57 Reviews

Absolutely awesome recipe!! Added some soy sauce and brown sugar to give the dish some extra flavor. Strongly suggest to butterfly the chicken breasts first and make a few short cuts on each fillet (don't cut it all the way through) before seasoning. This will allow chicken to be easily cooked through and the flavor to be held in well. My chicken breasts were quite thick, so I sliced each one horizontally into 2 or 3 thinner pieces. Love the peppers and onions in this dish. Ate it over rice. Definitely a keeper. Thank you for posting!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen November 12, 2013

Awesome. Made as is (except freeze dried basil, a good 2 tsp or tblsp.) and had with rice. Excellent. You *could* add broth if you want it saucier, but the flavor of the veggies was great with plain rice in my opinion.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chupkar February 01, 2010

Awesome recipe! I unfortunately had to use dried basil (about 1 1/2 Tbsp), and would have rather used fresh, but this recipe was easy and fantastic! I loved the flavor over the chicken with the peppers and vinegar. Yum! Worth a try if you are tired of regular old chicken!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2bake January 08, 2016

This recipe was delicious! I recommend using an aged balsamic vinegar, and I used only 2 tablespoons instead of 4. I used twice the amount of basil and 1 and a half yellow onions. This recipe has been added to my weekday recipe rotation; easy, healthy, and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna N. November 10, 2015

I made this for dinner tonight using fresh peppers from the garden. The chicken breast I had were quite large so they took additional time to cook. Next time I may serve it over rice to soak up some of the wonderful sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom September 23, 2014

Fivers!! Its fast, easy, included ingredients we had on hand and tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO May 16, 2014

This was excellent!! I didn't find the vinegar flavor to be too strong at all. Instead of just peppers and onions, I used an Asian medley that also included baby corncobs, broccoli and peapods, Will definitely be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy March 18, 2014

I wasn't terribly impressed with this one. The taste was okay- I added sugar as some others suggested because it was too vinegar-y. Maybe it needed more sugar? I wonder if aged balsamic would be much better. Be wary if your chicken breasts are thick- you'll need a lot more time in the skillet than the recipe calls for. I found the taste of the vinegar overwhelmed the veggies. The balsamic added a nice flavor with the vinegar, though. I also had to use a lower heat because the vinegar was starting to dry up, so there wasn't much of a sauce at the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennzkitchen October 10, 2013

Great recipe. Added some sugar, the vinegar flavor still had a tangy taste, but not overpowering. I made it with white rice and the veggies went PERFECT mixed in with the rice. Easy to make too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NutmegEverything! September 11, 2013

I just wanted to add my review to the mix. I am a huge fan of balsamic vinegar and was looking for a new recipe. I used a fig balsamic which is slightly sweeter and found the flavor combination to be outstanding. I served it with whole wheat couscous but in the future I think this would better with brown rice or roasted potatoes. I did not see any reason to add broth because I thought it was saucy enough but I did have to cook mine a bit longer after adding the chicken due to the thickness of the breasts. This may have had something to do with it. Thanks for a great dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KimRaber September 08, 2013
Balsamic Chicken Breasts With Peppers and Onions