865 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! Got rave reviews from my kids, which is really saying something! :)

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brendall July 25, 2002

This was very moist. I made it in a bundt pan and cooked it for 40 minutes. I added the 2t of cinnamon, 1/2t of nutmeg, 1t of vanilla, and sprinked the top with brown sugar and chopped pecans as others suggested. I will make this again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2suzanne June 30, 2010

An absolutely great recipe. I did a few variations with the one batch. I cooked a loaf, and with the excess made mini-banana-bread-muffins, which I put walnuts into. Despite the fat content, this was the absolute best recipe and was absolutely delish with or without the walnuts. Very easy to slice too, which can be a problem with some banana breads. Thanks!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melly Mel April 30, 2003

I really like the flavors in this banana bread. The butter and the brown sugar are a nice change from most recipes I tried.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Wood September 23, 2002

I am often disappointed in the banana breads I try because it lacks true banana flavor. Well, this banana bread was by FAR the BEST banana bread I've ever made! Perfect flavor, great consistency and easy to follow recipe. I did add a Tsp of vanilla and cooked for approx 70 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe! I'm sure to use it again and again and again!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish August 28, 2003

absolutely divine! Wonderful aroma great tasting, moist,and so easy to make banana loaf, cant ask for anything better than that!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* February 10, 2003

I loved this recipe and have made it three times already. It's a great "meet the new neighbor recipe". I always double the recipe and keep a loaf for me. I cook one loaf 65 minutes and the other loaf 60 minutes (I like the middle to be just slightly mushy.) Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penny R December 19, 2002

THE best banana bread .I doubled the recipe and made 2 loaves.Had some the next day and it was still lovely and moist.Will make this often!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
asil October 11, 2002

Love it love it love it!!!!!!!! have made this many times (just getting around to reviewing it), and my family thinks its great! have halved and doubled it, with great results.I have averaged 6 bananas for the 2 & 1/3 cups called for, and the recipe is beautifully moist.
The *only* problem that i have had is that when I have cook it in a traditional loaf pan, 60-65 mins isn't done. I have gotten around that by dropping the temperature to 325,so the top doesn't burn and leaving it in for approximately another 30 mins ( average 90 mins total )..
But my preferance is to just use my mini-loaf pans :) A full recipe fits 6 mini loafs just right, and they are all cooked through and beautifully golden brown in about 50-60 mins ( depends on how often our 12 y/o opens the door, lol ). Muffin tins work well.. i think i had 20 muffins, last time i did that.
Oh, and the poster was absolutly right - it is GREAT toasted...especially with peanut butter.
Thanks for posting!
ETA: five years later, *still* the best banana bread recipe that I have found, and I keep trying new ones.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beakerwill June 18, 2012

This had wonderful flavor! I had defrosted all my frozen bananas and found that I had so many I needed something that took a ton of them. I hypothesized that with this many bananas I wouldn't need all the fat and I was correct. I used half the fat, and since I was almost out of butter I used oil. A fabulous flavor and the kids love it!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit September 26, 2003
Banana Banana Bread