Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic Dipping Sauce for Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic Dipping Sauce for Bread

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2002

      Miller, this is an awesome sauce!!!!! I got some Italian frsh bread tonight and added this on top...oh yummmmmmy. It made quite a bit, can't wait to have some tomorrow :) for lunch, and dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2002

      In a word - awesome. We had stew for dinner tonight, and I put a long French bread roll on the table with individual dipping sauce bowls. I have NEVER seen a huge loaf of bread disappear this quickly. I did put extra garlic in the sauce, because my whole family loves garlic. The leftover sauce will NOT last 6 months, I assure you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2002

      Hey, this is good stuff. I served it with french bread to go along with spagetti. The flavor gets even better with time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2002

      Lovely! And so simple, too. I added a few dashes of cayenne pepper and served sourdough bread with it at a spaghetti dinner. Had many requests for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      Awesome! This is absolutely delicious. I halfed the recipe with no problem. I think the next time I'll throw in some more garlic. Wonderful stuff, Miller. Can't wait to get home for lunch so I can have some more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      Used as an appetizer a a barbeque last weekend. I halfed the recipe. I didn't have time to roast the garlic, but will try that next time. I had several trays about; each with garlic sourdough bread cubes and a dipping bowl. Many remarked on the sauce and asked for the recipe. I think the only reason I didn't run out of sauce is because all the bread cubes were consumed first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      The 5 stars is with a LOT less pepper -- do you realise how much 2 ounces of pepper really is? With the 2 ounces it would be 3 stars, with about half of that it is great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This dip is brilliant. I have just learnt how to bake my own bread and was keen to try it with a good dipping sauce. My newly baked white loaf, along with the dip, was devoured in one sitting. I've added this to my Cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      I was looking for the wonderful dip we had at Servino's in Tiburon and found Millie's recipe. It is darn close! You have to keep mixing to keep consistency and we too used more garlic, yum. I am going to make more now and store it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Well, this stuff is just addictive. Thanks for sharing this Millie. We quartered the recipe, used a medium size clove of garlic and it's great. I think it gets better the longer you keep it, but that is a challenge, as it's so yum. We like to sprinkle a little celtic sea salt on the bottom of the dipping bowl too. I mixed it in a salad dressing cruet for ease of serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      I made a 1/4 size of this recipe. I probably used about 1 tsp of pepper. I loved this. My husband who always lets me know what's good by how he eats it, snarfed it down. My step-daughter said, "Why don't you just mainline that stuff, dad." This was very good and it "proves" me own personal rule which is, when you feed people bread, they really feel like they've been fed. Thanks, Mille

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2005

      This was pretty good. I used garlic flavored olive oil instead of regular plus garlic. I also did not use 2 oz of pepper, I just used fresh cracked pepper medley to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      I didn't roast the garlic, and I cut the recipe in half, but this was fabulous! I made it to dip Mean's Foccacia bread and it was TO DIE FOR!!! It will now be a condiment that is ALWAYS in my fridge!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      Mmmmmm! I love this dipping sauce. Forget the rest of the meal...all I need is a loaf of crusty French bread and this sauce. Mmmmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2003

      This was very nice. Ran out of fresh garlic so used granulated garlic instead. We really like the flavor of balsamic vinegar, so think that we will incorporate more the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2003

      I tried this and use it on salads. Its great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      This is excellent, and easy to make. I made it exactly as directed, didn't change a thing. The flavor was outstanding. I served it with a hearty 9 grain peasant loaf of bread, and it was enjoyed by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      I made this as soon a I got my hands on this recipe...I halved it except for the garlic which I doubled. It is delicious! Used it on a crusty Italian bread to go with a pasta meal. I can see myself adding fresh herbs and maybe a finely chopped chili pepper to this when I use it next time and depending on the meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      Too much pepper for our personal tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2002

      I love these flavors. Didn't have roasted garlic this time, but I will for the next batch. Should be even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic Dipping Sauce for Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (60 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 397.4
     
    Calories from Fat 383
    96%
    Total Fat 42.6 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes