15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I couldnt find a nice roast so I used eye of round steaks and they were so tender they fell apart when taking them out to plate. Loved the flavor of the carrots, used a large tablespoon of garlic, and 18 year old balsamic vinegar. Didnt make the gravy today but spooned the juices over the meat and mashed potatoes. Thank you mikekey for a great tasting supper tonight! Made and reviewed for the Game Forum's I Recommend Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 23, 2010

This is really lovely. The gravy is so full of flavour, tomato, rosemary, balsamic, garlic - wow! Great recipe to throw together, leave all day and come home to a fantastic meal. The only change I made was to use fresh rosemary instead of dried. Served with Smashed Potatoes and some steamed vegies. Top notch, thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies April 13, 2009

Mikekey, Great flavors! Thanks so much for posting. It was lovely to come home to after one of the toughest days. I did not have beef bouillon cubes or granules so I used beef consomme instead of the beef broth/cube combo. I also used 5 garlic cloves and lots of freshly cracked black pepper and fresh rosemary. Loved the flavor of the balsamic. **This was saved in my Top 2008 Recipes Cookbook!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinkets January 06, 2009

I made this a while ago and just realized I had forgotten to review it! This was excellent! The only change I made was that I added a little red wine, extra garlic, and used fresh rosemary in place of dried. Thank you for sharing this flavorful keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vitameatavegamin Girl May 24, 2008

I added a tablespoon of brown sugar along with the balsamic and eliminated the rosemary. The results were great! My grandkids couldn't get enough of it. Next time I will cut back a little on the cooking time since I like pot roast a little firmer. I will also substitute fresh plum tomatoes for the canned. The 1 cup potion is a problem since most cans are about 2 cups and I like fresh better anyway. Only complaint was there were not 8 servings. My family of 4 left me with no leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jerry V. September 07, 2014

This method produced a flavourful roast and the gravy was good but a bit sour for me. In future I would reduce the Balsamic vinegar a bit and maybe add a bit more garlic. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word October 04, 2013

Delicious! Loved everything about this recipe. I used a chuck roast, and halved everything for 2, and it turned out wonderful. I'll definitely make this recipe again. Made for your win in Football tag! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 11, 2013

Delicious! I love balsamic vinegar and loved the flavor that it gave to the roast, vegetables, and gravy. The yummy flavor, plus the ease of throwing everything together in the crock pot makes this recipe a keeper! I made as written except I added some extra garlic along with some salt and pepper. Also, I halved some unpeeled red potatoes and added them to the crock pot along with the carrots. Thank you Mikekey, for sharing this easy, flavorful recipe!
**Made for 2011 Football Pool**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill January 14, 2012

This turned out really well. We made a slightly smaller roast (there are two adults and a toddler in our household), but other than than, we followed the recipe as written. The balsamic wasn't overpowering at all--it complemented the roast and veggies very well. We'll keep this one in the rotation. It's a nice change from the traditional pot roast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetPeaNC March 27, 2010

The smell of this cooking was divine. I did find the "gravy" a bit to sour so added about 1 1/2 cups more beef broth. Meat was tender and juicy. Made for Faves of 2008 Cookbook Tag March 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 March 30, 2009
Balsamic Pot Roast (Crock Pot)