873 Reviews

Absolutely wonderful! Best banana bread ever! I had no probs with a gooey inside nor too dark outside. I made 6 mini bundts and 1 loaf from this recipe. I used 6 medium sized bananas. ***TIP*** If you will take your very ripe bananas and freeze them, then thaw them out (the skins will turn black) then the banana flavor increases immensely and they mash up very creamy. :) I had to come back again and add to my post ... do not make the mistake of only making one batch of this yummy treat! I did and now I have none leftover for tomorrow! It is great that everyone raved over it .. but ... but .. *sniff* I wanted some for tomorrow! LOL

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moonchild64 December 28, 2009

This is the most delicious banana bread EVER! I buy extra bananas just so they'll brown up so I can make some of this sumptious treat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcmckeown October 08, 2003

This might just be the best banana bread I've ever had. I have another recipe I really like, but I'd been having problems with the middle not cooking through, so I decided to give this one a try. I'm so glad I did! I didn't have any problems at all. I used 5 very ripe bananas, and it was perfectly done in my oven after only 50 minutes. I'll definitely be making this one again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kree September 29, 2003

I thought I haad been using the best banana bread recipe for years, UNTIL I TRIED THIS! WOW!! After reading a few reviews indicating problems with cooking times, I did make an adjustment by tripling the recipe and putting the batter into 4 pans. It was perfect. In fact, it baked much more evenly that my old standby ever did.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maer123 Rivera September 25, 2003

Why compromise is right! I, too, think the brown sugar adds something special. It was so nice to enjoy a very moist "plain" banana bread - no nuts, no chocolate chips, etc. My kids loved it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou September 15, 2003

This is wonderful bread -- so moist and banana-y! I always add cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves to mine so I did it to this recipe as well. Turned out great. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
znglass September 09, 2003

I had four black bananas and was looking for a loaf recipe when I found this one. I had to add a "non ripe" banana to make up the right amount, but it turned out great! I also threw in a handful of chopped walnuts! The loaf was very moist inside while the outside was just right.. not soggy!! I'll certainly be making this again. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM September 08, 2003

This was good......very "banana" just like the title says...not overly sweet....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina August 20, 2003

kind of silly to place a review when there are a hundred of them saying the same thing, but YUM! my mom is allergic to milk and I was trying to find a nice recipe she could eat. Excellent! She asked me to email her the recipe today. Thank you

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacy Buzzell August 03, 2003

I made this last night and it is hands down the best banana bread I have ever tasted. It is so moist, mine took alot longer than 65 minutes to bake but it was worth the waiting. I did add 1 cup of chopped nuts to mine. Great recipe thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leanne~ June 06, 2003
Banana Banana Bread