Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic Pot Roast (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic Pot Roast (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2010

      I couldnt find a nice roast so I used eye of round steaks and they were so tender they fell apart when taking them out to plate. Loved the flavor of the carrots, used a large tablespoon of garlic, and 18 year old balsamic vinegar. Didnt make the gravy today but spooned the juices over the meat and mashed potatoes. Thank you mikekey for a great tasting supper tonight! Made and reviewed for the Game Forum's I Recommend Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This is really lovely. The gravy is so full of flavour, tomato, rosemary, balsamic, garlic - wow! Great recipe to throw together, leave all day and come home to a fantastic meal. The only change I made was to use fresh rosemary instead of dried. Served with Smashed Potatoes and some steamed vegies. Top notch, thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Mikekey, Great flavors! Thanks so much for posting. It was lovely to come home to after one of the toughest days. I did not have beef bouillon cubes or granules so I used beef consomme instead of the beef broth/cube combo. I also used 5 garlic cloves and lots of freshly cracked black pepper and fresh rosemary. Loved the flavor of the balsamic. **This was saved in my Top 2008 Recipes Cookbook!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      I made this a while ago and just realized I had forgotten to review it! This was excellent! The only change I made was that I added a little red wine, extra garlic, and used fresh rosemary in place of dried. Thank you for sharing this flavorful keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      This method produced a flavourful roast and the gravy was good but a bit sour for me. In future I would reduce the Balsamic vinegar a bit and maybe add a bit more garlic. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      Delicious! Loved everything about this recipe. I used a chuck roast, and halved everything for 2, and it turned out wonderful. I'll definitely make this recipe again. Made for your win in Football tag! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      Delicious! I love balsamic vinegar and loved the flavor that it gave to the roast, vegetables, and gravy. The yummy flavor, plus the ease of throwing everything together in the crock pot makes this recipe a keeper! I made as written except I added some extra garlic along with some salt and pepper. Also, I halved some unpeeled red potatoes and added them to the crock pot along with the carrots. Thank you Mikekey, for sharing this easy, flavorful recipe!
      **Made for 2011 Football Pool**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      This turned out really well. We made a slightly smaller roast (there are two adults and a toddler in our household), but other than than, we followed the recipe as written. The balsamic wasn't overpowering at all--it complemented the roast and veggies very well. We'll keep this one in the rotation. It's a nice change from the traditional pot roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      The smell of this cooking was divine. I did find the "gravy" a bit to sour so added about 1 1/2 cups more beef broth. Meat was tender and juicy. Made for Faves of 2008 Cookbook Tag March 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

    • on October 30, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe! My little podunk town grocery doesn't carry aged balsamic vinegar, so I need to do it again with a quality aged balsamic. I feel the caramel flavor of the aged would take it from great to superb. For our personal tastes, I added 2 more garlic cloves and a 1/2 cup of dry red wine. Thanks for a great one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      FALL PAC 2008: Delicious!! I love the sweet taste the balsamic vinegar adds to this after cooking in the crockpot all day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I just loved this pot roast. I made it exactly as written except for using cut up large carrots in place of baby carrots. This'll be a family favourite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      The flavours in the end product are to die for, delicous. To get there I used 3 large carrots (less than 2 cups otherwise my crockpot would be overflowing) and I mixed the crushed garlic cloves with the balsamic vinegar mixture to get a more even mix. I also used a large fresh sprig of rosemary (it is growing prolifically in the herb garden). I strained off the vegetables from the broth (thought they would be overcooked - I stand corrected, they were delicous - though didn't eat the onion), put the broth in a bowl and in the freezer to quick cool and then used icecubes to skim the fat off. Now my big mistage was to fry off some flour and then mix the broth in (very lumpy mess that went through a sieve) heatened and thicken (delicious gravy). Next time I will mix corn flour (cornstarch) and mix in with broth mix (READ THE RECIPE). Thank you Mikekey for a great recipe. Made for The All Newest tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic Pot Roast (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 70.6
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    45%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 140.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef round steak

    low-sodium beef bouillon granules

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites