26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The onions and garlic were black, so the 2nd time I made this, I reduced the heat to 375 and did 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil with much better results!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baboudreau January 29, 2010

Wonderful recipe. Easy to put together. It tastes heavenly when it's roasted and the flavors blend. I served this with PanNan's Pork Tenderloin with Merlot-Shallot Sauce. Dinner was awesome! Thank you so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle March 03, 2010

I was out of onions, so I just did potatoes and carrots- a half batch. Deliciously yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
henway00 February 23, 2009

The carrots in this dish were just amazing and I think I am going to make a batch of just them to take along in my lunches next week. For the carrots I give 5 stars. Instead of slicing the onion I suggest a very large dice and separate into pieces for even cooking. The onions caramalize a little and taste so good. I eliminated the butter and drizzled with olive oil instead.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus January 08, 2009

Great side dish full of flavor and colors. I had the same problem with burnt, shriveled onions even though I cut them thicker, like one poster recommended. Maybe adding them later in the baking process would alleviate this. The balsamic vinegar and thyme really added to the flavor. Thanks CountryLady!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick March 19, 2008

Very tasty but the carrots and onions burnt. The potatoes were great though, I'll definately make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicazz February 14, 2008

I made this recipe this past weekend with only one pound of baby carrots yet kept the liquids and seasonings unchanged (except for the salt - I reduced that down to a quarter of a teaspoon). I also reduced the temperature to 375 degrees and increased the cooking time to a total of 2 hours. Oh, and I added pignoli nuts just for a bit of contrast. All I can say is I went out today and paid way too much money for another pound of organic baby carrots so I can make the recipe again this coming weekend. To say this is extraordinary would be a huge understatement. Thank you, so much, for posting this!!!!! eileen

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejmatl October 24, 2007

This is so easy - do ahead-pop in the oven 1 1/2 hrs ahead of dinner and there you have all your wonderful veggies. I added parsnip and cut back a little on the balsamic. The garlic is a wonderful addition. Thanks for a lovely Sunday night dinner Country Lady - I served the veggies along side Tilapia filets lovely combination

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 16, 2007

We love roasting vegetables and so used this recipe for the addition of balsamic vinegar. I also used olive oil instead of butter. I will try this recipe again with only the stated vegies because today the pan was full with yams, potatoes, baby carrots, onions, green pepper, asparagus, mushrooms, zucchini, tomatoes, garlic and so the vinegar flavour was kind of lost in the mish mash.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay April 08, 2007

These were really really good! The balsamic vinegar really adds a different flavor to this that goes so well with the vegetables. I cut my pieces smaller - I used small red potatoes and quartered them, and regular carrots that I cut into 1/2 inch slices before halving them. I still cooked them for the stated time, and it seemed like it needed it in order to be tender. I also threw in a few cauliflower florets, and used olive oil instead of butter. Thank you for sharing this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl May 03, 2005
Balsamic-roasted Baby Potatoes & Carrots