Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic Chicken for Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic Chicken for Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2009

      Outstanding flavor. After reading other reviews I decided to make extra sauce. I used 1/2 cup Pepsi and thickened the sauce with some cornstarch and chicken broth after everything was done cooking. Only other change I made was to add a pinch of ground ginger and maybe a teaspoon of siracha sauce. Dee...lish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Excellent, simple dish! Love that there are only a handful of ingredients. I used 3/4 cup of balsamic vinegar (and ombit the red wine vinegar since I did not have any) and used 2/3 cup brown sugar. Was planning on using 3/4 cup as another reviewer had mentioned, but I only had 2/3 cup left. This was wonderful. I also used 1/4 cherry Pepsi (because I did not have any other soda around). I also salted the chicken before placing it in the crock pot. I also added a bag of frozen vegetables. Served this over rice and savored it! This makes a lot of sauce, but you could just add cornstartch to thicken it or boil it on the stove. But I just left it to add to the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2014

      This was an easy weeknight dinner. The sauce was a good blend of sweet and tangy, but a little too greasy. I would try this again but skin the chicken thighs prior to cooking. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      Delish! Made this last night for dinner and my kids loved it too. I made an Feta Cheese Alfredo sauce for the pasta and served the chicken over the pasta. I also reduced the remaining sauce while the waiting for the pasta to cook (I was out of corn starch or I would have thickened the sauce with that) It was like eating a variation of Olive Garden's Steak Gorganzola which happens to be my favorite dish at Olive Garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      I tried this tonight and both of us really liked it. I did not use the crock pot as I found this too late. I used an electric pot I call my bean pot. I had two large leg quarters and they were done in an hour. I turned it down to a low simmer for about 30 minutes and the sauce was thick and sticky just the way I wanted it to be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

    • on November 22, 2009

      Excellent flavor. Made this with b/s chicken breast and bean thread instead of rice or pasta. Also took about a 1/3 cup of the sauce and reduced it down to create an even more concentrated flavor. Did not add the 1/4 soda since I didn't have any. Also guestimated on the brown sugar. It probably ended up a little less than a full cup and was loose, not packed. Served this up with a side of steamed carrots and zucchini. Wonderfully simple and satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Thought it was way too sweet. We couldnt even eat it and ended up ordering pizza. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Tasty! I had a lot of extra sauce and I hated to throw it out...I'll have to make more chicken next time. :( Served with snow peas and saffron rice. I wonder if this would work as well with boneless/skinless chicken breasts?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      This was surprisingly good! I was concerned about sweetness, so I used 3/4 c brown sugar and it was fine. That, along with using Diet Coke, made the dish 7 WW pts, incl. 1/2 cooked rice. DH and 9 YO DD liked it too! I did add cornstarch/water to thicken the delicious sauce at the end. Wish I could figure out how to use all the extra sauce. It's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      My husband doens't usually like chicken in "sauce" but he loves this and so do two of my kids (my son is incurably picky.) Last time I made it, I thought everyone was done and dumped the leftover sauce down the sink. My husband then asked, "Any of the juice left from that chicken? I want to put it on my rice!" and I had to tell him it was gone! He was very disappointed, that is how good it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      when I cook this...they come running..great dish never any left overs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I gave this 3 stars because it really was too sweet. I did compact the brown sugar into the measuring cup, so maybe that's why. To make it less sweet, I added some tobasco and some cajun spice, and more red wine vinegar, and it did help. On the plus side, I think if I made it again without all the sugar, as another reviewer said, it would be great! The meat was soooo tender. Good for a lot of people if you want to double the recipe. And it sure was easy! I served it over spaghetti, and it was a good meal for my boyfriend and me. When I make it again with less sugar, I will re-rate it and update my review. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      I was a little worried about how much vinaegar there was but It turned out to be great! I will be makng this again! I just finished the leftovers, I love this!! It is great!! Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      This was a good recipe, but we thought it was a bit too sweet. Next time I will probably not use both Coke and the brown sugar. We also substituted some Worchestshire sauce for the soy sauce since my one daughter is allergic. We will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      This was very good and easy. DH said it was "yummy." :-) I doubled the recipe, used RC Cola instead of Coke, and cooked on high in the interest of time, but otherwise followed the recipe. Served over rice. I will probably be making this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      Quite good! I had planned a fairly labor-intensive recipe for the chicken thighs I had purchased, but as I was getting ready to leave for the afternoon, I found myself dreading coming home and beginning the task of skinning and boning the thighs and preparing that recipe. I had the thought of how nice it would be to go ahead and get dinner started and decided I would see if I could quickly find an easy crockpot recipe to use the thighs in that I would have time to throw together before I left. This one fit the bill perfectly. I used Coke (which my son found interesting :) )and served the thighs over jasmine rice with a salad. It was a simple but very enjoyable meal. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      This was great. I served it over rice, which soaked up the delicious sauce beautifully. Next time I cook this dish, I may cut the cooking time, as the meat was a little dry, and leave the lid off for the last hour to thicken the sauce. I don't think you can go far wrong with this. A great recipe for beginners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      I really loved this!! It was very sweet and tangy!! The meat was tender and falling off the bones! We served it over angel hair pasta and the sauce was wonderful! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      This is so incredibly delicious. My kids keep requesting that I make it. One time I didn't have any Sprite so I used Dr. Pepper at my daughters’ request. It still turned out very yummy. I have also been short on time and put the thighs in a 9x13 pan, poured the sauce over them, covered the pan with foil and baked for 45 min in a 350 degree oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic Chicken for Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (468 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 951.1
     
    Calories from Fat 416
    43%
    Total Fat 46.2 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 254.7 mg
    84%
    Sodium 924.1 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.4 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 73.2 g
    293%
    Protein 54.0 g
    108%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes