98 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome! I used some VERY RIPE (black) bananas that had been in my freezer and was happy with how well it turned out. I make it in 2 smaller loaf pans and baked for about 40 minutes and plan and giving 1 to the new neighbor. I used 1/4 tsp. of lemon peel (from my spice rack) since I didn't have any fresh lemons on hand. Like others, I also added about a tsp. of vanilla, just because :-) Definitely a keeper and I will make it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sfuchs82 January 06, 2011

Absolutely Delicious! I used less flour in mine and added quick oats (1/4 cup) to add a little bit more nutritional value but other than that I followed the recipe to a "T" and it's fantastic! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
952496 May 30, 2010

Very good! Crisp outside and soft inside. I substituted 1/4 cup oats for 1/4 cup of the flour and did not use the almonds or lemon zest. Mine was a little overdone after being in for an hour, so I'd bake it for less, probably 50-55 minutes. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amydietrichmark December 01, 2010

I forgot to butter the pan, lol, but for the giant lump of yumminess extracted onto the plate, 5 stars. I added cinnamon, omitted the lemon zest, and used a combination of brown sugar splenda/splenda/regular sugar, and half wheat flour half white. Oh, and I also added 1/4 tsp almond extract (didn't actually have nuts on hand). I don't even like banana bread usually, but this is ammaaazzzing, and I can not stop eating it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cwoolbright October 07, 2010

DELISH!! I made muffins out of mine... added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and pressed a little brown sugar on top of each muffin before baking. Baked for 22 minutes. Thanks for an awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VerucaSalt October 20, 2009

yummy,I didnt have much time so i baked muffins instead ,20 min.,they came out perfect,i also had to add a pear cause i didnt have enough bananas.thanks for the recipee ikadlec!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesa de fresa March 01, 2008

OMG...Best banana bread I've ever eaten! So moist, so banana, so good! I made this to use for banana bread French toast, but I don't think there will be any left! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover May 25, 2013

amazing. the ginger and lemon zest and almond - perfection. made muffins, baked 20ish minutes. next time will add a topping from one of other comments. thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ripskintinkle September 13, 2012

This was fantastic! My fiance said it was as good as his grandmother's banana bread :) I didn't put any lemon in it as I didn't have any. I also omitted the nuts, just a personal preference. For the sugar, I used the 3/4 c. however, I lessed 1 tbsp. of the white sugar and added 1 tbsp. of brown sugar. I baked mine for 1 hr. exactly and it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mintara December 04, 2011

Great recipe - I'm chef on a charter boat and I always get good reviews with this recipe. I have both glass and teflon pans - comes out easier from the teflon as I've lost the bottom a couple of times in the glass pan. Have also made muffins when I need a quicker baking time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rooster 1 July 31, 2011
Banana Bread