98 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've tried this recipe and another Best Banana Bread but this one is better: very flavorful. I had to cut back on the butter because the bananas supply a good deal of moisture for the bread. So no need for the 1/2 cup. Luckily, I have tons of over ripe bananas stored in the freezer. If I want to make this out of the blue again, I'll have plenty of bananas to bake with. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Veganista October 26, 2009

Since I have used this recipe, I'll never use another! Moist and full of flavor and my family gobbles it up! I do on occasion add chocolate chips and it's even better! I've gotten "definitely a keeper" Mom, from my kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawna0225 October 14, 2009

Beuatiful! And it seems relatively easy! Thanks for the recipe! The family is going to enjoy this one... xoxo BK Crew

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bitchin' Kitchen October 02, 2009

A very good recipe. The lemon zest adds a nice subtle flavor to the bread. My mother in law loved this bread. I'll be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef busy bee October 02, 2009

Best Banana Bread i have ever tried by far. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crickett Mama October 01, 2009

Really good! I left out the zest and nuts. It was soft and delicious. Still a heavy bread, but was lighter and softer than the banana bread my mom would make when I was a kid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starglowfading September 24, 2009

Yummy! i added 1/4 teaspoon of cardamom, also

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
THERESA W. September 21, 2009

This was extremely good. It was the perfect texture, very moist and fluffy and didn't turn soggy the next day. I'd give it 4.5 stars. I think it was missing something. I think I'll add 1 tsspn. vanilla next time. I left out the almonds and lemon, and used pecan pieces instead. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fofi August 30, 2009

Amazing! I replaced the allspice with cinnimon, and left out the lemon and nuts, and it was so good! My family ate it in less than 12 hours, we couldn't even wait for it to cool. It took a full hour and ten minutes for it to bake in my oven, but I was using a glass pan. I ended up having to cover it in tin foil so that the top didn't burn before the middle baked. It was great though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blackhorse13 August 27, 2009

I tried this recipe today and it was AMAZING! I didnt have a lemon and also omited the almonds... and it was STILL the best banana bread that I have had! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smithmom77 August 24, 2009
Banana Bread