98 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a very good recipe. I did not use nuts. I used true lemon crystals for lemon zest. I also used pumpkin pie spice in place of the spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rabia December 23, 2010

This was my first time making banana bread. It turned out pretty good. It's moist and tasty. I did make a few changes to the recipe. I only had 3 bananas and I didn't have any allspice. I really didn't want to use lemon zest, so I left it out. As I mixed the batter, it looked pretty dry to me, so I took a leap of faith and added about 1/3 cup of egg nog. (It's the holidays!) Like other reviewers, I did not bake it for over an hour. 45-50 minutes max. It's crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, as other reviewers have mentioned. If I need to make banana bread again, I will more than likely use this recipe. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agiolam December 21, 2010

Super scrumptious!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayla Mae December 09, 2010

Fantastic, easy recipe - definitely a crowd pleaser;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie1980 November 20, 2010

I liked the flavours of this recipe, but this was WAY too dry. I'd made muffins instead of bread, and I didn't have allspice. I also only used 3 bananas. They were crunchy on the outside and very brown. I baked them for an hour like the recipe suggested and next time I'll bake them for a shorter amount of time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oranges&lemons June 18, 2010

WOW!! I lost my original banana bread recipe so decided to try this one... THANK HEAVENS I loose things! This is AWESOME!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shutterbug 5466 May 25, 2010

Very Good!! My first time making banana bread. I added ginger and cinnamon powder. I did not have any allspice or nutmeg with me. And also added a lot of almond meal, walnuts and lemon zest. I also did not have any baking soda, so I added 2-1/2 tsp baking powder instead of 2 tsp. So fluffy and yummy, and great with butter. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sangeetha May 14, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe! I made the recipe as is for one loaf. Then, turned around and made another loaf adding a half a cup of cranberries. Also delicious! There are so many varieties to make it your own. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim in Anthem April 09, 2010

the reviews are correct! This IS the best banana bread on the planet! I freeze the loaf then slice off a couple of slices at a time. heaven in the morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesliebriganti March 22, 2010

Great recipe. I used Whole Wheat flour instead and it was heavenly. Spread some peanut butter on there, amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spak March 13, 2010
Banana Bread