Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic Chicken Thighs with Red Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic Chicken Thighs with Red Onions

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2010

      Great flavor and easy prep make for a 5 star rating. I might brown the chicken first before adding it to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      THis was great! I seared the thighs in a littel olive oil before I threw the onions in the pan and it made the final product kind of crispy on the outside. I didn't try it the other way but I would make it this way 100 more times! Thanks for the great recipe Bansidhe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      First I have to say this dish was really good! Next time I make this, I am going to sear the thighs first in a little olive oil on high heat so they have a darker, and crispier outside. I really loved how all the onions cooked down, and while the balsalmic vinegar smelled a bit strong while cooking, it was delicious when it was done. I didn't have any marjoram, so I used thyme instead. I think there would be a lot of different spice variations you could use! This is a easy, economical recipe that leaves you a lot of time to cook other things or do dishes while it simmers on low. Very good with fluffy white rice and the sauce poured over it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      I used bone in thigh fillets for this recipe and they worked fine..just cooked a few minutes longer. The flavours were good and we all enjoyed. Great family dinner, cheers. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      This was my first attempt to cook with balsamic vinegar other than in salads. We liked the combination of the onions and sauce and followed the directions. This is a nice change from all my other chicken recipes. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      This was a very tasty and tender chicken dish. For some reason, my onions seemed to disintegrate, so I will slice them thicker next time. Also, my sauce didn't thicken as much as I would have liked, but maybe my chicken was extra juicy. This would be wonderful served over rice. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      Excellent flavors, so very easy to prepare as an added bonus. I used vanilla balsamic in place of regular (I have several different flavors) added a nice touch. Took a couple other reviewers suggestion to brown the chicken prior to putting the onions on to saute. Thank you for posting this go to recipe for my family in the future Bansidhe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      First time I've made a very seasoned chicken dish. I wasn't exact with the ingredients (e.g., used balsamic vinagriette instead of vinegar and Mrs. Dash instead of marjoram), and it still turned out pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      We enjoyed this very easy to prepare meal. It was perfect for a weeknight dinner when you don't feel like putting a lot of effort into prepping and cooking. We made no modifications to the recipe and enjoyed as posted. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Very tasty, but the chicken looked a bit poached. I used about 2 T fresh oregano, since that's what I had on hand and when reducing the sauce at the end, I added about 3T brown sugar. That gave it a sweet, caramel flavor that my family loved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Finally a recipe that doesn't over do it with the ingredients. Just the right amount to make it taste flavorful yet let the taste of chicken shine through. When I eat meat I want to know what kind of meat I'm eating with lots of recipes the ingredients are so overpowering you can't tell sometimes. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I didn't do the part with the red onions but the chicken was marvelous! My husband even told me it was good before I asked him :) Sweet and tangy, this is going to be a regular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      I'm SO sorry for the lower rating, but I must be honest. I had such high hopes for this recipe, and I was so darn excited to make and serve and eat this. It was just completely bland. Completely. I cannot imagine what I did wrong. I followed the recipe to a T, honestly- except I added a dash of thyme, because for some crazy reason, I thought that was in the recipe. Anyway, the thighs and onions were cooked to a lovely texture, but the taste was not there. I have never made something that truly tasted like nothing, but that is what this was. It had zero flavor. I've cooked with balsamic before, and loved it. This just didn't work for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Generally I prefer chicken white meat but this recipe put me well on my way to using more dark. These are rich and utterly delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      exceptionally flavorful! my favorite chicken thighs recipe ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

    • on September 07, 2006

      We absolutely loved this recipe! I had been going to make another favourite, but realized it was a long marinating process, so chose this one instead. I'm glad I did! I made it as written, except I didn't have a whole red onion.... used what I had and it was perfect. Now I have at least two tried and true ways to prepare chicken thighs! Thanks Bansidhe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      Great chicken!! The balsamic gives such a rich flavour and the onions are wonderful! Served it with cole slaw and a stirfry. Delicious supper, thanks for sharing a good one!! will definately be making it again. made it again last night for dinner it was again delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      This is delicious and so easy. The chicken is so tender and the onions are delicious. I had lemon balsamic vinegar from Trader Joes and it was a wonderful addition. I'm on Weight Watchers CORE Program so I just reduced the olive oil a bit and it fit right into the program. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      Made this tonight. I can see making this on a busy school night. Served it with rice and peas. This was very tasty and the meat was tender--melt in your mouth. YUM. I'm eating low fat and this is a recipe you can live with. I also added one clove garlic since I'm a fan of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic Chicken Thighs with Red Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.3
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    50%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 57.2 mg
    19%
    Sodium 209.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes