40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe reduced to two servings very easily(FYI 1/16 cup = 1 Tbsp).I added half a grilled chicken breast to one serving, and some mozzarella on top of both. Bowtie pasta worked well, and garden fresh tomatoes are ideal! Very smooth taste, but I could have used a little more of a kick. Maybe more garlic next time... Really good combination of flavors. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@ home in SF Bay August 25, 2006

Amazing! I'd never thought of using balsamic for a sauce before but this was incredible. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne January 25, 2014

Loved this quick and easy pasta sauce using tomatoes , oregano and basil straight from the garden, i popped in 2 more garlic cloves and a little red pepper as DH likes a little spice, will definately make this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs August 01, 2013

This was very good. We added crumbled feta cheese.
Take 2: We just made this again and it was DELICIOUS! This time, we added chunks of chicken that were dredged through a flour mixture with thyme, dried mustard, paprika, salt and pepper, and then sauteed. SO GOOD!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D February 19, 2013

This was a quick and easy weeknight meal, perfect for summertime when there is an abundance of these ingredients in the garden. Next time I'd like to perk up the flavor with some red pepper or feta or something with a kick of flavor. Thanks for the great recipe DeSouter....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender September 04, 2012

This recipe is REALLY good. I was a bit wary of using so much balsamic, but dont worry, it works out to be perfect. I took the advice of other reviewers and did not cover the tomatoes when they cooked for a saucier sauce. I used whole wheat corkscrew pasta for its darker color and I feel it went nicely against the color of the balsamic vinegar, also put shaved Parmesan on top so it didn't turn dark from the vinegar. I completely forgot the oregano.. I feel it would have distracted from the basil anyway. The next time I made this, I put about a tablespoon of tomato paste, it added a nice rich flavor to the sauce. I would put chicken in this for a one pot meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ttarrantula January 26, 2012

I really liked this. I used canned whole peeled tomatoes. About twice as many the recipe called for. I also added some crushed red pepper. The sauce was nice and bright and the meal didn't weigh me down as some pasta recipes do. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 05, 2011

Wonderful! A great, light summer dish that used up the tomatoes and basil from my garden. Full of flavor and super easy to make. My husband, who HAS to have meat in every dish, actually LOVED this dish- without any meat! Fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bw1888 September 12, 2011

Found this recipe while I was trying to find a way to use up my tomatoes and basil. Great dish. Very simple to make and very tasty. I reserved the pasta water and added about a ladle full when combining the pasta to the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adinahc July 10, 2011
Balsamic Tomato-Basil Pasta