Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Bars

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2010

      Me and My mom loved it. I love both version...I love the original recipe and my low fat version also :) I decided to play with the recipe a little bit, I made it low fat.
      I used 1/4 cup sugar, 2 Tablespoon vegetable oil 4 Tablespoon applesauce, 1 egg and everything else the same. I baked it in 8inch square pan. It was very moist and yummy. It tasted just like banana bread! I left out the frosting too :)
      Thanks Lavender Lynn for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Excellent! Even my DH who claimed he didn't like banana baking loved this. I had to make him say he liked banana baking before he had a 3rd piece. I think next time I make it I'll use an 8in square pan that way the bars are a little thicker. For the icing I only used 1 cup of icing sugar instead of 2 and it was still quite sweet but spreadable. *UPDATE* I doubled the recipe in a 9x13in pan to make more of a cake instead of a bar and it turned out great! Baked for 55 mins

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Oh Lynn, these bars are truly fab! We ate a bunch even before I got to frost them. Truly, you can eat these without the frosting.....even though I did frost the uneaten bars. I loved the way the bars rose uniformly. Perfect. Scrumptious. My favorite banana dessert recipe thus far!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      I decided to lighten this recipe a bit. I doubled the batch and baked it in a jelly roll pan for 30 minutes. I used 1 c. sugar, 1/2 c. oil and added 1/2 cup applesauce to replace the other half of the oil. I made the frosting as printed and spread thinly on the bars when cooled. They turned out wonderful. Not so sweet and with less fat. If you want to reduce the fat more, use 2 egg whites in place of each whole egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      WOW, WOW, WOW!! What a great recipe! I used this on a catering platter and got rave reviews from all. This recipe doubles, triples and even quadruples nicely, which works great for serving a crowd. It yeilds a dense, flavourful square that has the consistency of a brownie. Very simple to make, which also scores high points with me. This will be on my regular catering rotation, which speaks volumes of how much we loved this recipe. Thanks Lynn! Made for Aussie Swap :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      I love this... I usually don't have more than 2 bananas that get over ripe and this recipe is perfect and does not take that long to bake like the banana breads do... Also very yummy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      sally got this recipe from billie oakey in 1-27-87 hers didnt have frosting but did have 1/2 cup nuts thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Loved this recipe!V ery moist and had great flavor. I really liked the frosting, I used less powdered sugar than called for (about 1 1/2 cups). Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      These are very good and flavorful banana bars. I made exactly as stated. I really like the frosting with this recipe. Very good and the cream cheese flavor is not too overwhelming. I did chill the bars, but I like the taste of them at room temperature. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Very moist, delicious flavor. I used flax as an egg replacer and my bars were very thin, but the flavor was just excellent. They're very sweet, could probably cut the sugar by 1/4 cup. I will double the recipe when I make these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Very good! A nice change from banana bread and the bar concept makes them perfect for serving at a party. I made them to serve at a brunch for dessert yesterday. I thought they were very good and they were VERY moist (I find that oil is key in these baking recipes). I made the recipe as written, although I only used 1 cup of sugar in the frosting (as I found it plenty sweet). Next time I will add chopped walnuts to the bars. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Made these to take to a BB game! Everyone of them sold! Thanks for the great recipe. I doubled it for a jellyroll sized pan. I also followed the advice on the powdered sugar frosting, cutting that back to taste. Thanks !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      What wonderful bars/cakes. I did what a couple other did -- I doubled the batter part of the recipe, but kept the frosting the same. I had about 8 bananas that were on the brink of going in the garbage -- so wanted to use them all. I added a teaspoon of nutmeg, a cup of finely chopped walnuts and about a cup of chopped dates. It turned out sooo good. I think the ripper the bananas, the better the bars are. I also did not use 2 cups of the powdered sugar -- maybe just a tad over 1 1/2 cups. I also used Splenda for the sugar in the batter and it worked great. I will never throw away overly ripe bananas again!!! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2014

      These are so soft and yummy. My family ate all of the bars before I could even imagine to frost them. I had to make another pan. These are absolute must.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      I made this with a few modifications to make it healthier. I used 4 egg whites instead of the 2 eggs recommended. I used splenda for the sugar and I replaced the oil with half a cup of apple sauce. I also used a bread pan so that I would get thicker pieces. The results were amazing! Even with these modifications these treats were moist and very satisfying. I remade these 4 times in one week!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      so I made this recipe and the best thing I did was add a little bit of banana to the cream cheese mixer. Banana flavored Cream cheese icing. I also added a little more banana and the cream cheese I used was completely fat free. Not that I was making it fat free, its just that cream cheese is nasty alone and I used the whole 8 ounces... I love this recipe even if I am 3 years late!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      Wow! This is a really delicious recipe and a breeze to make. I'm a little scared to be left home alone with these. DH was in heaven and commented that this was the best banana cake he has ever had, I have made several.. I did use two bananas, but they were really large, so I think it may have been more than a cup. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe, I know it will be making it regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      This is an awesome banana bar! Like other reviewers, I substituted applesauce for some of the butter, used half white sugar and half raw. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 pan for about 35 minutes. Since the size was the same, we didn't double the icing recipe, and even reduced the powdered sugar to about a cup. It was more than enough to cover the bars, it was very spreadable and GOOD!!! Thanks, Lavender Lynn, for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      I really like banana cake and these are WAY better! I haven't even frosted them yet, and they are delicious. I'm sure the cream cheese frosting will put them completely over the top! I thought the thickness was just perfect. They are after all, a bar cookie, and not a cake. If you want a banana cake, then find a recipe for it. I have baked about 100 banana bread recipes that really don't do anything for me. I'm giving up on bread, who needs it with these little gems? Lavender Lynn, thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      Love banana bars, and these do not disappoint. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (47 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.6
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    39%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 26.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 105.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes