164 Reviews

This was a quick and easy weekday chicken dish. I followed the recipe as written however at the end after adding the vinegar I lowered the heat and let the chicken simmer in the sauce for about 20 minutes. Very tender. Served this to my mother and husband. Both were impressed. I would definitely make this again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linz7577 August 29, 2013

The sauce was YUMMY- but I was not overly impressed with the chicken...so it gets 4 stars, not 5. I made this just as written (the photo must have more then 1/4 cup shallots in it! or they used onions). I served it with instant couscous (Near East brand- roast garlic and olive oil flavor) and I could have eaten bowls and bowls of the couscous with the sauce on it!!! But the chicken was kind of bland compared to it. Next time I think I will add the shallots and balsamic and let it cook into the chicken a little longer, so that it has the same flavor as the sauce. This needs a little tweek- but for as quick as it is to throw together, you can't beat it!! I want to try it with onions too, just to see if the shallots really make a difference- I will let you know.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 June 13, 2010

This was phenomenal! The sauce was delicious, and it was incredibly easy to make. You have to be careful, though, once you add the vinegar, because it cooks down very quickly. I'm definitely making these again. Thanks, mickie! Addendum: This has turned into a regular dinner here. Simple to make, and my gf, who normally (or abnormally, depending on your point of view) doesn't like anything with a vinegar taste to it, loves this recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cluich April 29, 2010

Wow!! You people weren't kidding, this IS an amazing recipe. Just like everyone says: easy and delicious. I used red onions instead of shallots, and drained some chicken grease out before adding them. Next time I'll try the shallots, but it was outstanding even with onions. BEST meal I've had in a long time. I'll be making this for company to show off a little you can bet! ;)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FabulousBigNiki June 05, 2008

I tried this for first time tonight and it was delicious. I took a tip from another review and seared the chicken first before adding to the onions. Also I used bone in thighs and simmered for about an hour. This is a real keeper.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonniecudlin November 06, 2013

I made this recipe just now (with some modifications, thus the lower star rating) and thought it tasted good. I made this with 4 chicken breast Then I made the sauce with 1/10 soy sauce and then added enough balsamic vinegar to reach 1/4 cup, a few tbsp of sugar, minced garlic and sliced scallions. Cooked the chicken as directed, drained oil and then placed chicken back into the pan, added the sauce and cooked for about 2 mins and then served over rice, along side braised carrots.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowmix318 January 21, 2011

impressive,very easy, very good, low budget, 2 pounds makes enough for my family to have a full meal the next night. I don't use cooking spray so the first time i made this I used olive oil to lightly coat a cast iron pan I had to walk away from it and it got smoky and the chicken burned, so the next time I used a small amount of sesame oil and this was just fine with no added flavors

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sakeenah July 02, 2010

I have not tried this YET...but it sounds yummy...I am thinking about trying it in the Crockpot...I think I will add some garlic to it as well...:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cowgirl_stardust23 June 13, 2015

This was not good at all. The vinegar was too strong and overwhelming and it had a bland taste to it. I had to infuse honey in it to make it edible. I would not recommend balsamic vinegar in a dish like this if it's the main flavor ingredient.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaynicia C. July 07, 2014

I was skeptical going into this recipe. So simple and easy to make. And I was very concerned about the acidity of the balsamic as well. I took one little precaution and added two tsp of brown sugar to the balsamic before adding it to the chicken. I also mixed a bit of garlic powder in with the salt and pepper as recommended by a few reviewers. Other than that I followed the recipe to a tee and was SO impressed. Definitely a keeper. I'd even recommend adding a bit more balsamic and simmering it down a little longer, turning the chicken thighs a few times in it to ensure they're coated well. And in my opinion - do NOT substitute onions for shallots. I'm no food snob, but shallots are far more delicate and really take this dish to the next level. Thanks Mickie49!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glaber April 28, 2013
Balsamic Chicken Thighs