8 Reviews

This is the best banana bread, I am saving this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Corigliano December 06, 2010

Very rich and moist! I subbed Splenda for half of the sugar. I used buttermilk powder (I buy it in a tub) and water. Great flavor. Because of the butter, this is a little too high in fat to be my regular banana bread, but as a special treat, it will be made again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here May 17, 2009

I had buttermilk and ripe banana's to use up, so this recipe was calling my name. The taste is great and texture is just right... its only about 2 inches thick. I think next time I'd use mini bread pans to help these loaves appear a little larger

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI December 15, 2008

The bread has a very good taste and good texture. I did only 1 loaf. And I used margarine. It said 3/4 cup of sugar for half the recipe and I used 1/2 cup (perfect, not too sweet). I used 1/2 tsp of baking powder (same amount of baking soda). It didn't rise more than the photo here. So maybe we can omit it, it won't change a thing LOL I omitted the nuts. Thanks Lainey. Made for 123 hit wonders

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 23, 2008

This was a wonderful tasting banana bread!!! I cut the ingredients in half and just made one loaf of bread. It was a great breakfast this morning, still warm from the oven. Thanks Lainey for a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 August 01, 2007

This review is yet more proof of the old adage that *all is well that ends well* Having only 1 loaf pan, I made a half recipe as written & used pecans instead of walnuts. In light of the prior review & w/the wide range cooking time, I watched it closely & it tested done at 1 hr. As you know & to my surprise, there was very little rise to the bread, if at all. Our shared discussion brought to light that baking powder was accidentally left out of the recipe when entered. All that said, it has a lovely flavour, DH & I enjoyed eating it despite its sml stature & I encourage further tries of this now corrected & tasty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis April 18, 2007

This is a delicious and moist banana bread with great flavor. I've made it several times already and I've gotten two nice big loaves out of it. It is really so easy. Instead of buttermilk, I usually add a tablespoon of vinegar and milk to make the 1/2 cup and let it sit while I make the rest of the batter. This is a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harley39 April 18, 2007

This is an outstanding banana bread. It is nice and moist and flavorful. I did undercook it a bit and it fell, so no photos this time. Next time I will be sure it is done before I take it out of the oven! Seriously--one of the best banana breads I have tried so far.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W November 27, 2006
Banana Bread