160 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a quick and easy weekday chicken dish. I followed the recipe as written however at the end after adding the vinegar I lowered the heat and let the chicken simmer in the sauce for about 20 minutes. Very tender. Served this to my mother and husband. Both were impressed. I would definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linz7577 August 29, 2013

Sorry, this didn't turn out well. Maybe there are different kinds of balsamic vinegar. It was way too strong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc June 06, 2013

Only made two and wish I would have made more as it is so good. Served with Creamy Italian Orzo (153994) Will make these all the time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 18, 2013

Made this with onions instead of shallots. It was good and we'd definately make it again. There are just other chicken thigh recipes we prefer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zonga26 May 11, 2013

I was skeptical going into this recipe. So simple and easy to make. And I was very concerned about the acidity of the balsamic as well. I took one little precaution and added two tsp of brown sugar to the balsamic before adding it to the chicken. I also mixed a bit of garlic powder in with the salt and pepper as recommended by a few reviewers. Other than that I followed the recipe to a tee and was SO impressed. Definitely a keeper. I'd even recommend adding a bit more balsamic and simmering it down a little longer, turning the chicken thighs a few times in it to ensure they're coated well. And in my opinion - do NOT substitute onions for shallots. I'm no food snob, but shallots are far more delicate and really take this dish to the next level. Thanks Mickie49!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glaber April 28, 2013

VERY good! If one uses high quality chicken thighs, this recipe and method is spot on. The quality of the balsamic vinegar also makes a big difference! I had no idea until I tried this recipe, though. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julie80113 February 04, 2013

Really enjoyed and very easy to make. Onions would work just as we'll as shallots and save a little money. Doubled the sauce and served with seven grain pilaf. Reallyngood

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1019871 December 31, 2012

Best recipe I found on this site. Easy and flavorful. Kids love it. I make it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheila.lehr December 03, 2012
Balsamic Chicken Thighs