Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic-roasted Baby Potatoes & Carrots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic-roasted Baby Potatoes & Carrots

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2010

      The onions and garlic were black, so the 2nd time I made this, I reduced the heat to 375 and did 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil with much better results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Wonderful recipe. Easy to put together. It tastes heavenly when it's roasted and the flavors blend. I served this with PanNan's Pork Tenderloin with Merlot-Shallot Sauce. Dinner was awesome! Thank you so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I was out of onions, so I just did potatoes and carrots- a half batch. Deliciously yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      The carrots in this dish were just amazing and I think I am going to make a batch of just them to take along in my lunches next week. For the carrots I give 5 stars. Instead of slicing the onion I suggest a very large dice and separate into pieces for even cooking. The onions caramalize a little and taste so good. I eliminated the butter and drizzled with olive oil instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Great side dish full of flavor and colors. I had the same problem with burnt, shriveled onions even though I cut them thicker, like one poster recommended. Maybe adding them later in the baking process would alleviate this. The balsamic vinegar and thyme really added to the flavor. Thanks CountryLady!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      Very tasty but the carrots and onions burnt. The potatoes were great though, I'll definately make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I made this recipe this past weekend with only one pound of baby carrots yet kept the liquids and seasonings unchanged (except for the salt - I reduced that down to a quarter of a teaspoon). I also reduced the temperature to 375 degrees and increased the cooking time to a total of 2 hours. Oh, and I added pignoli nuts just for a bit of contrast. All I can say is I went out today and paid way too much money for another pound of organic baby carrots so I can make the recipe again this coming weekend. To say this is extraordinary would be a huge understatement. Thank you, so much, for posting this!!!!! eileen

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      This is so easy - do ahead-pop in the oven 1 1/2 hrs ahead of dinner and there you have all your wonderful veggies. I added parsnip and cut back a little on the balsamic. The garlic is a wonderful addition. Thanks for a lovely Sunday night dinner Country Lady - I served the veggies along side Tilapia filets lovely combination

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      We love roasting vegetables and so used this recipe for the addition of balsamic vinegar. I also used olive oil instead of butter. I will try this recipe again with only the stated vegies because today the pan was full with yams, potatoes, baby carrots, onions, green pepper, asparagus, mushrooms, zucchini, tomatoes, garlic and so the vinegar flavour was kind of lost in the mish mash.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      These were really really good! The balsamic vinegar really adds a different flavor to this that goes so well with the vegetables. I cut my pieces smaller - I used small red potatoes and quartered them, and regular carrots that I cut into 1/2 inch slices before halving them. I still cooked them for the stated time, and it seemed like it needed it in order to be tender. I also threw in a few cauliflower florets, and used olive oil instead of butter. Thank you for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      This was an excellent side dish for pan-fried steaks. Next time I will cut the onions thicker; thin-sliced onions seemed to cook to almost nothing. Really enjoyed the flavors, especially balsamic vinegar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      Great flavor and makes an attractive presentation. Only change I made was to use olive oil rather than butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      this is wonderful. i usually throw these ingredients in the pan when i make a roast or a meat loaf, but the balsamic makes this dish! the sweetness of the vegetables and the balsamic just blend together so nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      This is definitely a 5 star!! The flavors are so good, and unusual. I didn't change a thing, but roasted it in an aluminum roasting pan that is disposable. The potatoes had such a pretty golden brown color, and the onions were carmelized. Yum-m-m We love balsamic vinegar so this was a hit at our house. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      A very tasty side dish and a nice change of pace from our usual roasted veges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Warning: These are quite sour. The balsamic vinegar fumes fill the house, and the smell/flavor does NOT bake out of these taters. My Dad who likes hot German potato salad might like these, but he'll never know if he does or not, because I'm not going to make them again. We threw most of these away, and I'm not usually one to toss anything. But I didn't want to mess up a soup or anything by using these sour guys up...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      So delicious! I only used 1 lb baby carrots, and 1.5 lb of baby potatoes and kept everything else the same. It was the perfect amount for 5 side dish portions. Mine only needed to cook for about 1 hour in total at 425. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      I made this for the first time today, and as usual...there a few things I'll do differently next time. Overall this is a delicious, fragrant dish...my whole house smelled wonderful. I used non-stick aluminum foil and had no sticking problems at all. I used a red onion, and added a tbs. of rosemary along with the thyme. My initial fear that the dish would be dry proved to be unfounded...the potatoes and carrots were moist. I do think that 425 is a bit high...my onions were black after just 30 minutes! Also, my carrots were a bit skinny and didn't hold up well in the high heat. Next time I will use fatter carrots and add the onions later in the baking process. And maybe start at 400 degrees. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Loved this recipe! Quick and easy to prepare and I didn't have any issues with the veggies sticking like previous reviewers reported. I used a glass 9x13 pan lined with aluminum foil and applied a liberal amount of non-stick spray prior to adding the mix. I made sure to shake the veggies periodically in the pan to prevent the sticking as the recipe suggested. The only changes I made were that I cut the recipe in half, and I reduce the temp of the oven to 400 for the first hour of cooking, then raised it to 450 for the last 15 mins as I really needed the veggies to be done. It could have stood to be cooked for a bit longer as some of the carrots weren't done to my liking. I also used fingerling potatoes and would probably just leave the veggies covered the whole time to avoid having them dry out next time as they weren't creamy like they usually are. This recipe is a nice change from the typical side and has great flavor! A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      Had some fresh-from-the garden carrots and Yukon gold potatoes. Prepared 1/2 recipe and put in a foil oven bag for 60 minutes. Made a tasty and easy side for chicken and salad. Thanks for posting, CountryLady

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic-roasted Baby Potatoes & Carrots

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 224.8
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    24%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 394.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites