Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic Chicken Breasts With Peppers and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic Chicken Breasts With Peppers and Onions

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2013

      Absolutely awesome recipe!! Added some soy sauce and brown sugar to give the dish some extra flavor. Strongly suggest to butterfly the chicken breasts first and make a few short cuts on each fillet (don't cut it all the way through) before seasoning. This will allow chicken to be easily cooked through and the flavor to be held in well. My chicken breasts were quite thick, so I sliced each one horizontally into 2 or 3 thinner pieces. Love the peppers and onions in this dish. Ate it over rice. Definitely a keeper. Thank you for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Awesome. Made as is (except freeze dried basil, a good 2 tsp or tblsp.) and had with rice. Excellent. You *could* add broth if you want it saucier, but the flavor of the veggies was great with plain rice in my opinion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2014

      I made this for dinner tonight using fresh peppers from the garden. The chicken breast I had were quite large so they took additional time to cook. Next time I may serve it over rice to soak up some of the wonderful sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2014

      Fivers!! Its fast, easy, included ingredients we had on hand and tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      This was excellent!! I didn't find the vinegar flavor to be too strong at all. Instead of just peppers and onions, I used an Asian medley that also included baby corncobs, broccoli and peapods, Will definitely be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      I wasn't terribly impressed with this one. The taste was okay- I added sugar as some others suggested because it was too vinegar-y. Maybe it needed more sugar? I wonder if aged balsamic would be much better. Be wary if your chicken breasts are thick- you'll need a lot more time in the skillet than the recipe calls for. I found the taste of the vinegar overwhelmed the veggies. The balsamic added a nice flavor with the vinegar, though. I also had to use a lower heat because the vinegar was starting to dry up, so there wasn't much of a sauce at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      Great recipe. Added some sugar, the vinegar flavor still had a tangy taste, but not overpowering. I made it with white rice and the veggies went PERFECT mixed in with the rice. Easy to make too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      I just wanted to add my review to the mix. I am a huge fan of balsamic vinegar and was looking for a new recipe. I used a fig balsamic which is slightly sweeter and found the flavor combination to be outstanding. I served it with whole wheat couscous but in the future I think this would better with brown rice or roasted potatoes. I did not see any reason to add broth because I thought it was saucy enough but I did have to cook mine a bit longer after adding the chicken due to the thickness of the breasts. This may have had something to do with it. Thanks for a great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      Now I see why this recipe gets so many stars. It is absolutely fantastic. The peppers cut through the balsamic vinegar. The chicken breast is tasty and moist. We served it with salad but I would imagine with rice it is amazing. Don't throw away the sauce that is made. Keep it and pour over the chicken. It is not strong. It is delicious. Good luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      Very tasty dish. I too added some sugar to the vinegar. Hubs said it's a keeper. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      This was really good. We used white balsamic vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      I loved this chicken! I did add one pinch of sugar as DH still doesn't care much for the twang of the vinegar! I'm working on that! I did use dried basil as I had no fresh but can't wait to try it with fresh. I bought basil seeds today and will start them tomorrow. I only had red peppers so I cut up some green onions for the color contrast. This is not only tasty but it's a pretty dish too! I served this with a side of sweet corn, both complimented the other! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      Can't get more simple than this! The balsamic vinegar gave this dish a nice "twang". I even added a bit more. Perhaps, 6 tablespoons.
      I used chicken tenders because that is what I had available.
      I served this over plain white rice. I didn't mind that there was no sauce. If someone wants sauce, just add some water and use more vinegar to balance out.
      A keeper of a recipe that I will be making again for sure!
      Thanks for sharing, Marie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      This dish was very good. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts because that was all I had on hand and I added a little chicken broth to make more sauce. Very rich and unique flavor with the balsamic vinegar. It was enjoyed by all. Thanks for posting, Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      The dish had a nice flavor to it, but my husband and I found it to be on the dry side. I feel it should have had some chicken broth added to the balsamic vinegar for more of a juicer consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      I have made this recipe several times, for family and friends. We all love it! It is soooooo simple but soooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Easy, fast and delicious! We really enjoyed this. Chicken was moist and flavorful and the peppers and onions were yummy. I will make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      So yummy! I will continue to make this, hubby loved it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Delicious...something different. would be wonderful with garlic mashed potatoes or some brown rice. I added more onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Delicious! I dipped my chicken in a seasoned flour- sauteed the chicken and kept in a low temp oven until the vegs were done! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic Chicken Breasts With Peppers and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.8
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    48%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 147.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 26.9 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes