33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Me and My mom loved it. I love both version...I love the original recipe and my low fat version also :) I decided to play with the recipe a little bit, I made it low fat.
I used 1/4 cup sugar, 2 Tablespoon vegetable oil 4 Tablespoon applesauce, 1 egg and everything else the same. I baked it in 8inch square pan. It was very moist and yummy. It tasted just like banana bread! I left out the frosting too :)
Thanks Lavender Lynn for the great recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowwai August 18, 2010

Excellent! Even my DH who claimed he didn't like banana baking loved this. I had to make him say he liked banana baking before he had a 3rd piece. I think next time I make it I'll use an 8in square pan that way the bars are a little thicker. For the icing I only used 1 cup of icing sugar instead of 2 and it was still quite sweet but spreadable. *UPDATE* I doubled the recipe in a 9x13in pan to make more of a cake instead of a bar and it turned out great! Baked for 55 mins

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 April 25, 2010

WOW, WOW, WOW!! What a great recipe! I used this on a catering platter and got rave reviews from all. This recipe doubles, triples and even quadruples nicely, which works great for serving a crowd. It yeilds a dense, flavourful square that has the consistency of a brownie. Very simple to make, which also scores high points with me. This will be on my regular catering rotation, which speaks volumes of how much we loved this recipe. Thanks Lynn! Made for Aussie Swap :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ October 08, 2009

Oh Lynn, these bars are truly fab! We ate a bunch even before I got to frost them. Truly, you can eat these without the frosting.....even though I did frost the uneaten bars. I loved the way the bars rose uniformly. Perfect. Scrumptious. My favorite banana dessert recipe thus far!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ September 22, 2010

I decided to lighten this recipe a bit. I doubled the batch and baked it in a jelly roll pan for 30 minutes. I used 1 c. sugar, 1/2 c. oil and added 1/2 cup applesauce to replace the other half of the oil. I made the frosting as printed and spread thinly on the bars when cooled. They turned out wonderful. Not so sweet and with less fat. If you want to reduce the fat more, use 2 egg whites in place of each whole egg.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eljhrt217 July 15, 2010

I love this... I usually don't have more than 2 bananas that get over ripe and this recipe is perfect and does not take that long to bake like the banana breads do... Also very yummy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef janell December 04, 2010

sally got this recipe from billie oakey in 1-27-87 hers didnt have frosting but did have 1/2 cup nuts thanks for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. March 04, 2010

Loved this recipe!V ery moist and had great flavor. I really liked the frosting, I used less powdered sugar than called for (about 1 1/2 cups). Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2B&B January 07, 2010

These are very good and flavorful banana bars. I made exactly as stated. I really like the frosting with this recipe. Very good and the cream cheese flavor is not too overwhelming. I did chill the bars, but I like the taste of them at room temperature. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 December 31, 2009

Very moist, delicious flavor. I used flax as an egg replacer and my bars were very thin, but the flavor was just excellent. They're very sweet, could probably cut the sugar by 1/4 cup. I will double the recipe when I make these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kokeshi doll December 12, 2009
Banana Bars