28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfect! We raise our own chickens and I have used this on some of the larger (5 1/2-6 1/2 pounds) roasters. Free range chickens can be tougher than cage raised and larger chickens can be tougher than 3 - 4 pounders. This recipe seems to help tenderize thighs and legs - and it is yummy flavor as well! Thank you for posting this

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wickedgood@Maine January 01, 2010

This went together so quickly and easily, and the chicken was very moist and tasty. Delicious. Another great recipe from Marie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandra.muzquiz_11542140 July 30, 2012

Excellent! I rubbed the skin with the mixture too, made a crispy, delicious skin with a moist and equally delicious meat inside! My toddlers even ate it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irhungry February 13, 2012

Such a simple marinade, but it makes a world of difference. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BL834 December 28, 2011

This recipe is a keeper. The chicken came out very moist and tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oceansdust July 13, 2011

Ten stars in my book! This produced an absolutely perfect roast chicken for company. My only changes were to use 2 cloves of garlic and 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh basil in place of the dried. Also rubbed some of the seasoning mixture on the outside of the bird as well as putting it under the skin. The chicken was moist and tender, and a big bonus was that the juices made the best gravy I've had in ages. Thank you so very much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy March 15, 2010

The first time I made this recipe was the first time I'd ever handled a whole chicken, and I was very nervous. I've made it about 5 times now and it always comes out perfectly cooked and moist. I love the flavor and actually use much more garlic because we adore it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camel_Cracker November 02, 2009

This was good, and the chicken did stay very moist. I had 3 breasts, and the skin was already slipping off 2 of them when I got them out of the package, so I'm not sure I got enough of the marinade well in place. I put the pieces on a rack for baking, which I think helped some of the fat from the skin drip off. I baked for just under an hour, and the skin was not crisp. I pulled the skin off before I ate it, so the taste added by the marinade was fine, but minimal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith K. March 31, 2009

Made this with breast, legs and thighs. Delicious. Especially good as left overs. Fall off the bone tender. And very easy to make. Used Italian seasonins rather than all the individual spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
powlita February 12, 2009
Balsamic Roast Italian Chicken