25 Reviews

What a faaaabulous recipe. I chose this one because of the little amount of butter required. I opted for the milk instead of the sour cream...can only imagine it´s even better with sour cream (likcing lips). I live in Spain where the flour is different, and I haven´t had the best of luck texture-wise baking mom´s best this and mom´s best that...until today. What can I say, it was everything banana bread should be.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura in Spain January 21, 2004

This was awesome. We loved it, very moist and flavorful. Thanks so much, I will make this one again and again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vamy October 08, 2003

Based on other reviews, I made a bunch of changes. I think it's a great base recipe that you can change to suit your needs. That said, I made the following changes:
- reduced sugar to 1/2 cup
- added 1 tspn vanilla and extra tablespoon of milk to liquids
- added 1/2 tspn cinnamon to flour
- folded in about 1/3 cup of choco chips

This was on the drier side for a quick bread, but is so so tasty! I am very happy with the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laughing in the Kitchen January 13, 2011

I added an extra banana and a bit more milk after reading reviews. Result was a very moist and delicious banana bread without a lot of fat. I also added nuts and chocolate chips. This is a great recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Havveleh January 06, 2011

Very good, thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristiina November 25, 2008

It was a very nice recipe. I found it a little dry, though, so next time I will add more sour cream, and probably another banana to increase the banana taste. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2cook101 August 31, 2007

The first I made this Banana Bread, I was visiting my family and wanted to make something special for breakfast. Although my addition of chocolate chips, vanilla and nutmeg wrinkle noses at first, they polished it off with gusto! This is a WONDERFUL Banana Bread! The Best in my book! Thanks Scott!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B December 14, 2006

Outstanding results with this one. I use 3 parts Splenda and I part granulated sugar, and a combination of rice, spelt and whole wheat flours. This last time I threw in some walnuts and raisins, and I lined my loaf tin with parchment paper. I think that made it a moister loaf than I've gotten before. Also, with my choice of flours, my loaf is a bit crumbly, but I love the flavour and texture and it's a big hit with DH. I bake this at 350F for 35 - 40 mins. This is the 'little black dress' of banana loaves, simple but classic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues November 10, 2006

I had no luck with this recipe either. Even my husband didn't like it. I can't quite pinpoint what was missing but it was quite dry and didn't have a banana flavor at all. I reviewed the recipe again to make sure I didn't miss anything. I chose not to review it since others have found it to be a good recipe. I guess not every recipe will suit every family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy January 04, 2006

This is yummy banana bread! I made 12 regular sized muffins, and 9 mini muffins. I added 1 t. vanilla extract and about 2/3 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips. Very yummy and moist... thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtly May 17, 2005
Banana Bread