61 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were wonderful!! Had a pile of green beans that I bought on sale, and had no idea what to do with them...until I found this recipe!! I must admit, I did go with the fresh garlic, but other than that I didn't change a thing. Wonderful!! Thank you!!! ~Manda

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda July 01, 2002

Five Stars for certain! These greenbeans were wonderful. They were very easy to prepare, and the beans were that lovely bright green color. I added fresh garlic, but the basalmic was the true flavor enhancer. A nice combination of ingredients. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe, Dana. It will be used here in my house again.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie March 10, 2003

These were excellent green beans, which I seved with our Christmas dinner. I added slivered almonds and it was outstanding. I also did not measure the ingredients, just winged it. Instead of olive oil, I used about 2 tablespoons of butter. Thanks for posting! Everyone at Xmas loved them!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss*My*Tiara December 27, 2002

I've made this a lot in the past, and love them! I've tried it with both garlic powder and with minced garlic (3-4 cloves, minced), and both ways are excellent. Yum! If you're feeling daring, you can add a tiny dollop of sour cream to your portion, too.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesong June 13, 2002

very good ! I used 2 cloves of minced garlic and served warm... YUMMY!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamibic2 March 09, 2003

These were very tasty. Followed directions exactly. Picky DH went for seconds. I want to try them with fresh garlic next time, but even with the powdered, there was a nice garlicky taste. Will certainly make this again.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan March 09, 2003

These were fantastic. I used fresh garlic, 4 bulbs of crushed garlic. I also warmed the olive oil and let the crushed garlic infuse in the oil. (the only 2 minor changes to the recipes). Everyone loved these beans and fought over the few beans that were left. What a wonderful combination of ingredients, Dana. Thank you. hugs.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo March 09, 2003

Nice green beans, Dana! I love them cold!! The oil, vinegar and garlic are just right and don't overpower the string beans. Nice and easy, too. Thanks!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi March 08, 2003

Oh Dana, this is a wonderful make-ahead dish. Actually, I prepared them in the morning and all I had to do is pop them on the table. I have some left overs that I plan to add to a salad for tomorrow's dinner. The only thing I did different was to used some fresh chopped garlic. I served these green beans along with your Easy Baked Potato Wedges and your Chicken with Muenster Cheese...a perfect meal. Dana, I continue to pray for you and your family.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot March 08, 2003

I doubt I can say anything that hasn't already been said. I cooked the beans the day before then marinated them for two hours before dinner the following day and served them cold. Good time saver and great taste. Hot food with a cold veggie is a great contrast.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo September 11, 2003
Balsamic Green Beans