42 Reviews

Brilliant banana bread! So moist and full of banana flavour. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and used 2/3 cup of brown sugar (instead of the white sugar) and it turned out fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brittney_B January 25, 2008

it's perfect

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yours Brittly October 14, 2007

This is very tasty, but doesn't hold up well to slicing, and is somewhat like cake instead of banana bread. I did use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and I added 1/2 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 tsp salt. I think the chocolate chips could have been the culprit in making this not such a banana bread texture. The flavor is absolutely delicious though! The instructions are very easy, but I think next time I make this, I might try combining all the wet ingredients in the bowl, and then mixing the dry ingredients in a separate bowl and then folding them together, like you usually do with quick breads, to see if that would make this less dense and more like banana bread. The top started to get quite dark at 50 minutes, but it wasn't done in the center, so I reduced the heat to 300 and baked it another 10 minutes. It was done then. After I took it out, I let it sit in the pan for a bit, and when I went back to take it out of the pan, it wasn't as tall as it was when I first took it out. So reducing the heat may have been the reason it was more dense, I'm not sure. I used a 9.25 x 5.25 x 2.75 inch pan. Darn, I'll just have to try this delicious recipe again to get it just right. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiemaker June 11, 2007

I made this as directed and though it was great - tasty and easy. I made it again and added 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 cup Ghiradelli sweet chocolate powder and 1/2 cup toasted chopped walnuts and that came out great also. Great recipe to springboard from because it's so simple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarielC March 20, 2007

I've made this recipe twice so far. It's really tasty and comes out very moist, but in my opinion does need the addition of a little salt, I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg. I doubled the recipe this time and got 3 standard size loaves. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkinniFries February 10, 2007

I received these in a cookie swap with Goochie137 and they are very moist and tasty!! She bundled them up in little mini-loaves and I've frozen several of them to pull out for quick & easy breakfasts with the kids!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TnuSami January 14, 2007

I had some ripe bananas to use up, and I went looking for a banana bread recipe. I picked this one because it didn't have oil in it, and 1/4 cup butter isn't all that bad. And it didn't have salt. I'm rating this one ease, due to the fact I won't be trying it due to being very strict with my eating. I had everything in the house, and it went together in the 5 minutes stated. I did bake these in the micro mini loaf pans. I lined the pan with paper liners and I baked them for only 30 minutes. I then wrapped them and tied them with a bow. Thank you for posting your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right January 03, 2007

This recipe turned out perfectly! I made a few changes, though. I added 1/2 tsp salt as others had suggested. Also, to make it on the lighter side, I used 1/3 cup Brummel and Brown spread instead of 14 cup butter, and I used 1/2 cup Splenda blend for baking instead of 1 cup sugar. I mistakingly added 1 tsp baking powder instead of 1/2 tsp. I noticed my error after I had already added the baking powder so it was too late. I baked it for 45 minutes at 350 and it was perfect! Incredible taste and absolutely perfect consistency. I'll use this recipe again and again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellimacleo July 15, 2006

After looking at several banana bread recipes, I chose this one to try because it doesn't ask for salt and has less butter/fat than many similar recipes. I made it exactly as written and it is very good. Then I made it again and added 1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts and 2 TBSP lemon zest. That variation also was good but I think that I used too much lemon zest, as it overpowered the banana flavor. (So 1 TBSP to 1 1/2 TBSP would be better.) I think this is the recipe I will use from now on, with or without variations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lianna Banana June 25, 2006
Banana Bread