Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2008

      Brilliant banana bread! So moist and full of banana flavour. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and used 2/3 cup of brown sugar (instead of the white sugar) and it turned out fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      it's perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

    • on June 11, 2007

      This is very tasty, but doesn't hold up well to slicing, and is somewhat like cake instead of banana bread. I did use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and I added 1/2 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 tsp salt. I think the chocolate chips could have been the culprit in making this not such a banana bread texture. The flavor is absolutely delicious though! The instructions are very easy, but I think next time I make this, I might try combining all the wet ingredients in the bowl, and then mixing the dry ingredients in a separate bowl and then folding them together, like you usually do with quick breads, to see if that would make this less dense and more like banana bread. The top started to get quite dark at 50 minutes, but it wasn't done in the center, so I reduced the heat to 300 and baked it another 10 minutes. It was done then. After I took it out, I let it sit in the pan for a bit, and when I went back to take it out of the pan, it wasn't as tall as it was when I first took it out. So reducing the heat may have been the reason it was more dense, I'm not sure. I used a 9.25 x 5.25 x 2.75 inch pan. Darn, I'll just have to try this delicious recipe again to get it just right. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I made this as directed and though it was great - tasty and easy. I made it again and added 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 cup Ghiradelli sweet chocolate powder and 1/2 cup toasted chopped walnuts and that came out great also. Great recipe to springboard from because it's so simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      I've made this recipe twice so far. It's really tasty and comes out very moist, but in my opinion does need the addition of a little salt, I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg. I doubled the recipe this time and got 3 standard size loaves. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I received these in a cookie swap with Goochie137 and they are very moist and tasty!! She bundled them up in little mini-loaves and I've frozen several of them to pull out for quick & easy breakfasts with the kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      I had some ripe bananas to use up, and I went looking for a banana bread recipe. I picked this one because it didn't have oil in it, and 1/4 cup butter isn't all that bad. And it didn't have salt. I'm rating this one ease, due to the fact I won't be trying it due to being very strict with my eating. I had everything in the house, and it went together in the 5 minutes stated. I did bake these in the micro mini loaf pans. I lined the pan with paper liners and I baked them for only 30 minutes. I then wrapped them and tied them with a bow. Thank you for posting your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      This recipe turned out perfectly! I made a few changes, though. I added 1/2 tsp salt as others had suggested. Also, to make it on the lighter side, I used 1/3 cup Brummel and Brown spread instead of 14 cup butter, and I used 1/2 cup Splenda blend for baking instead of 1 cup sugar. I mistakingly added 1 tsp baking powder instead of 1/2 tsp. I noticed my error after I had already added the baking powder so it was too late. I baked it for 45 minutes at 350 and it was perfect! Incredible taste and absolutely perfect consistency. I'll use this recipe again and again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      After looking at several banana bread recipes, I chose this one to try because it doesn't ask for salt and has less butter/fat than many similar recipes. I made it exactly as written and it is very good. Then I made it again and added 1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts and 2 TBSP lemon zest. That variation also was good but I think that I used too much lemon zest, as it overpowered the banana flavor. (So 1 TBSP to 1 1/2 TBSP would be better.) I think this is the recipe I will use from now on, with or without variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      This bread was soo moist & delicious. I did add choc chips, walnuts & 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice for a little added touch. Baked for 50 minutes & it was perfect. :Yummy:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      I did something interesting here. I added a thawed bag of Trader Joe's pineapple and about a cup of pecans. I also threw in a pinch of salt. This makes it like a hummingbird cake with banana. The taste is divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      Great recipe, added 1/2 tsp of salt. instead of making the loaf i made a dozen muffins for portion control...yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      Added a 1/4 teaspoon of salt and about a cup and half of tasted pecans. Pretty good. I chose this recipe because it only called for one egg, most ask for 2. This was not a fluffy loaf but a flavorful one nonetheless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2004

      Great flavour, quick and easy. Lovely and moist the way we like it. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      This was a great recipe. I also added some salt, and next time i'll add some walnuts. I divided the batter into three mini-loaf pans, which took about 40 mins to bake. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      I am eating this bread as I type!! It is a very good banana bread recipe- but..... the recipe should include 1/2 a teaspoon of salt. I added that and it tastes great. Another trick for optimal banana bread: The more brown/ripe the banana, the more moist and flavorful the bread! If your banana peel has some mold on it- don't throw it away!! It doesn't affect the taste of the bread and isn't harmful either. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      This bread was so EASY to make and very tasty! I added some chocolate chips for taste and fun. I definately recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      Nice texture and moistness. I added chopped pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2002

      Gotta add the walnuts and you got it right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.9
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    21%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 240.7 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 30.5 g
    122%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites