Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2004

      What a faaaabulous recipe. I chose this one because of the little amount of butter required. I opted for the milk instead of the sour cream...can only imagine it´s even better with sour cream (likcing lips). I live in Spain where the flour is different, and I haven´t had the best of luck texture-wise baking mom´s best this and mom´s best that...until today. What can I say, it was everything banana bread should be.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2003

      This was awesome. We loved it, very moist and flavorful. Thanks so much, I will make this one again and again!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      Based on other reviews, I made a bunch of changes. I think it's a great base recipe that you can change to suit your needs. That said, I made the following changes:
      - reduced sugar to 1/2 cup
      - added 1 tspn vanilla and extra tablespoon of milk to liquids
      - added 1/2 tspn cinnamon to flour
      - folded in about 1/3 cup of choco chips

      This was on the drier side for a quick bread, but is so so tasty! I am very happy with the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      I added an extra banana and a bit more milk after reading reviews. Result was a very moist and delicious banana bread without a lot of fat. I also added nuts and chocolate chips. This is a great recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Very good, thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      It was a very nice recipe. I found it a little dry, though, so next time I will add more sour cream, and probably another banana to increase the banana taste. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      The first I made this Banana Bread, I was visiting my family and wanted to make something special for breakfast. Although my addition of chocolate chips, vanilla and nutmeg wrinkle noses at first, they polished it off with gusto! This is a WONDERFUL Banana Bread! The Best in my book! Thanks Scott!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      Outstanding results with this one. I use 3 parts Splenda and I part granulated sugar, and a combination of rice, spelt and whole wheat flours. This last time I threw in some walnuts and raisins, and I lined my loaf tin with parchment paper. I think that made it a moister loaf than I've gotten before. Also, with my choice of flours, my loaf is a bit crumbly, but I love the flavour and texture and it's a big hit with DH. I bake this at 350F for 35 - 40 mins. This is the 'little black dress' of banana loaves, simple but classic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      I had no luck with this recipe either. Even my husband didn't like it. I can't quite pinpoint what was missing but it was quite dry and didn't have a banana flavor at all. I reviewed the recipe again to make sure I didn't miss anything. I chose not to review it since others have found it to be a good recipe. I guess not every recipe will suit every family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      This is yummy banana bread! I made 12 regular sized muffins, and 9 mini muffins. I added 1 t. vanilla extract and about 2/3 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips. Very yummy and moist... thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      Delicious taste with applesauce instead of butter! Great treat or snack. The whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      Good banana bread!! I used the sour cream in mine, had to get rid of the end of my container. Next time I make this I'll add walnuts, I think it'd then make it 5 stars from me :) I've had this bread for breakfast the past week with butter on top - yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      Great recipe! The thing I like most is that it's not too sweet; but not bland either...it's just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      Oh forgot to include... added: 1/2 tsp cinnamon dash of nutmeg also reduced time by 10 to 15 min (due to w/w flour substitution)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      I love the texture of this banana bread. I used castor sugar and that helped make it even more light and fluffy. I also added a handful of chocolate chips! I like in the UK and have a fan oven and found many things from the US just don't cook right in it -- too dry, under/overdone, etc. But this turned out perfectly - better than the banana bread recipe in my copy of Joy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      Delicious. My kids and I ate half the loaf as soon as it came out of the oven. I used French Vanilla coffee creamer in place of the sour cream and it worked out fine. This bread is moist and flavorful...and I especially like that it does not contain a lot of grease. (not that I don't smother it with butter before eating!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2004

      I made one batch yesterday and it was a big hit in the family. The only comment was, its not moist enough. I'm not sure if i cooked it too long (i made muffins instead of bread) or i need to put more milk in it. Oh well, this is a recipe definitely for keeps

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      First time I ever made banana bread and I'll definitely be making it again soon. The only problem is that bananas go so quickly in this house that there is hardly ever any that are very, very ripe. I used 1/2 muscovado sugar and 1/2 light sugar (sugar mixed with suger substitute). I also added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. Delicious!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2004

      This came out great. I added a touch of nutmeg. There was a bit of a raw sugar taste right out of the oven though thinking of substituting some brown sugar or adding a smidge of vanilla next time =) The sugar taste was mellowed by the next morning and perfect for packing in lunches without being super sticky and messy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2004

      After going through Hurricane Frances here in FL. we were looking for the ultimate comfort food. The banana nut bread was fabulous. We added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup walnuts. It was polished off in about 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.3
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    14%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 28.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 285.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 22.9 g
    91%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes