15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummo for dinner... a real winner!!! This was a great way to use up some of the B/S chicken breasts that hubby brought home a month ago (they've been wallowing in the freezer forever). I wasn't sure what "natural" yogurt was, so I used plain old, regular yogurt (not Greek, or anything out of the norm). It was truly delightful! P.S. My alterations were that I cut down the sugar to 2 TBLs. I used "Russet" potatoes for the mash (and they were fine), and I used "scallions", rather than "spring onions" (I know that there is a slight difference, but I couldn't find them in the grocery store). Thanks for posting. (Made for PRMR)<br/>P.S. It may be helpful for others to know the difference between "tomato puree", "tomato concentrate" and "tomato sauce"... Thanks again, hun! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 May 12, 2014

Very quick and easy with a good balsamic flavor. Made with 3 b/s chicken breasts so there W's extra sauce, and used Yukon gold potatoes. Made for 123Hits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH September 05, 2012

This is definitely a great new way for us to enjoy chicken breasts, something we have several times a week at least! The only thing I changed was to leave the potatoes unpeeled, but chopped them up quite small! Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 21, 2009

we really enjoyed this chicken! the flavors were strong but not overpowering and the chicken was beautifully moist and tender. the mash was a little dry, but a splash of skim milk fixed that and still kept the fat and calories low. definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
verybaddmom September 16, 2009

Only made the chicken, but this is a great simple chicken recipe. The chicken came out very moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWM_SA July 09, 2009

I made this tonight for dinner. It's not easy to find Spring Onions for the recipe, so I substituted. Also, I had to buy a huge can of tomato puree for just 1 tblsp. I did enjoy the taste and flavors but am doubtful I'll make it again. My DH is cleaning up and feels it was a lot of pans and equipment to get this done. I added more butter and yogurt to moisten the potatoes. I served with green beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaucyCook April 22, 2009

I made this dish to stash away as freezer meals and have held off reviewing it till we had eaten it after thawing one of the meals. An ideal recipe for this purpose (simply thaw in the fridge overnight; then re-heat in the microwave), so next time I make this I will most likely double the recipe. I had no problems with the potatoes being dry, probably because I rarely measure my ingredients exactly and just add a bit more moisture when and where it's needed without really thinking twice about it. Loved both the potato mash (I used my favourite creamy Greek yoghurt) and the very flavoursome chicken. Certainly a recipe for lovers of balsamic vinegar! Thanks for sharing another super recipe, Noo! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder March 08, 2009

My bf commented more than once how much he enjoyed the chicken- so definite 5 stars. I used bone in skinless chicken thighs so I finished them off in the oven. DBF also forgot to buy potatoes from the market so I served it with rice-YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog January 05, 2009

Followed the recipe exactly, but the chicken did not seem to hold much of the flavor from the glaze. Very disappointed with the chicken. Potatoes were pretty good, but if I made them again, I think I would add milk instead of the yogurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krisogden January 02, 2009

The Spring Onion Mash potatoes were a hit. However, the chicken wasn't great. It was bland and had little flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samanthalineback January 02, 2009
Balsamic Glazed Chicken With Spring Onion Mash