Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    858 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 858

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      Hard to say if this is banana bread or banana pudding, it is so moist and creamy hot out of the oven. I thought I had ruined it since 60-65 minutes is a bit long and mine had turned dark brown after about 45 minutes, but with all that banana in it it was still moist inside while the outside is caramalized. I did a few changes, I used half whole wheat flour/half white flour, a teaspoon of vanilla, plus a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. Definitely good enough to let bananas get over ripe on purpose!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      I made these in muffins tins. This is, hands down, the most incredible banana bread/muffin my family has ever eaten. They're just terrific and will be a regular in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      The bread turned out really moist, because of all that banana. My rough estimation just equated it as 5 bananas. :) And the colour turned out really nice. I added a couple of slices on the top just for a nice visual effect. Also dusted a little bit of cinnamon powder on the warm bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      I already rated this, so I won't do that again. When I don't have enough bananas, I add canned 100% pumpkin to get the desired amount. It doesn't really change the flavor, but it keeps it really moist. And, of course, you have to add mini chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      Since I only had 3 bananas that were overly ripe (and I couldn't wait to try this recipe), I "nuked" 2 non ripened bananas to get the required amount. I'm so glad I did as it was awesome!!! I will be making this again VERY SOON.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2002

      I found this recipe quite good and much prefer using the brown sugar than the white called for in most recipes. My husband took it in his brief case on the plane (since that is probably all he was going to get to eat! Lol) He thanks you too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      Excellent Banana Bread! The flavor was wonderful, the bread dense but moist,and it made a full loaf. Nice dome on the top that didnt crack and explode like lava, and was a lovely golden brown. The only thing that I will add next time is a cup of chopped walnuts-my preference! Thank's so much for sharing this recipe! Di Neal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2002

      Great! Family loves it Have made it twice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      This is very close to the recipe Ive used for years. I have a few tips. I use one bowl only. I store any over-ripe bananas in the freezer, so I always have a generous supply, and when they thaw they are almost liquid (no mashing needed) and FULL of intense banana flavor. I use 4 medium bananas and add them to the creamed butter and sugar. I also add a 1/2 tsp of baking powder. After pouring batter into loaf pan I sprinkle the top with course sugar and bake. The course sugar gives the top a great crunch. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2002

      This didn't last long in our house! Very yummy, very bananay banana bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      Yummy! Got rave reviews from my kids, which is really saying something! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      This was very moist. I made it in a bundt pan and cooked it for 40 minutes. I added the 2t of cinnamon, 1/2t of nutmeg, 1t of vanilla, and sprinked the top with brown sugar and chopped pecans as others suggested. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2003

      An absolutely great recipe. I did a few variations with the one batch. I cooked a loaf, and with the excess made mini-banana-bread-muffins, which I put walnuts into. Despite the fat content, this was the absolute best recipe and was absolutely delish with or without the walnuts. Very easy to slice too, which can be a problem with some banana breads. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      I really like the flavors in this banana bread. The butter and the brown sugar are a nice change from most recipes I tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

      I am often disappointed in the banana breads I try because it lacks true banana flavor. Well, this banana bread was by FAR the BEST banana bread I've ever made! Perfect flavor, great consistency and easy to follow recipe. I did add a Tsp of vanilla and cooked for approx 70 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe! I'm sure to use it again and again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      absolutely divine! Wonderful aroma great tasting, moist,and so easy to make banana loaf, cant ask for anything better than that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2002

      I loved this recipe and have made it three times already. It's a great "meet the new neighbor recipe". I always double the recipe and keep a loaf for me. I cook one loaf 65 minutes and the other loaf 60 minutes (I like the middle to be just slightly mushy.) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2002

      THE best banana bread .I doubled the recipe and made 2 loaves.Had some the next day and it was still lovely and moist.Will make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      Love it love it love it!!!!!!!! have made this many times (just getting around to reviewing it), and my family thinks its great! have halved and doubled it, with great results.I have averaged 6 bananas for the 2 & 1/3 cups called for, and the recipe is beautifully moist.
      The *only* problem that i have had is that when I have cook it in a traditional loaf pan, 60-65 mins isn't done. I have gotten around that by dropping the temperature to 325,so the top doesn't burn and leaving it in for approximately another 30 mins ( average 90 mins total )..
      But my preferance is to just use my mini-loaf pans :) A full recipe fits 6 mini loafs just right, and they are all cooked through and beautifully golden brown in about 50-60 mins ( depends on how often our 12 y/o opens the door, lol ). Muffin tins work well.. i think i had 20 muffins, last time i did that.
      Oh, and the poster was absolutly right - it is GREAT toasted...especially with peanut butter.
      Thanks for posting!
      ETA: five years later, *still* the best banana bread recipe that I have found, and I keep trying new ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2003

      This had wonderful flavor! I had defrosted all my frozen bananas and found that I had so many I needed something that took a ton of them. I hypothesized that with this many bananas I wouldn't need all the fat and I was correct. I used half the fat, and since I was almost out of butter I used oil. A fabulous flavor and the kids love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 43

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.7
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    33%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 51.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 237.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 17.0 g
    68%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites