Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic Roast Italian Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic Roast Italian Chicken

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2010

      Perfect! We raise our own chickens and I have used this on some of the larger (5 1/2-6 1/2 pounds) roasters. Free range chickens can be tougher than cage raised and larger chickens can be tougher than 3 - 4 pounders. This recipe seems to help tenderize thighs and legs - and it is yummy flavor as well! Thank you for posting this

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      Just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      This went together so quickly and easily, and the chicken was very moist and tasty. Delicious. Another great recipe from Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      Excellent! I rubbed the skin with the mixture too, made a crispy, delicious skin with a moist and equally delicious meat inside! My toddlers even ate it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      Such a simple marinade, but it makes a world of difference. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      This recipe is a keeper. The chicken came out very moist and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Ten stars in my book! This produced an absolutely perfect roast chicken for company. My only changes were to use 2 cloves of garlic and 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh basil in place of the dried. Also rubbed some of the seasoning mixture on the outside of the bird as well as putting it under the skin. The chicken was moist and tender, and a big bonus was that the juices made the best gravy I've had in ages. Thank you so very much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      The first time I made this recipe was the first time I'd ever handled a whole chicken, and I was very nervous. I've made it about 5 times now and it always comes out perfectly cooked and moist. I love the flavor and actually use much more garlic because we adore it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This was good, and the chicken did stay very moist. I had 3 breasts, and the skin was already slipping off 2 of them when I got them out of the package, so I'm not sure I got enough of the marinade well in place. I put the pieces on a rack for baking, which I think helped some of the fat from the skin drip off. I baked for just under an hour, and the skin was not crisp. I pulled the skin off before I ate it, so the taste added by the marinade was fine, but minimal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Made this with breast, legs and thighs. Delicious. Especially good as left overs. Fall off the bone tender. And very easy to make. Used Italian seasonins rather than all the individual spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Putting the seasoning under the skin really melded the flavor into the chicken. Also very moist. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      YUMMY. My husband loved it. Made it for my dad's visit and he liked it too. Thanks for an easy recipe. The night before I rubbed the chicken down with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Not sure if that changed it at all but it was yummy. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Incredibly moist, and super simplet to make. I have tried many recipes for roast chicken and my hubby declared this to be the best ever, and he is hard to please. This was so simple to make. I did not add the thyme as I do not enjoy it, and substituted the clove of garlic with garlic powder as I was all out, but it still turned out great. Thanks Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Wonderful chicken. I had gotten fresh lemon basil, oregano and thyme from the farmer's mkt. Snipped extremely small and added to the vinegar and olive oil. Gave such a beautiful presentation. Used a whole chicken, but I think I will try it with some chicken quarters I have in freezer. Going right on to the rotation menu. Thnx for posting, Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      AAAAAwsome! What more can I say? I made this with a whole chicken that had already been cut up so it took less time. I just poured the sauce over and basted it about 4 or 5 times. This was so, so, so yummy. I also used fresh herbs cause I had them. I served it with my recipe for linguine with artichokes and grape tomatoes and crusty bread......MMMM I want to have some more right now! Thnaks for a great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This was PERFECT! Moist, tasty chicken and I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for posting Marie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      Awesome! Came out perfect; everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      This was so good. Great flavor, very moist. We will be making this again. Thanks Marie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Wonderful! The meat was flavored perfectly and was very moist. Enjoyed by all my guests. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Great! Quick prep with beautiful results. Roasted chicken is a great family friendly meal and so easy to fix that I make them often. Loved the balsamic vinegar, it wasn't overpowering at all, and even my kids thought it was great. Served with pasta with bottled artichoke pesto and Spinach Saute With Brown Butter & Garlic for a meal that was wonderful and almost effortless. Thanks, Marie, for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic Roast Italian Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1020.3
     
    Calories from Fat 547
    53%
    Total Fat 60.8 g
    93%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 349.5 mg
    116%
    Sodium 618.9 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 108.6 g
    217%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites