Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baltimore Crab Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baltimore Crab Cakes

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2002

      Well, Donna, it's funny that you are making those comments. I'm from Laurel, just in case you're interested. And maybe the reason you never saw melted butter in a crab cake recipe is very simply because you never saw this recipe before! And, as for the recipe's Maryland authenticity, you might be interested to know that it is a recipe that is made available to the public by Phiilips themselves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      I had a friend from Baltimore visit this weekend, and he claims that you MUST go to Maryland to find the best crab cakes...BOY, did I surprise him when he found them in PA!!! He said these were one of the best crab cakes he has ever eaten!! My whole family agreed. Whether or not they are "authentic", I do not know, as I am not from Maryland. But they taste wonderful, and thats all that matters in my book!! Thanks for a great recipe! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      Millie, this is an excellent recipe. Trying to explain the taste of Baltimore Crab Cakes to my Australian husband wasn't easy. I spent many summers in Ocean City, MD eating crab cakes at The Marina Deck, Phillips, and Reflections at the Sheraton Inn. Trying to replicate the flavor was easy with your wonderful recipe. Thanx a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2002

      I'm from Baltimore, and no recipe have I seen that has melted butter in it for crab cakes. I would omit the butter and add extra bay seasoning. Also Marylanders use moistened bread torn in pieces, not bread crumbs. I think altering this recipe would make it a hit and definitely taste better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      Great tasting Baltimore Crab Cakes. Will be making these from now on. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Crabs cakes are one of my all time favorites and this recipe is definatley not it. There was not enough moisture to keep the cake together and it was very bland tasting. I won't be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      These tasted great, although I did have some problems with them falling apart while frying. 2 of the 4 ended up falling apart and being a mess, but they still tasted great so it wasn't a big deal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      We love crab cakes around here and this one is about as good as you would get anywhere. Just plain excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Excelent! My husband LOVES crab cakes and orders them as appetizers whenever he can. This recipe passed his test well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      These are just so good. I thought the seasoning was just right. I used Italian breadcrumbs and Dijon mustard, which probably added a little extra flavor, but they were wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      My mom & I made these last night for dinner. We did 2 versions: 1-just as recipe calls for; 2-added in finely chopped onion, celery, orange bell pepper. Both ways were delicious!! We served them with the sauce from #96018. I liked the cakes, but for me it's a recipe to make once every few months because it's so rich. We served with a salad and some pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      A hint. Use Phillips Seafood seasoning and if desired up the amount a tad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2005

      We have been catching a lot of dungeness crabs this summer in our crab pots. Lucky us! Usually we just eat them plain, but I wanted something special tonight. We loved these. I added about 1 T of chopped scallions. I felt the crab cakes had a wonderful amount of spice and were not bland at all. I think even if I hadn't added the scallions, they would have been fine. I served these with Mean's Remoulade Sauce #46957. I will make these again many times! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2005

      Sorry Miller, but I'll have to go along with Meridien on this one. I even added some ground red pepper and some scallions, but we thought this was still pretty bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2004

      This was great. I have had the crabcakes at Phillips restaurant. Brought back memories. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2002

      I'm afraid this recipe did nothing for me. Hubby kinda' liked it, but it just wasn't what I expected. Very easy to make and I put more than the specified amount of Old Bay but that didn't help unfortunately.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baltimore Crab Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (170 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.4
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    33%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 163.2 mg
    54%
    Sodium 1179.6 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 26.0 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes