20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Miller, this is an awesome sauce!!!!! I got some Italian frsh bread tonight and added this on top...oh yummmmmmy. It made quite a bit, can't wait to have some tomorrow :) for lunch, and dinner.

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH April 05, 2002

In a word - awesome. We had stew for dinner tonight, and I put a long French bread roll on the table with individual dipping sauce bowls. I have NEVER seen a huge loaf of bread disappear this quickly. I did put extra garlic in the sauce, because my whole family loves garlic. The leftover sauce will NOT last 6 months, I assure you.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guabi Guabi March 13, 2002

Hey, this is good stuff. I served it with french bread to go along with spagetti. The flavor gets even better with time.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StaceyB September 27, 2002

Lovely! And so simple, too. I added a few dashes of cayenne pepper and served sourdough bread with it at a spaghetti dinner. Had many requests for the recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wee Tam and The Big Huge April 01, 2002

Awesome! This is absolutely delicious. I halfed the recipe with no problem. I think the next time I'll throw in some more garlic. Wonderful stuff, Miller. Can't wait to get home for lunch so I can have some more!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill77 December 23, 2002

Used as an appetizer a a barbeque last weekend. I halfed the recipe. I didn't have time to roast the garlic, but will try that next time. I had several trays about; each with garlic sourdough bread cubes and a dipping bowl. Many remarked on the sauce and asked for the recipe. I think the only reason I didn't run out of sauce is because all the bread cubes were consumed first.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joiathome July 25, 2002

The 5 stars is with a LOT less pepper -- do you realise how much 2 ounces of pepper really is? With the 2 ounces it would be 3 stars, with about half of that it is great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Is This Really Necessary May 27, 2003

This dip is brilliant. I have just learnt how to bake my own bread and was keen to try it with a good dipping sauce. My newly baked white loaf, along with the dip, was devoured in one sitting. I've added this to my Cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flat Eric January 04, 2010

I was looking for the wonderful dip we had at Servino's in Tiburon and found Millie's recipe. It is darn close! You have to keep mixing to keep consistency and we too used more garlic, yum. I am going to make more now and store it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohcarie March 23, 2008

Well, this stuff is just addictive. Thanks for sharing this Millie. We quartered the recipe, used a medium size clove of garlic and it's great. I think it gets better the longer you keep it, but that is a challenge, as it's so yum. We like to sprinkle a little celtic sea salt on the bottom of the dipping bowl too. I mixed it in a salad dressing cruet for ease of serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy February 19, 2007
Balsamic Dipping Sauce for Bread