Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic Tomato-Basil Pasta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic Tomato-Basil Pasta

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2009

      This is delicious! I'm so glad I stumbled upon this recipe. Not only tasty but inexpensive to boot. I made dinner for two of this and followed the recipe "almost" to the letter. I added more garlic and used spaghetti. I also did like other folks and simmered the sauce without a lid to thicken. Thanks for sharing! Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      We've been making this dish for years, and it's still a favorite. It's great at potlucks and I have yet to find someone who doesn't love it. I make mine with bowtie pasta and simmer it without the lid for awhile so it's thicker. I also use fresh mozzarella balls (the ones in water) instead of parmesan, because the texture and flavor of fresh mozzarella is amazing :) Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

    • on September 20, 2008

      We absolutely love this recipe and have been making it for a couple of years now. We only cook it in the summer though because it really is best with fresh garden tomatoes and Lots of fresh basil. I find these ingredients are hard to come by and expensive in the colder months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      I really love this pasta. I actually cheated and used canned diced tomatoes, and dried basil, which made it even more simple to throw together. The balsamic vinegar is a fantastic addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      This was light and certainly different but lacked something, possibly onion. I used a good balsamic vinegar and added extra parmesan. Tastes better warm or cold than hot, and I think it would make a nicer side dish than it does a main.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I didn't really care for it. It wasn;t nasty, and it wasn't hard to make, the taste just did not appeal to me. My husband seemed to like it alot more than I did. I followed the recipe exactly. Oh, and I would use more tomatoes if I made this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      I followed the recipe exactly and this was really delicious! I was not sure about adding the balsamic vinegar, however, it added great flavor. I have made pasta with tomato and basil in the past, and it always seemed to be lacking. The addition of the balsamic seemed to really bring the flavor together. Thank you DeSouter, for a great recipe I will make again and again. My fiancee' really liked it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      We tried this for the first time tonight and everyone agreed that it's something we'll eat again. My stepson and hubby would like to try it topped with grilled or baked chicken. The dish wasn't spectacular, but it was good, not to mention something different. I used bowtie pasta and the only change I made was that I started out simmering the sauce with the lid on and later removed it so that it would become a bit thicker. The finished product makes a lovely presentation. Thanks for sharing, DeSouter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      This was delicious! I simmered the sauce uncovered and served it with a salad. I will definitely make it again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      We loved this dish! It was easy to make and had tons a flavor. I used bow tie pasta thinking it would be easier eating as a side dish that way and it looked great too. I think one could easily toss in some grilled chicken or other meat for a great main dish. I served 7 last night and everyone gave this a thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      WOW!! This is absolutely mouth exploding! I often use it as a side dish with a pork tenderloin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      This is a great pasta dish! (I used bowtie pasta so it looked really fancy, too.) I loved the tang of the vinegar in the sauce. The only change I made: I simmered the sauce uncovered because I prefer thicker sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      This dish was delicious! I made it for our Father's Day cookout and it was a big hit! I was nervous about trying this recipe because I havent cooked anything like it before, to my suprise it was easy! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2005

      This smells heavenly while cooking. I used some really nice tomatoes from the farmer's market and a mix of regular and purple basil from my herb container garden. I served it over whole wheat fettucini. I really enjoyed, my husband was not as thrilled with it. He felt it was way too sweet (from the balsamic). Really glad I tried it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      This is a delicious (and pretty) pasta recipe! In addition to the parmesan in the recipe, I liberally sprinkled it over the top. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      Beautiful dish. Nice and light and satisfying. Served the next day cold with salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      Yummo...this was delightful. The flavours are amazing...dont be concened about the amount of balsamic, it's fantastic. Oh and the leftovers (If there are any) are great cold!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      This was heavenly! I often add a splash of balsamic to pasta sauces, but the relatively large amount used in this recipe took it to a new level -- tart and tangy and totally addictive. Fresh basil was the perfect finishing touch! I had to use San Marzano tomatoes but can't wait to try it with fresh ones next summer. Served it with a salad, some crusty bread and a glass of wine for a perfect light supper. (For 2, though -- not 8!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      Wonderful! I love this dish! I had to go easy on the garlic, though, because my roommate complained about the smell. I didn't have any balsamic vinegar, but I can't wait to try it with the vinegar, next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic Tomato-Basil Pasta

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 260.0
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    12%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 347.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh basil

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites