98 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i just love this recipe because all of the spices and the zest compliment the banana flavor in a way i never would have thought of. it's so unique and so tasty. i usually substitute low-fat plain yogurt for about half or a little less than half of the butter with great results, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweet tooth 23 January 26, 2010

Very tasty! This recipe's a keeper. Nice texture and nice combination of flavors. I used pumpkin pie spice (only thing I had on hand) and added some choc chips. Next time, will try some of the other variations suggested by other reviewers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TwoManyDogs January 23, 2010

Beautiful presentation. Had some nuts left over from another recipe and a couple of dying bananas just screaming to be made into a banana bread. I didn't have as much banana as the recipe called for so I added some applesauce to make up the difference. I did not use the lemon zest as I didn't have any but would definitely do so next time. I think this would also be a great base for other types of quick bread. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gadgetman0404 December 26, 2009

This banana bread turned out great! The outside is nicely crusted with a soft tender inside. I omitted the nuts and added mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, a nice variation.Thanks for the good base recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pastry Chef Tiger Lily December 09, 2009

So very excellent. I don't even care for baked goods most times but this bread is easy to make, turns out as pretty as a picture each time and tastes wonderful. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellllie November 29, 2009

Love this!! Best banana bread recipe. Hate the overly oily kind normally found, this was perfect. I did switch pecans for the almonds though and used fresh ground spices to optimize the flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shrrley November 29, 2009

Really good banana bread! I didn't use the lemon zest and used only 2 bananas so it wouldn't have an overwhelming banana taste. Even my picky daughter loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 963993 November 28, 2009

Loved this recipe! The spices give a wonderful flavor and the texture delightful. I didn't have the almonds this time but will when I make this for the holidays.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyM #3 November 15, 2009

The zest gives an extra flavor that makes this bread special. I didn't have any ginger so next time I will add that. I used lime instead of lemon because I have lime trees and am always needing to find ways to use them. I also had some walnuts so used that in place of the almonds but it was still great. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gammy in tx November 11, 2009

I make this all the time. I think my family puropsfully waits for the bananas to start turning so that I have to make it. Anyone who has had it loves this banana bread. Thank you for sharing the recepe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aggiesyummies October 29, 2009
Banana Bread