Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic Chicken With Garlic Couscous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic Chicken With Garlic Couscous

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2012

      Made some changes (used way less sugar and cooked barley in chicken broth instead of using couscous) but it turned out to be DELICIOUS! What a great recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      We had this for supper last night and it was wonderful. The glaze for the chicken thickened up nicely and was delicious poured over the couscous. The couscous itself was really good also. This is such a simple recipe to prepare and takes no time at all, its great for those nights of football practice when we get home later. Thanks for the recipe, we will use this alot as we all loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      Delicious! I didn't change a thing! I will be making this again! Thanks, Miraklegirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      First time for couscous in our house and this recipe was a success. The kids really liked the sweet flavor in the chicken. Smelled and tasted delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      My family was not crazy about the chicken. I cubed it instead of cooking whole breasts. I doubled the sauce, increased the garlic and used 1 tablespoon sugar. I think the chicken would taste better if grilled. Some mushrooms sound good as well. I loved the couscous. I increased the garlic and used 1 tsp ground thyme.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      Love this recipe! One of our family favorites! Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      I found this recipe this afternoon while searching for a couscous recipe and decided that I would give both the couscous and chicken a try. I’m sure glad that I did because I thought they were both fantastic, as did all 4 of my children. I did change the couscous a little bit by using 2 teaspoons of dried thyme instead of fresh. Then I placed the broth, garlic, butter and thyme in a pot, brought it all to a boil, stirred in the couscous, covered it and let it sit for 5 minutes, instead of sautéing the garlic and thyme and mixing it in the couscous. Next time I make this I’m going to reduce the amount of broth by at least ½ cup though, because the couscous was really clumpy and didn’t flake like it should with the full amount of broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      I made this for supper tonight. After reading the reviews I was expecting it to be great, but I was disappointed. The chicken was really sweet, and because there was so much sugar from the balsamic (which is already sweet) and the 2 tbsp. of sugar the chicken burned really easily in the pan. The couscous was okay, but I discovered I like my couscous without the garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      This recipe was fantastic! It was the first time I had had couscous and my boyfriend keeps asking when we are having it again. The chicken was quick and tasty. This is a perfect weekday meal and I will probably be making it often, especially the couscous. Thanks for posting a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Oh yum, yum, yum!!! First off..let me say that the recipe for the couscous alone is perfection! I made my first perfect batch of couscous due to this recipe. Not sticky nor clumpy...PERFECT and TASTY! The sauce for the chicken was WONDERFUL. I don't understand others' comments that the sauce was too strong. Perhaps it was the quality of their balsamic vinegar? If you love balsamic (and even if you don't!) this recipe is wonderful and easy. I only used 1 tablespoon of sugar and increased the garlic to 6 cloves. I had to use dried thyme and served the sauce over the couscous. Paired this with microwave garlic lemon broccoli from this site. WONDERFUL pairing. Highly recommend this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

    • on March 19, 2009

      This was very good. I was trying to time dinner around soccer practice - so here's what I changed. Just used 2 chicken breasts, doubled the sauce. Pan fried the chicken w/o marinating, then set the chicken aside and cooked the sauce (added about 1 TBS cornstarch to thicken in up) and then when we were ready to eat, added back the chicken and re-heated. Had some left over sauce that we are saving to put on rice. Ate every bit of couscous. Used a whole box. Didn't have fresh thyme, so used about a teaspoon from a jar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Overall is just lacked flavor... not sure why, but it really disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This was really good, though I made a few modifications for time (and laziness). I took semi frozen chicken breasts, browned them, then added the vinegar and chicken stock to cook them the rest of the way through at a simmer. I did omit the sugar to avoid the sugary-ness some reviewers commented on and it was PERFECT. As for the couscous I didn't really change anything, except I used cold broth and let it soak because I had the time to wait for the frozen chicken breasts to cook. I also added a little more margarine because I wanted a nice garlic-buttery flavor (and it certainly didn't disappoint). Served with Broccoli Dijon. Thanks so much Miraklegirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      The couscous was fantastic...5 stars!! I have never tried couscous before and will definatly be making again. The chicken was more like 3 stars. Thus my 4 star rating. i think the chicken would be much better if it marinated for a couple of hours..or overnight. I will try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      My family and I enjoyed this. I omitted the thyme though and used 6 chicken breasts instead of 4. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      This recipe took a little longer to make than I thought it would, but it was very good. I made a 2nd batch of the marinade and used that to reduce/ top the chicken since I am squeamish about using something that raw chicken sat in as a sauce. The directions for the couscous were great and for the first time I got really great results with couscous, thanks for that! My picky son wouldn't eat it, but my husband and I enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Excellent dish. Fast to cook and delicious. I had to fry the chicken a little longer (~ 10 mins, or 5 mins/side), but the rest of the recipe was followed exactly and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      Fantastic! I am a huge fan of balsamic vinegar and this dish really satisfied my tastes. My only modification in the future will be to double the sauce. It is fabulous over the couscous but there was not enough for me. I followed this recipe exactly, except I let the chicken marinade for about 30 minutes because my husband was delayed at work. My only other change was using minced garlic in the couscous instead of slicing whole cloves. This is great and I WILL prepare again (with double sauce).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This was really tasty! All of the flavors along with the balsamic sauce was really delish. I ate it so fast my daughter said something. I served this with roasted shallots and then drizzled the balsamic sauce over those.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic Chicken With Garlic Couscous

    Serving Size: 1 (421 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 704.2
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    34%
    Total Fat 27.3 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 11.7 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 128.2 mg
    42%
    Sodium 440.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.5 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 43.2 g
    86%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites