160 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The sauce was YUMMY- but I was not overly impressed with the chicken...so it gets 4 stars, not 5. I made this just as written (the photo must have more then 1/4 cup shallots in it! or they used onions). I served it with instant couscous (Near East brand- roast garlic and olive oil flavor) and I could have eaten bowls and bowls of the couscous with the sauce on it!!! But the chicken was kind of bland compared to it. Next time I think I will add the shallots and balsamic and let it cook into the chicken a little longer, so that it has the same flavor as the sauce. This needs a little tweek- but for as quick as it is to throw together, you can't beat it!! I want to try it with onions too, just to see if the shallots really make a difference- I will let you know.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 June 13, 2010

This was phenomenal! The sauce was delicious, and it was incredibly easy to make. You have to be careful, though, once you add the vinegar, because it cooks down very quickly. I'm definitely making these again. Thanks, mickie! Addendum: This has turned into a regular dinner here. Simple to make, and my gf, who normally (or abnormally, depending on your point of view) doesn't like anything with a vinegar taste to it, loves this recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cluich April 29, 2010

I made this recipe just now (with some modifications, thus the lower star rating) and thought it tasted good. I made this with 4 chicken breast Then I made the sauce with 1/10 soy sauce and then added enough balsamic vinegar to reach 1/4 cup, a few tbsp of sugar, minced garlic and sliced scallions. Cooked the chicken as directed, drained oil and then placed chicken back into the pan, added the sauce and cooked for about 2 mins and then served over rice, along side braised carrots.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowmix318 January 21, 2011

Wow!! You people weren't kidding, this IS an amazing recipe. Just like everyone says: easy and delicious. I used red onions instead of shallots, and drained some chicken grease out before adding them. Next time I'll try the shallots, but it was outstanding even with onions. BEST meal I've had in a long time. I'll be making this for company to show off a little you can bet! ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FabulousBigNiki June 05, 2008

This is such an easy recipe. I made this for my family and we enjoyed it very much. I loved the sauce the vinegar makes, adds the right amount of zing to the chicken. I did add some poultry seasoning to the salt and pepper before cooking otherwise followed recipe exactly. Thank you for sharing, this is good and I will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 05, 2010

OMG! This was delicious. Even the picky kids gobbled it up. I will be making this again. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssjogren1973 July 10, 2010

impressive,very easy, very good, low budget, 2 pounds makes enough for my family to have a full meal the next night. I don't use cooking spray so the first time i made this I used olive oil to lightly coat a cast iron pan I had to walk away from it and it got smoky and the chicken burned, so the next time I used a small amount of sesame oil and this was just fine with no added flavors

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sakeenah July 02, 2010

This was not good at all. The vinegar was too strong and overwhelming and it had a bland taste to it. I had to infuse honey in it to make it edible. I would not recommend balsamic vinegar in a dish like this if it's the main flavor ingredient.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaynicia C. July 07, 2014

I'm sorry but this recipe just didn't stand up to all the 5 star reviews it received. I found it very bland even using a strong balsamic vinegar. Tried to help it out with some sauteed garlic, it was still just o.k. With 4 ingredients what can you expect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dchefincharge January 05, 2014

I tried this for first time tonight and it was delicious. I took a tip from another review and seared the chicken first before adding to the onions. Also I used bone in thighs and simmered for about an hour. This is a real keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonniecudlin November 06, 2013
Balsamic Chicken Thighs