Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic Chicken Thighs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic Chicken Thighs

    Average Rating:

    160 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 160

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2010

      The sauce was YUMMY- but I was not overly impressed with the chicken...so it gets 4 stars, not 5. I made this just as written (the photo must have more then 1/4 cup shallots in it! or they used onions). I served it with instant couscous (Near East brand- roast garlic and olive oil flavor) and I could have eaten bowls and bowls of the couscous with the sauce on it!!! But the chicken was kind of bland compared to it. Next time I think I will add the shallots and balsamic and let it cook into the chicken a little longer, so that it has the same flavor as the sauce. This needs a little tweek- but for as quick as it is to throw together, you can't beat it!! I want to try it with onions too, just to see if the shallots really make a difference- I will let you know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      This was phenomenal! The sauce was delicious, and it was incredibly easy to make. You have to be careful, though, once you add the vinegar, because it cooks down very quickly. I'm definitely making these again. Thanks, mickie! Addendum: This has turned into a regular dinner here. Simple to make, and my gf, who normally (or abnormally, depending on your point of view) doesn't like anything with a vinegar taste to it, loves this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Wow!! You people weren't kidding, this IS an amazing recipe. Just like everyone says: easy and delicious. I used red onions instead of shallots, and drained some chicken grease out before adding them. Next time I'll try the shallots, but it was outstanding even with onions. BEST meal I've had in a long time. I'll be making this for company to show off a little you can bet! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      I made this recipe just now (with some modifications, thus the lower star rating) and thought it tasted good. I made this with 4 chicken breast Then I made the sauce with 1/10 soy sauce and then added enough balsamic vinegar to reach 1/4 cup, a few tbsp of sugar, minced garlic and sliced scallions. Cooked the chicken as directed, drained oil and then placed chicken back into the pan, added the sauce and cooked for about 2 mins and then served over rice, along side braised carrots.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      This is such an easy recipe. I made this for my family and we enjoyed it very much. I loved the sauce the vinegar makes, adds the right amount of zing to the chicken. I did add some poultry seasoning to the salt and pepper before cooking otherwise followed recipe exactly. Thank you for sharing, this is good and I will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      OMG! This was delicious. Even the picky kids gobbled it up. I will be making this again. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      impressive,very easy, very good, low budget, 2 pounds makes enough for my family to have a full meal the next night. I don't use cooking spray so the first time i made this I used olive oil to lightly coat a cast iron pan I had to walk away from it and it got smoky and the chicken burned, so the next time I used a small amount of sesame oil and this was just fine with no added flavors

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      This was not good at all. The vinegar was too strong and overwhelming and it had a bland taste to it. I had to infuse honey in it to make it edible. I would not recommend balsamic vinegar in a dish like this if it's the main flavor ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      I'm sorry but this recipe just didn't stand up to all the 5 star reviews it received. I found it very bland even using a strong balsamic vinegar. Tried to help it out with some sauteed garlic, it was still just o.k. With 4 ingredients what can you expect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      I tried this for first time tonight and it was delicious. I took a tip from another review and seared the chicken first before adding to the onions. Also I used bone in thighs and simmered for about an hour. This is a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      This was a quick and easy weekday chicken dish. I followed the recipe as written however at the end after adding the vinegar I lowered the heat and let the chicken simmer in the sauce for about 20 minutes. Very tender. Served this to my mother and husband. Both were impressed. I would definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      Sorry, this didn't turn out well. Maybe there are different kinds of balsamic vinegar. It was way too strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      Only made two and wish I would have made more as it is so good. Served with Creamy Italian Orzo (153994) Will make these all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2013

      Made this with onions instead of shallots. It was good and we'd definately make it again. There are just other chicken thigh recipes we prefer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      I was skeptical going into this recipe. So simple and easy to make. And I was very concerned about the acidity of the balsamic as well. I took one little precaution and added two tsp of brown sugar to the balsamic before adding it to the chicken. I also mixed a bit of garlic powder in with the salt and pepper as recommended by a few reviewers. Other than that I followed the recipe to a tee and was SO impressed. Definitely a keeper. I'd even recommend adding a bit more balsamic and simmering it down a little longer, turning the chicken thighs a few times in it to ensure they're coated well. And in my opinion - do NOT substitute onions for shallots. I'm no food snob, but shallots are far more delicate and really take this dish to the next level. Thanks Mickie49!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

    • on February 04, 2013

      VERY good! If one uses high quality chicken thighs, this recipe and method is spot on. The quality of the balsamic vinegar also makes a big difference! I had no idea until I tried this recipe, though. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      Really enjoyed and very easy to make. Onions would work just as we'll as shallots and save a little money. Doubled the sauce and served with seven grain pilaf. Reallyngood

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

    • on December 03, 2012

      Best recipe I found on this site. Easy and flavorful. Kids love it. I make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic Chicken Thighs

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.1
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    27%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 188.2 mg
    62%
    Sodium 199.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 44.8 g
    89%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites