Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic Vinaigrette

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2008

      My favorite dressing to make! Great taste. I usually mix with baby greens, pecans and goat cheese. AWESOME!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      Excellent basic balsamic vinaigrette. I made the recipe exactly as stated, but my virgin olive oil was slightly too "intense" in flavour, and I whisked in a little water (maybe 3 tablespoons). I have wonderful garlic chives which I used in the photo, but didn't want to add it to the dressing, as that would mean the dressing might not keep well, and there's quite a lot left for the two of us. The garlic chives was snipped and used on our greens-tomatoes-sweet-onion salad. The vinaigrette thickened beautifully with whisking. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      Delicious and easy. I made it exactly as described, but without chives since I didn't have any on hand. I served it on a warm goat cheese salad with sauteed pears and spiced pecans. TDF

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      This is an excellent recipe for vinaigrette. I made exactly as directed and will be using this recipe often in my permanent salad dressing rotation! Thanks so much for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      I followed other reviewers' suggestions and only used 1/2 cup of the balsamic. This amount was PERFECT...1 cup would have been WAAAAAY too much! I also omitted the chives so I think this will "stay good" for awhile longer in the fridge (we always add onions to our salads anyway). In addition to eating over salad greens, I poured a bit over some diced tomatoes, onions, and basil for a quick and easy bruschetta. Will definitely make again, though I might cut the sugar in half next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I needed a balsamic vinaigrette for a salad I wanted to make and this one was so easy and quick. It is a nice balance of flavors too. I halved it and we all enjoyed it so much. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      Great dressing, used honey instead of the brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      This is a great basic recipe. Like another reviewer, I used less olive oil, since I like the more acid in my vinaigrettes. I also subbed in a bit of garlic salt. I did not use the chives, but added green onions to the salad. Tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Exceptionally good. I was worried that the mustard taste would be overpowering, but it isn't

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Love this recipe. Out of all the times I've made it, I have never once measured anything exactly. It still turns out really great and everyone wants the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This was a good dressing. I used 1/2 cup oil instead as I thought 1 would be too much and it came out just right for my taste. Next time I might add a little extra sugar (or splenda) to make a touch sweeter. Thanks you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I used this as a marinade for chicken. Turned out very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Not sure if I made this right. I found it to be bland even after I added some garlic. Not sure if chives are the right ingredient to add to this. I may try again and give an update to this review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

    • on April 13, 2007

    • on April 12, 2007

      I love balsamic vinaigrette and this was a good one. The brown sugar was a new ingredient for me in my dressing and it was a good one. Served over romaine lettuce with grated feta - just the way I like it! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      This is a good basic vinaigrette dressing recipe to keep on hand. I liked the addition of chives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      I used this recipe as inspiration but changed the quantities pretty significantly. I use closer to a 2:1 ratio of oil to vinegar. If you use a good quality balsamic, it is not too sharp this way. I also use dried basil and oregano instead of chives. The addition of mustard and brown sugar is what makes this recipe special. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      This is a family favorite. You will never want to buy a store bought balsamic vinaigrette dressing again. Well worth the litle effort to put together. We often pan toast pecans, with butter and brown sugar, to top off the wonderful salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      This was super yummy! I only had 1/8 cup of balsamic vinegar, so I used some Garlic Expressions vinaigrette to make up the difference as the reviews who used some garlic, it was just awsome. Thanx for posting great addition to my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic Vinaigrette

    Serving Size: 1 (13 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 22

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 90.5
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    97%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 32.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites