21 Reviews

This recipe is great. I did lightly spray it with oil (I was paranoid the seasonings wouldn't stick. (we all have our phobias). I was wondering what to do with the Adobo seasoning I bought recently. This is the perfect use for it. I will be recommending this to friends and family. Leanne

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef at Heart January 28, 2007

These fries were amazing. I did everything as written except they took 5 minutes longer to cook and I added rosemary as well as salt. It made for a wonderful side dish. Also, I served them with mayonnaise in true quebecois style- a little something I picked up going to college in Montreal that I wish I'd never learned about :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay January 26, 2007

These were terrific I had to bake them at 450 because I was making oven fried chicken too and only have one oven. This is what I did I put the pizza stone in the oven without the potatoes to heat up then I prepared the potatoes (4)and just added about a couple tablespoons of olive oil and some spicy seasoned salt put them on the heat stone and baked for about 30 min. They were crispy and delicious. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria January 18, 2006

I am giving this recipe five stars because it is a wonderful way to have oven fries with no fat added! I cooked mine the stated anount of time. They were a bit crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. I used garlic salt and paprika on mine. Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe with us Bergy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug January 16, 2006

Great recipe. Oven baked fries typically aren't crispy enough for me, and these crisped and browned nicely during the last few minutes (it took just a few minutes longer in my oven) I seasoned them with Mrs Dash original blend, salt, and rubbed some olive oil on them before placing them on the baking stone. I can't wait to try other seasonings on them, too. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Bergy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan June 12, 2005

Love this recipe. The thiner you cut the potato, the better. Will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momstar April 03, 2005

This is similar to how I have made oven fries in the past, except I didn't use a baking stone, and I also used a higher oven temperature. I do think the stone makes a difference since the inside of the fries seemed to stay fluffier this way while the outside was crisp. I cut the potatoes using a french fry cutter (so they weren't very thick) but I did have to cook mine longer than stated to get the outside crisp. I used Emeril's Bayou Blast Essence and the cooking spray. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl March 30, 2005

This is the second time I used this baking method. Forgot to review the first time. Sorry. I did toss the spuds with a wee bit of oil so the italian spice mix would stick. They turn out so very nice and crisp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama March 07, 2005

To add to the other reviews, this is a 5* recipe!! I just got my baking stone and this is the first use of it. I didn't peel the potatoes, just cut them into frys and sprinkled with garlic and onion powder, cayenne pepper and salt. Didn't use any oil at all, we were quite surprized that they turned out wonderful, nice and crisp on the outside and soft inside and soo tasty; soo much better for us too!! We will be using this one again and again, thanks Bergy for another really good one!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf November 06, 2004

We loved these! I made a large amount for 4 people and used two stones....one was the flat, rectangular, fully seasoned stone, the other was a 'jelly sheet' stone that had only been used once. The potatoes on the seasoned stone were done before the other - could have been because of the sides on the other stone, I don't know. I took out the flat stone potatoes, let them cool and then added them to the jelly stone potatoes when they were almost done, just to reheat. Probably more info than you want to know! I seasoned with sea salt only and sprayed them lightly with cooking oil. They were excellent and we'll be making these again. Thanks for posting this excellent recipe Bergy....Ore-Ida is now banished from my household :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude September 26, 2004
Baking Stone Fries