25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! These are so tender with a wonderful subtle balsamic flavor. Would not change a thing. Made using 1 lb. pack of fresh peeled baby carrots and baked at 375*F. Put these in our favorites book. Thanks for the post.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 15, 2009

Yum! I cut this down to a small serving ( one large carrot cut into sticks) and added a couple of slices of onion. To reduce cooking time I splashed them with olive oil then microwaved for a couple of minutes. I put them on foil and added the rest of the ingredients then roasted for 10 minutes at 450 degrees. They came out perfectly cooked, my only regret was making just a single serving. Made for PRMRT.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet January 01, 2013

Takes a long time to make but easy. Quantity of balsamic vinegar depends on your vinegar, be careful. Ugly, but tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha December 05, 2010

This was a big hit at Thanksgiving! Doubled the recipe, cooked it at 350F and for a bit longer than called for, and they were delicious. I think next time I'll sub half the normal balsamic for a flavored kind and see how that changes things.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tenshi November 26, 2010

I made these for Thanksgiving--great and easy. Thanks also to Debbwl for adding the Fahrenheit instructions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tajgood1 November 25, 2010

Very good. Tasted even better the next day as reheated leftovers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn November 23, 2010

These are easy to make, and the taste is very different. I liked these, but didn't love them. I love raw carrots, and with this recipe I didn't seem to taste the carrots, just the balsamic vinegar. That being said, they were beautiful on the plate! I did buy a more expensive balsamic vinegar, so maybe it was very strong...I'll try again with a less costlier version and see what happens. Made for Zaar Stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 26, 2009

Easy to do and had a great taste. Like a few others, I had to use brown sugar as a substitute. Since it was my first time making them, I had nothing to compare it to. So if you need to substitute to what you have in your kitchen, I think you will love this recipe with brown sugar too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maxona_1172240 September 08, 2014

Loved these carrots! Roasting veggies; especially carrots really brings out their sweetness and with the addition of the balsamic and br. sugar -- they really are delicious. Will definitely make this recipe again. Made for PRMR, April, 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry April 18, 2014

Muscovado, however, is unrefined and the "raw" of all cane sugar products. So I have to use brown sugar. Muscovado is UNREFINED brown sugar and has a strong molasses taste. It's in a natural state. "Barbados sugar", will work here too. It's well worth that little bit of effort. I will do this for Thanksgiving for a side! Doubled the recipe, love tham! Thank you!....Happy Cooking to y'all!....PRMR 2013.....Grpa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA November 16, 2013
Balsamic and Brown Sugar Roasted Carrots