23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Outstanding flavor. After reading other reviews I decided to make extra sauce. I used 1/2 cup Pepsi and thickened the sauce with some cornstarch and chicken broth after everything was done cooking. Only other change I made was to add a pinch of ground ginger and maybe a teaspoon of siracha sauce. Dee...lish!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clean Plate Club October 11, 2009

Excellent, simple dish! Love that there are only a handful of ingredients. I used 3/4 cup of balsamic vinegar (and ombit the red wine vinegar since I did not have any) and used 2/3 cup brown sugar. Was planning on using 3/4 cup as another reviewer had mentioned, but I only had 2/3 cup left. This was wonderful. I also used 1/4 cherry Pepsi (because I did not have any other soda around). I also salted the chicken before placing it in the crock pot. I also added a bag of frozen vegetables. Served this over rice and savored it! This makes a lot of sauce, but you could just add cornstartch to thicken it or boil it on the stove. But I just left it to add to the rice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowmix318 July 25, 2009

This was an easy weeknight dinner. The sauce was a good blend of sweet and tangy, but a little too greasy. I would try this again but skin the chicken thighs prior to cooking. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 13, 2014

Delish! Made this last night for dinner and my kids loved it too. I made an Feta Cheese Alfredo sauce for the pasta and served the chicken over the pasta. I also reduced the remaining sauce while the waiting for the pasta to cook (I was out of corn starch or I would have thickened the sauce with that) It was like eating a variation of Olive Garden's Steak Gorganzola which happens to be my favorite dish at Olive Garden.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristenblakley October 25, 2012

I tried this tonight and both of us really liked it. I did not use the crock pot as I found this too late. I used an electric pot I call my bean pot. I had two large leg quarters and they were done in an hour. I turned it down to a low simmer for about 30 minutes and the sauce was thick and sticky just the way I wanted it to be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marym758 August 28, 2012

Excellent flavor. Made this with b/s chicken breast and bean thread instead of rice or pasta. Also took about a 1/3 cup of the sauce and reduced it down to create an even more concentrated flavor. Did not add the 1/4 soda since I didn't have any. Also guestimated on the brown sugar. It probably ended up a little less than a full cup and was loose, not packed. Served this up with a side of steamed carrots and zucchini. Wonderfully simple and satisfying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdastagir November 22, 2009

Thought it was way too sweet. We couldnt even eat it and ended up ordering pizza. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Mela November 03, 2009

Tasty! I had a lot of extra sauce and I hated to throw it out...I'll have to make more chicken next time. :( Served with snow peas and saffron rice. I wonder if this would work as well with boneless/skinless chicken breasts?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MellowCellist October 12, 2009

This was surprisingly good! I was concerned about sweetness, so I used 3/4 c brown sugar and it was fine. That, along with using Diet Coke, made the dish 7 WW pts, incl. 1/2 cooked rice. DH and 9 YO DD liked it too! I did add cornstarch/water to thicken the delicious sauce at the end. Wish I could figure out how to use all the extra sauce. It's delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy020 June 17, 2009
Balsamic Chicken for Crock Pot