". Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      This banana bread is awesome, my only issue was the same as the other reviews I read, the inside took quite a bit longer to cook and the outside almost burned. I used a loaf pan but next time I might use a more shallow pan so that it will cook more evenly. Otherwise the taste and texture are GREAT :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      The banana bread was great and easy. But you are right it's hard to stay away tilled cooled. :]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This was absolutely delicious. I used 4 *ripe* bananas, and baked it about an hour (It was slightly underdone at first but baked up while cooling, and the outside would have been burnt had I not pulled it out). What a great flavor, and very easy! Added to my cookbook!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      I have tried many recipes on this site but have never written a review. But this is the easiest and best banana bread recipe I have ever used. I have been serching for this recipe for a long time. This is even better than the recipe on the King Arthur flour site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Nice simple recipe. Next time I'll add nuts and/or raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Really lovely with a scraping of butter. Don't be tempted to put extra bananas in, as I did 2nd time around. (it was too moist!) Big thumbs up!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      I made this for my family. My sister, a very picky eater will not leave it alone! The flavour is wonderful and same with the texture. I found it took a little bit longer to bake than recomended but overall it is a wonderful recipe!! Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

    • on November 14, 2007

      Very good, we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Thanks for a great recipe. I added about 1 c. of chopped walnuts, 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1 tsp of nutmeg. The texture turned out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      I managed to make 2 banana loaves out of this recipe. I baked them for an hour and they were delicious! The best banana bread I have ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      This is a very moist and tasty banana bread. Whenever I have extra bananas just sitting around getting ripe, I like to make a banana bread out of them. I've baked many different versions, but this one is my favorite! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3196.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1100
    34%
    Total Fat 122.2 g
    188%
    Saturated Fat 18.0 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 2815.6 mg
    117%
    Total Carbohydrate 495.1 g
    165%
    Dietary Fiber 16.0 g
    64%
    Sugars 262.9 g
    1051%
    Protein 42.9 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites