Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Balsamic Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic Chicken and Mushrooms

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2003

      This is really good using the chx broth. I added it to my "Make often file" Simple to make as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      I followed the recipe exactly for the chicken and marinade portion of the recipe and doubled the broth and balsamic I added on the mushrooms. It was awesome. My husband and two year old enjoyed it too! Added some S & P and served with roasted asparagus. After removing the chicken from my nonstick skillet (just before adding the mushrooms) I had some flavorful bits that I loosened up with a bit of water. My initial marinade had all cooked up. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Loved this quick and flavorful recipe! As per other reviewers' suggestions, I sliced each breast rather than pound them and doubled the sauce. I used a mixture of button mushrooms, brown mushrooms and shitaki mushrooms, all sliced. I added 15 green olives sliced in half and sprinkled the sauce with red pepper flakes. Next time I will add rosemary -- just because I love rosemary and I think it will compliment the other flavors. Simple and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      This was a winner. The whole family loved it. Not common with three teenage boys. Did substitute sherry for wine. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      We have just enjoyed this for our evening meal. Absolutely brilliant and will definitely be making this often, so quick and easy!! I used just 2 tsp of garlic flavored olive oil and cut up 3 chicken breasts, sauteed them with 3 cloves of garlic and one small chopped onion. I also sliced the mushrooms and used herbs de provence as I realised too late that I had no dried thyme! I also used chicken broth instead of the wine as we had no wine in the house. Otherwise, the vinegar and mustard amounts I kept as written. With the changes I made, this served 3 very hungry adults perfectly and I served it with pasta spirals and roasted mediterranean vegetables (peppers, red onion, zucchini, mushrooms and vine tomatoes). All in all a great meal we will be having again and again. Thank you so much! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      This was excellent and really quick! I used chicken cutlets, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. OUTSTANDING dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2014

      Very easy and good. I recommend seasoning the chicken with salt and pepper and marinating the chicken in the balsamic mixture for a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

      My family and I really liked this. My kids (7 and 4) who are somewhat picky really liked the chicken. They're not fans of mushrooms but my husband and I love them so more for us. This was a big family success which is often really hard to find. Will definitely make this again! I have about a half chicken breast left over which will make a great salad topper for lunch tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      This was amazing yet simple to make! My whole family enjoyed this dinner! No leftovers which disappointed me because I would have loved it for lunch the next day! Will be making again!! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      I made this for just one serving and put on top of a slice of crusty bread. MMMMMM! I would gladly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      This was delicious . I made it for my 2 sons & I & we all agreed it was delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Pretty good. Could definitely use some salt. I marinated the chicken for an hour or so in the mixture. I was looking for a lower sodium meal, so this was perfect for that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Delicious! I couldn't wait to try this after just smelling it cook! I loved it. A great quick meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      We actually gave it a 4.5- although my husband loved it, he personally prefer creamier sauces. We added red onions and spinach to the dish with angel hair pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      nothing special, pretty disappointing. needs more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      This was an awesome recipe. I used thin sliced chicken fillets and sliced 6 small portobello mushrooms. Instead of chicken broth, I used white wine, which really adds a lot to the dish. Make sure you use good balsamic vinegar. Thank you for posting your recipe. DH and I are dieting and this really fit the bill, diet or not!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      I was hoping to like this more, as many other reviewers did. I felt it was lacking salt and needed more flavor. After tasting the mushroom topping, I added some sherry and also thickened the liquid with a bit of flour and water. Mine was not as appealing in color as the photos shown, being more on the gray side. I may give this another try, but will add salt and more garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      A GREAT combination of flavors! We loved this dish! Then on top of that it was quick and easy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Excellent! Was easy to cut down to make for just 1!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      This is a nice recipe. I did not use the vegetable oil...just used some cooking spray as needed. I used a lot more garlic, which I sauteed in the pan at the beginning. Then I added my mushrooms (closer to 4 cups uncooked, since they cook down), and when they started being juicy, I pushed them to the edges of the pan and put my chicken in the middle, and then painted the dijon/balsamic mix on top. Then I sprinkled on the thyme at the end. I did not add the third T of balsamic. Since I had the extra mushroom, I probably needed a bit more saltiness overall, so next time I might add salt, although even better would be some capers or olives. I served this with steamed asparagus and brown rice. It was good to put the chicken/mushrooms partially on the rice so that the rice could soak up the flavorful juices. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic Chicken and Mushrooms

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 187.6
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    27%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 226.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes