166 Reviews

This is such an easy recipe. I made this for my family and we enjoyed it very much. I loved the sauce the vinegar makes, adds the right amount of zing to the chicken. I did add some poultry seasoning to the salt and pepper before cooking otherwise followed recipe exactly. Thank you for sharing, this is good and I will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 05, 2010

this was good...i like the tang from the vinegar...used onion and garlic...will make again...tfs

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pigtailone September 08, 2010

OMG! This was delicious. Even the picky kids gobbled it up. I will be making this again. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssjogren1973 July 10, 2010

As I learned when I lived in France, you do not need lots of ingredients to make an excellent dish. This recipe proves that point. I loved it and so did my 11 year-old son! I did not alter it, but I did simmer the chicken a long time in the balsamic so that it reduced, and I made sure to turn the chicken so that it was coated. I don't get the folks saying it's "bland" or vinegary, but I'd definitely suggest letting the vinegar reduce longer because the taste is wonderful. We mixed in steamed broccoli at the end and it made this a great, healthy marathon-training meal for Mom! Total winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 29, 2016

This was pretty bad. I agree with the previous reviews about the balsamic vinegar being overpowering and the chicken having a bland taste. I had to make some major modifications. After following the recipe, I added these ingredients and proceeded to cook it longer (about half hour more, totaling 1 hour): -Mrs. Dash original seasoning -1 can 14.5 oz Italian diced tomatoes -1 medium eggplant, cut in quarters -1/4 cup water I added Mrs. Dash on both sides of each chicken thigh, then added half the canned tomatoes on top of the chicken and some water and let that cook for 15 min under med. high heat. Then I added the eggplant and added the rest of the canned tomatoes on top and cooked for another 10-15 minutes. If you want, you can let it simmer for a little longer after this is all done. The more it sits in these ingredients, the more flavorful. This was a great modification, gave it more of a Mediterranean taste. I guarantee you'll like it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodie415 April 07, 2016

I love this site and have found many wonderful recipes. I always like to look at the reviews and am continually blown out of the water when people give the recipes a bad review while adding they didn't follow the recipe. Why review something if you are not willing to try it as written. People are funny.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
d sharpes September 07, 2015

Really easy and delicious! I love the fact that this recipe only calls for very few ingredients but the result is amazing! Will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen July 16, 2015

I'm sorry but this recipe just didn't stand up to all the 5 star reviews it received. I found it very bland even using a strong balsamic vinegar. Tried to help it out with some sauteed garlic, it was still just o.k. With 4 ingredients what can you expect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dchefincharge January 05, 2014

Sorry, this didn't turn out well. Maybe there are different kinds of balsamic vinegar. It was way too strong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc June 06, 2013
Balsamic Chicken Thighs