21 Reviews

Great flavor and easy prep make for a 5 star rating. I might brown the chicken first before adding it to the sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matt_maples September 19, 2010

THis was great! I seared the thighs in a littel olive oil before I threw the onions in the pan and it made the final product kind of crispy on the outside. I didn't try it the other way but I would make it this way 100 more times! Thanks for the great recipe Bansidhe...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender September 09, 2008

First I have to say this dish was really good! Next time I make this, I am going to sear the thighs first in a little olive oil on high heat so they have a darker, and crispier outside. I really loved how all the onions cooked down, and while the balsalmic vinegar smelled a bit strong while cooking, it was delicious when it was done. I didn't have any marjoram, so I used thyme instead. I think there would be a lot of different spice variations you could use! This is a easy, economical recipe that leaves you a lot of time to cook other things or do dishes while it simmers on low. Very good with fluffy white rice and the sauce poured over it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey March 11, 2008

I used bone in thigh fillets for this recipe and they worked fine..just cooked a few minutes longer. The flavours were good and we all enjoyed. Great family dinner, cheers. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* May 01, 2010

This was my first attempt to cook with balsamic vinegar other than in salads. We liked the combination of the onions and sauce and followed the directions. This is a nice change from all my other chicken recipes. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando July 06, 2007

This was a very tasty and tender chicken dish. For some reason, my onions seemed to disintegrate, so I will slice them thicker next time. Also, my sauce didn't thicken as much as I would have liked, but maybe my chicken was extra juicy. This would be wonderful served over rice. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= February 14, 2006

Excellent flavors, so very easy to prepare as an added bonus. I used vanilla balsamic in place of regular (I have several different flavors) added a nice touch. Took a couple other reviewers suggestion to brown the chicken prior to putting the onions on to saute. Thank you for posting this go to recipe for my family in the future Bansidhe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo June 26, 2013

First time I've made a very seasoned chicken dish. I wasn't exact with the ingredients (e.g., used balsamic vinagriette instead of vinegar and Mrs. Dash instead of marjoram), and it still turned out pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love2Live4Christ February 07, 2012

We enjoyed this very easy to prepare meal. It was perfect for a weeknight dinner when you don't feel like putting a lot of effort into prepping and cooking. We made no modifications to the recipe and enjoyed as posted. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny December 19, 2011

Very tasty, but the chicken looked a bit poached. I used about 2 T fresh oregano, since that's what I had on hand and when reducing the sauce at the end, I added about 3T brown sugar. That gave it a sweet, caramel flavor that my family loved.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emmelyn Stieb June 27, 2010
Balsamic Chicken Thighs with Red Onions