Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2002

      I made this recipe on the weekend. It was great. I used butter shortening. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2002

      I have been looking for that banana bread recipe that would take me back to my grandma's kitchen. i found it!!This recipe is so simple , my 9 year old son loves to make it for friend , family and his teachers .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2002

      I agree with Melou on the temp, it should be 350 F not 325 F. I also agree with the other chef that used the butter flavored shortening. It makes it flavorful and moist :-) I've made this recipe three times now so it's the one I go to now :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2002

      This did not come out well for me at all. I had made it into muffins. They were dry and bland. I had wanted to try something new. I think I'll stick to the recipe I had. The prep was about the same, but mine has some oil in it, and a touch of corn syrup. It envelopes the banana flavor more, and makes it moister. Marianna U. Kretschmer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2002

      I think the temperature is off by 25 degrees. It probably should be 350 not 325. I ruined 4 loafs before trying the higher temp and that time it worked great. I did check the temp on my oven with an oven thermometer before submitting this (it's brand new anyway, better not be off) so I wouldn't find out I was an idiot. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      LOVE it! I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup, added an extra banana, and subbed oil for the shortening. PERFECT!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      I used butter shortening and the results were FABULOUS! I've searched high and low for a good go to banana bread recipe and this is it. Thanks so much for sharing this. It will be a family staple from now on. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I made banana bread for the first time and used this recipe. I'm so glad I did! Very moist and flavorful. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      Love it! I've made it several times and my picky husband even like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      so yummy and moist!!! and easy to make, love that it had no special ingredients involved...will be making this again for su re. I used becel in place of shorteing as that's all I had and it turned out great. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      This was so delicious. I used 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and also grated some nutmeg into it. Very rich and flavorful! Oh I also used pecans. I would use this recipe again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Amazing! Ive looked everywhere for a good banana bread recipe and they either never turn out or are to hard. This is more of a cakey banana bread which is exactly what I was looking for! Thank you so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      This bread is DELICIOUS. I gave half of the loaf I made to a friend, who said she polished it off in one sitting because it was so good. I think next time I will put chocolate chips in it... I am waiting on some bananas to ripen right now so I can make more! Thank you for this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      SUPER easy to make and tastes GREAT!!! I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      This is a really good banana bread. I have dayhome kids will dairy/soy allergies. I used butter flavored Crisco. They ate most of the loaf. It will be in the dayhome approved cookbook to use again. Thanks a bunch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      A moist, dense and great tasting banana bread. I added some sweetened dried cranberries for extra taste and color. Thanks Tom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      This most closely resembles the recipe that my mother used to make. My BF and I both love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      This was amazingly..Perfect. I will make this from now on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Like many others on here have said..... "My search for the perfect banana bread is over"!!!!! The texture is wonderful... not too dense, but holds together well, great flavor, perfect sweetness..... just wonderful, and easy to make too! I made this with 1/2 C. white and 1/2 C. brown sugar, and 1/2 C. of the flour whole wheat, and omitted the walnuts, and I baked it in a bunt pan for 30 min. PERFECT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      I've tried many banana bread recipes, including many from this site, but this is truly the best! Superior in texture and taste, this will be the only recipe I use for banana bread from now on. We prefer a tender, not too dense, not too moist banana bread and this fit the bill perfectly. I had heard from relatives that shortening made a better bread than butter, so I sought out this recipe that proved them correct. I am anxious to perhaps use a butter flavored shortening to see what that may do to the taste, but it really isn't needed. I would say however, if you have very very overripe bananas, you may want to cut back slightly on the sugar. Other than that, the recipe is perfect as is and my husband, who isn't a fan of banana bread, declared this one the best I had ever made. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 385.9
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    40%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 243.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 30.6 g
    122%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes