28 Reviews

My favorite dressing to make! Great taste. I usually mix with baby greens, pecans and goat cheese. AWESOME!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bpet123 June 29, 2008

Simple vinaigrette - followed the recipe. Really, very good. I'm going to serve it over spinach salad with strawberries, raspberries and blueberries. Sometimes the simple things are the best things.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ltemple99 July 02, 2016

Excellent basic balsamic vinaigrette. I made the recipe exactly as stated, but my virgin olive oil was slightly too "intense" in flavour, and I whisked in a little water (maybe 3 tablespoons). I have wonderful garlic chives which I used in the photo, but didn't want to add it to the dressing, as that would mean the dressing might not keep well, and there's quite a lot left for the two of us. The garlic chives was snipped and used on our greens-tomatoes-sweet-onion salad. The vinaigrette thickened beautifully with whisking. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie November 14, 2013

Delicious and easy. I made it exactly as described, but without chives since I didn't have any on hand. I served it on a warm goat cheese salad with sauteed pears and spiced pecans. TDF

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soozaler March 11, 2012

This is an excellent recipe for vinaigrette. I made exactly as directed and will be using this recipe often in my permanent salad dressing rotation! Thanks so much for sharing this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 06, 2011

I followed other reviewers' suggestions and only used 1/2 cup of the balsamic. This amount was PERFECT...1 cup would have been WAAAAAY too much! I also omitted the chives so I think this will "stay good" for awhile longer in the fridge (we always add onions to our salads anyway). In addition to eating over salad greens, I poured a bit over some diced tomatoes, onions, and basil for a quick and easy bruschetta. Will definitely make again, though I might cut the sugar in half next time. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn's Cookin' January 10, 2011

I needed a balsamic vinaigrette for a salad I wanted to make and this one was so easy and quick. It is a nice balance of flavors too. I halved it and we all enjoyed it so much. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F November 14, 2010

Great dressing, used honey instead of the brown sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spiced Honey October 19, 2010

This is a great basic recipe. Like another reviewer, I used less olive oil, since I like the more acid in my vinaigrettes. I also subbed in a bit of garlic salt. I did not use the chives, but added green onions to the salad. Tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Carly~ October 18, 2010

Exceptionally good. I was worried that the mustard taste would be overpowering, but it isn't

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eightball1751 May 08, 2010
Balsamic Vinaigrette