21 Reviews

Very good. My son is allergic to soy, so it's a challenge during grilling season to find good marinades without soy sauce. Made it for company and it was a big hit. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellie M. July 07, 2014

Very tasty! I only had two hours of marinating time, but it still turned out great. I grilled over high heat to medium rare, then sliced it quarter inch thin. I put the sliced steak in a foil pouch and returned it to the grill for about 10 minutes. I boiled the reserved marinade and kept it warm over low heat for 30 minutes. It reduced down and I served it over the steak. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BearsFanJeff June 21, 2013

Yummy marinade. It gave a great taste to the steak. I used dijon mustard. Thanks Tebo :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 08, 2013

My family really enjoyed this. Thanks for the great recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and used a stout beer that has some coffee in it. It was really good. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifertess June 13, 2010

This is a decent recipe. I agree with other reviewers that it is too tangy. I think this has really good potential, but I don't know how to make the adjustments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk July 20, 2009

We love flank steak. This was a great recipe, because it tasted great and I had all the ingredients in my pantry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bevbar May 28, 2009

I liked this sauce as a marinade but not as a dipping sauce. I agree with another reviewer that the ketchup and balsamic over-power it a little. Just a little too tangy for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zetty66 February 17, 2008

Very tasty! I was low on ketchup so I substituted chili sauce and skipped the chili powder. I only had a few hours to marinate and it still tasted wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinMommy December 03, 2007

This is such a versatile marinade! I used a flank steak, but will definitely be using the recipe with other meats. I only marinated it for 1 1/2 hours ( because I have a bad habit of not looking at the recipe until I am about to start cooking :) ) and instead of letting it sit in the refrigerator, I put it in the freezer - since my marinate time was so much lower. It turned out AMAZING! What a neat blend :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene October 23, 2007

We loved it except for my youngest who said he could "taste the alcohol" which I think is so funny since we didn't! It was delicious! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala September 27, 2007
Balsamic-Beer Flank Steak