Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baklava Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baklava

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2002

      Ah, what a shame to see that this greco-turkish conflict is still to be found in recipes...Yet I cannot do anything but support the fact that baklava is from the middle east and that it was imported to greece during the Ottoman occuppation. Anyway, great foods to be found in both countries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2000

      Baklava is definitely not Greek, but Turkish. It was the prime dessert in the Ottoman Cuisine and a feast never ended without a serving. In fact the word itself is Turkish, meaning "diamond-shaped" which was the way in which the pastry was cut before serving. Generally walnuts, pistachios and other nuts are used for the filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Loved it! It's exactly the baklava I remember (from both Greece and Turkey -- sorry guys ;-) and still one of the best pastries in the world.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      Who cares where it came from! This was such a simple recipe, but delicious!I had been looking for a recipe like this for a long time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      We all loved it a lot! Next time, however, I'll be more conservative with the butter. Everything else stays the same!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      We made this for a Greek Gourmet Club dinner and I thought it was the best Baklava I've had in ages. Great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I made this receipe when making an Albainan themed dinner for my boyfriend and father. I made it the night before, so that the syrup could really soak in the layers; it was really easy to put together. The finshed product was delicious. I've already have been asked to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      I just made a different baklava recipe becuase I couldn't find this one and now I am kicking myself for finally finding it. Two things - 1)this is a wonderful recipe and 2) the first time I ever had baklava was in the Medina in Morocco when my Dad was stationed there in the 50's. Fatima, our housekeeper, made it and she said it was a Greek 'cookie'. JMHO UPDATE I should say that I never make this in a 9x13 pan. The phyllo dough fits in a half sheet pan perfectly and gives better portions when cut on the diagonal. I use lemon instead of orange and prefer that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      This is the first time I've ever made Baklava and it turned out GREAT. My friends husband (who is Turkish) was amazed.....and I got rave reviews from everyone. In fact I was requested to make it for a party coming up in 2 days time!! Thanks alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      This is the best I have tasted, I have made it about 10 times now and it was time for the review. This is easy to make and always turns out great. Thanks it is a keeper trust me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2001

      Personally,I don't care where the recipe originated but I'm grateful whomever created it. I love Baklava and this seems easy enough for me to make at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2001

      oh kids, does it really matter? I just love to make it and tell my friends that it's "my recipe" and I'm Irish. I have my own recipe--but they're all good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2001

      Baklava is in fact Greek..I moved from Greece a little over 3 years ago and therefore your feeble-minded Turkish opinion means nothing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All < 60 Mins Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baklava

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.7
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    57%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 38.7 mg
    12%
    Sodium 191.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 27.5 g
    110%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    whole cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites