Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      I also happened to have everything on hand to make this recipe. Which in my kitchen is unusual. I found it incrediblly easy to make, I did the whole thing in the food processer!!! Because I don't like to have a whole "loaf" on hand at once, I made it in my muffin tins, and baked them only 20 minutes. I got 24 nice sized muffins,that were very moist, and had a good flavor. In half of them I put chocolate chips, because my daughter likes them. I would love to be able to figure out how to put peanut butter in them. This recipe will replace my old favorite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      I had some over-ripe bananas, so I came here to look for a banana bread recipe. I happened to have all the ingredients on hand needed for this recipe, so I tried it. I am glad I did. This bread was nice and dense, yet very moist, and most of all incredibly delicious. It makes a very filling snack or breakfast, and it's easy to make too! (A big plus in my book.) I doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves, and it worked perfectly. Thanks for sharing your recipe...it will become a regular in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      Just a good basic yummy banana bread recipe. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      This is a very tasty recipe. I added vanilla because I just love it in banana bread. I will definately make this again. I too used my food processor and made muffins instead of a loaf. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      very moist

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2002

      Made this recipe yesterday for company...found it to be fast and very good...Thanks for sharing it...SharonP.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      This was very easy to make using simple ingredients. I didn't add nuts but I made muffins and baked at 350 for 30 minutes. That's perfect for muffins. The second time I made these I added some dried cranberries at the end which was also a nice touch. I've been using this recipe all the time. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      I just finished making this recipe with my 20 month old, who loves to help out in the kitchen. The only modifications I made was adding 1 tsp. of vanilla, 1/2 of lemon juiced and using bread flour instead of all-purpose flour. It is incredibly moist and not super sweet. It's just simple and delicious banana bread. Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Thanks for posting. I couldn't find my banana bread recipe and found yours which is the same basic recipe. I have been making it for years and love how it tastes. I think my kids would notice if I made any changes. My recipe had two differences. My called for one stick of softened butter and 1 tsp. of lemon juice added to the mushed up bananas. I have learned that the lemon juice is the acid needed to activate the baking soda. One hint for anyone who loves banana bread: when you can't make the bread and the bananas need to be used, peel them in sets of three and put into a freezer bag. When you are ready to make it pull the freezer bag out let it dethaw in micro or counter for a bit and mush the bananas right in the bag before adding to the mixture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2003

      This is now the defacto banana bread in our house. We altered it to use 1/2 whole wheat and added a few glops of non-fat yogurt (probably a cup). It's delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      Love this recipe! We're not nut fans so I replace the nuts with choc chips. For more of a dessert type of bread/cake, I also add cocoa powder and butterscotch chips and bake is a bunt pan. Some times I even add some sweetened coconut if I have it on hand. It so Yumerful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      I made a half batch of this into six muffins last night and baked them for about 20 minutes. Prep was VERY easy, and I loved how easy the batter was to get into the muffin tin in nice equal portions with virtually no mess. When they came out of the oven, they had an amazing crunchy yet light crust. Today, the leftovers do not have this wonderful crunch but are still good. My only complaint is that, both yesterday and today, they've seemed just a little bit greasy. Maybe substituting applesauce for some of the oil could help with this if I ever have it on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Yummy! I like how the ingredients are very basic (like other reviewers I had everything in my kitchen already). This bread was super easy to put together and tastes very good! The bananas I used weren't brown; the bread still tastes so good with mostly-yellow bananas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      Very good and easy enough to make for my 4yr old to help out! I had 5 bananas to use up, so I did 1 loaf (just adding a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg) and 1 set of 12 muffins (chopped up some dried figs to add to that batch). No nuts because of allergies. Delicious - will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      Super moist and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      God bless you!!!! I am a horrible baker, and i tried these on a whim, because I had some bananas that were going to be thrown out. they turned out AMAZING. I even messed up the recipe. I added the flour and sugar in the mushed bananas. I had to carefullly remove the flour and sugar without loosing the banana and start over fresh lol!! but your recipe gave me hope that maybe im not such a horrible baker....or maybe your recipe is just awesome! haha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Ya know, I DO like it as much as you do. I haven't made any other recipe since the first time a made this one a while back. This banana bread doesn't last long at my house....my 3 kids purposely don't eat the last three bananas because they would rather have this bread. Honestly, I have NO IDEA why it is so good. Doesn't seem to be anything special or extraordinary about it. I just know that it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

    • on December 04, 2010

      Super easy. I wanted something sweet and this was perfect. I added a crumb topping and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      These turned out great...moist and delicious. The only addition I made was a tsp. of vanilla. I, too, used muffin pans and cooked them for 20 minutes. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 732.2
     
    Calories from Fat 263
    35%
    Total Fat 29.2 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 625.4 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 111.2 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 57.3 g
    229%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites