Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana And/Or Coconut Cream Pie from Scratch Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana And/Or Coconut Cream Pie from Scratch

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2011

      Didn't yield enough dough. Pie never firmed up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      2Bleu, this recipe is a *TRUE BLUE RIBBON* winner! I am usally a grab a Pillsbury ready made crust gal, but decided to follow the instructions exactly and made everything from scratch. I was not disappointed! The filling is absolutely perfect! I made one banana and one coconut. Both were *OUTSTANDING*!!!! The directions are spot on perfect, easy to follow! To anyone in Zaar land, if you're like me and scared to death of making your own crust, this is the pie for you! You won't be disappointed! Don't change a thing! Make exactly as written! You will be happy you did! I did add fresh bananas on the banana pie and toasted coconut on the other. So beautiful! (PRMR Tag)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      This is a great and flavorful pie! I made the coconut-only option because that is my favorite. I added about 1 cup of coconut to the filling because I love a lot of coconut flavor. I did *try* to make the whipped cream topping, but something went wrong for me. The first time I whipped it, I did get soft peaks. However, after I added the extracts and sugar, the peaks collapsed it seems. I tried to salvage it, but I couldn't and I was out of heavy cream. So....I topped the pie with flaked coconut. I will try it again with the whipped cream - sometimes the temperature outside seems to thwart my efforts. But this is delicious regardless and the filling is what really matters! I can't wait to try the banana cream version. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      I used just the filling recipe for banana cream. Wanted a lighter, fluffier pie, so I mixed about 2 heaping tablespoons of whipped topping, then used the rest on top. Other than that, I followed recipe to a T. AWSOME custard recipe. I'll be using this from now on. It's my new best friend!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Used just the banana filling recipe. Was a little too strong, cut it with 2 heaping Tablespoons of cool whip. AWESOME custard recipe. My new best friend!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I made this to take to a New Year's Eve party and it looked and tasted sensational so that here was none to take home. I don't often make sweet pies but the requests to make this again suggest that a New Year's Resolution was made for me ;) and that I shall be making it again in 2009! I made the coconut and banana version. My only changes were to use less water and more lemon juice in the crust - I made sure that the lemon juice was very cold - and to omit the yellow food coloring in the cream topping. The lemony flavour in the crust meant that every part of this pie - from crust to topping - was equally delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this super recipe, 2Bleu! Made for PRMR.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Right from the start I liked the idea of making a banana coconut cream pie! Used the bananas AND the coconut in the filling & the coconut on top as well! You have a great recipe here, & I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS PIE! Was going to make it for company, but when they canceled out, I still made it just for 2 of us, & we devoured more than half of it in one sitting! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      I used my own crust recipe and skipped the topping. My family and I found this to be a real treat! We used our own bananas. I just added about a pinch of cinnamon. I also mashed up some bananas with cream and mixed in so it could have some bites of bananas. I really enjoyed making this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      The filling is outstanding! Doubled the coconut w/o banana and other than that made as posted. Chose to use cool whip so we could enjoy leftovers next day. Made this pastry recipe, followed directions, guessed at water amount. Baked pastry longer, used glass pan. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana And/Or Coconut Cream Pie from Scratch

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 592.9
     
    Calories from Fat 333
    56%
    Total Fat 37.0 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 21.8 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 173.3 mg
    57%
    Sodium 349.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 30.5 g
    122%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes