13 Reviews

Ah, what a shame to see that this greco-turkish conflict is still to be found in recipes...Yet I cannot do anything but support the fact that baklava is from the middle east and that it was imported to greece during the Ottoman occuppation. Anyway, great foods to be found in both countries.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nickos March 22, 2002

Baklava is definitely not Greek, but Turkish. It was the prime dessert in the Ottoman Cuisine and a feast never ended without a serving. In fact the word itself is Turkish, meaning "diamond-shaped" which was the way in which the pastry was cut before serving. Generally walnuts, pistachios and other nuts are used for the filling.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erdal Onurhan November 28, 2000

Loved it! It's exactly the baklava I remember (from both Greece and Turkey -- sorry guys ;-) and still one of the best pastries in the world.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Is This Really Necessary January 06, 2007

Who cares where it came from! This was such a simple recipe, but delicious!I had been looking for a recipe like this for a long time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie Evans March 26, 2002

We all loved it a lot! Next time, however, I'll be more conservative with the butter. Everything else stays the same!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
916101 February 28, 2011

We made this for a Greek Gourmet Club dinner and I thought it was the best Baklava I've had in ages. Great recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Finneus Fudge March 17, 2010

I made this receipe when making an Albainan themed dinner for my boyfriend and father. I made it the night before, so that the syrup could really soak in the layers; it was really easy to put together. The finshed product was delicious. I've already have been asked to make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geekgoddess24 July 22, 2008

I just made a different baklava recipe becuase I couldn't find this one and now I am kicking myself for finally finding it. Two things - 1)this is a wonderful recipe and 2) the first time I ever had baklava was in the Medina in Morocco when my Dad was stationed there in the 50's. Fatima, our housekeeper, made it and she said it was a Greek 'cookie'. JMHO UPDATE I should say that I never make this in a 9x13 pan. The phyllo dough fits in a half sheet pan perfectly and gives better portions when cut on the diagonal. I use lemon instead of orange and prefer that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent January 10, 2008

This is the first time I've ever made Baklava and it turned out GREAT. My friends husband (who is Turkish) was amazed.....and I got rave reviews from everyone. In fact I was requested to make it for a party coming up in 2 days time!! Thanks alot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nisa June 20, 2006

This is the best I have tasted, I have made it about 10 times now and it was time for the review. This is easy to make and always turns out great. Thanks it is a keeper trust me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dancer^ April 10, 2005
Baklava