16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just a tip if you haven't tried it. Slice your bananas in 1/2 " rounds and freeze. When making shakes, after blending ingredients, add the frozen banana slices, and forget the ice! The result is a thicker, richer shake. I also use frozen strawberries, blueberries and peaches, just for shakes. I also find that the powdered dry skim milk, when mixed and cold whips up with more volume than the already prepared skim.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bina 'n SC January 02, 2010

This was a great texture and taste but I think next time I'll amp up the banana and cut back on the chocolate a tad. thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast April 08, 2012

WOW, what a great shake! This is thick, frothy, chocolatey and yummy! Mmm, I just had half the recipe for breakfast and wish I had made the full recipe just for myself. :) YUM!
I used only 10 g of cocoa powder and 10 g of carob powder instead of 40 g cocoa and that was plenty for me. Very chocolatey without any bitterness. I didnt want to have half a banana go to waste, so I threw in the full one. Also I used green tea ice cubes, which added a nice subtle earthyness.
Ill definitely keep on making this shake, it is so satisfying and healthy. I cant wait to tell my sis all about it. :)
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, Pat!
Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag and the fruit event in the Photo Forum July 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 02, 2011

How simple can it get? I used coco powder and added a dash of sugar. Very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby October 13, 2010

Yum! I used a Ghirardelli double chocolate powder and a fresh banana. Simple and good. Thanks Pat for a nice treat. Made for Potluck Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme September 06, 2010

I googled Sustagen Dutch and found that it was nutritional supplement powder, so I am sure it is sweetened. I decided to use cocoa powder and added some sugar to it, used a frozen banana and the milk and it was delicious!! Reminds me of a chocolate covered banana!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Potluck Tag Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 July 14, 2010

Ten Star! Oh boy was this yummy. Read the other reviews before making so used two small bananas that I had cut up in the freezer which made it really cold and thick. Also used Hershey's Dark cocoa powder which is undrinkable with sweetening so added a tablespoon of Splenda brown sugar blend. All I can say is those two small changes made the thickest, richest and yummiest shake we have had in a long time. Not to mention healthier because there is less fat and no ice cream. Thank you Thank you. Will be keeping this and making lots. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl June 11, 2010

With beverages like this one, I almost always use frozen fruit & leaft out the ice since I not only like the frosty chill it gives, but I also enjoy the more intense flavors! This is definitely a great tasting shake, & the more chocolate,the better (for this chocoholic, anyway)! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Went to the Market tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 15, 2010

WOWZERS is this chocolatey! I used Hershey's cocoa powder and next time I will cut it back to 1/4 cup to see how that works. I ended up adding an extra banana and a little Splenda. Fun breakfast shake! THANKS, Pat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 10, 2010

I used 1/4 cup of Nestle cocoa powder. I thought the chocolate was very strong & added some Splenda to sweeten it. I could barely taste the banana so I would suggest adding another one. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh December 21, 2009
Banana and Chocolate Shake